Scoots 3rd Gear December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 Yalor. His bias in only towards OPCs only... COE cars are not. So the scope of contention is limited to OPC ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 Quote If you know they are without a valid coupons, they are called OPC cheats. Your blanket usage of the term 'OPC' and the kind of arguments you put forward shows that you are already prejudiced towards OPC OPC or OPC Cheats, it does not matter. The system is a flaw and the government should remove it. We have a lot of ways to tackle if people really want to own a car, one suggestion is to own a cheaper car - be it second-handed or not. I am sure some OPC owners do feel like second graded road users everytime they are denied of certain road privileges. I feel that less people are willing to let me lane change in my friend's OPC than my own car. Why create an opportunity for drivers to grade each other based on OPC or not? We already have affordable versus expensive rides for grading. Hmm... I'm sorry. I have both a non-OPC and an OPC. Why should I pay the extra $17k when I only use my OPC on weekends (not even weeknights), and occasionally during the day with coupons when there's a schedule clash for both my mom and I to use the non-OPC. Doesn't make sense. Btw, I agree with bro scoots. you stereotype, are biased and assume too much. try basing your arguments on facts rather than on guesses (or what you think). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 Well Bro, I thought there was a quote in this tread, if no money don't buy car, so I kinda respond with the COE car to this. When I look back, I could'nt find the quote anymore, maybe I was mistaken as I was on travelling yesterday. Sorry if I did any misjustice. I'll just say he is entitled to his opinion. I would say punish those who intended to cheat from the moment or before they register their cars as OPC. Bias toward honest OPCian, ! If OPCian is a breed or race, then this is no longer bias it is...??? Anyway, it's a weekend. So enjoy your night and have a Great Sunday! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 (edited) I am perfectly ok with someone having his own opinion..I respect that. Even after exchanges of opinions, the person still believes in his and that we should agree to disagree. cool. However, for someone who does not not try to defend his own points or offer a decent counter-argument, but instead resort to snide retorts on the person.... All I can say is, parents should really not allow their kids to access the internet unsupervised. Oh and about the 'No money don't buy car' impression, maybe you got it from here: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2629809#2629809 You have a good weekend too! Edited December 20, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mel933 Neutral Newbie December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 Well Said...I use to look down on OPC drivers, but now I am an OPC owner myself. I have discovered, I can save more $$$ now . To all OPC owners, dont be disheartened by all those Anti OPC ppls comments. Its just human nature. Looking on the bright side, we have more $$$ to spend than those normal plate drivers. To those idiots who think he knows everything by proposing to LTA the idea of outsourcing to them to catch OPC owners who cheats...Why not give every driver a speed trap camera so that we can catch ppl committing road side offence such as speeding or submitting photos to LTA to catch illegal parking to earn commission as well. Karma to you!! Sigh... After reading thru some of the comments from some anti OPC forumners. I felt many, are immature thinkers who have no $$$ and still own normal plate car. F*#% them... Cheerss!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 So you have gone to the dark side? Just kidding Dun you find it contradicting that you used to look down on OPC and now called those anti-opc names just because you are driving a OPC.... And you want to f them somemore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 KNN...same old story again....... Same like those ppl finger-pointing at those going in Jbee regularly. These ppl really need to get on with thier lives......and mind thier own business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mel933 Neutral Newbie December 20, 2008 Share December 20, 2008 U are one of those that I am toking abt...ignorant dummy...Haha F them meant telling others not to bother abt those ugly comments made by these ppl and drive on!! Anyway, I drove OPC coz it suits my working hours and it realli saves alot during this economic down turn..but I really feel sad for those OPC cheats out there who are trying to test the system. Sigh... By the way, are u a OPC driver or a normal plate driver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caparo Neutral Newbie December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 Seriously, how can I get the points across to you? Hmm... Hmm... your reply was to this post: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2629877#2629877 Quoting what you wrote: The point I am trying to make is OPC is not working. How many times have I consider getting a second car just for track and b-roads purposes because the tax and all make perfect sense, but everytime I would ask if it makes sense to waste resources not using it most of the time. And my response: I take it that you mean to say that it makes no sense to pay for something that you don't use (much)? Hmmm... that seems to be the same logic that some, if not all, OPC onwers whould have considered leh. Strange how the same logic when applied on a prejudiced group seems so much less logical hor?.... In case you cannot grasp the logic I was implying. It's this: Most OPC owners may have also considered that that they do not need to pay an extra $17K for a car which would they probably do not use from 7am to 7pm... so , by the same reason as you, why pay for a 'full' car just to waste money? See you do not get it. Let me put it in a way you will understand, say we do not have OPC system now. Will you buy a car? So if I had misunderstood your point, it will do you good to correct me. Else if not, then I do not see how I have 'twist and turn facts' so please explain your point... or is this just another of your baseless arguments as before? Nice try... that when people point out how weak your reasoning is, you resort to chop-chop-attack-the-person-but-not the-facts kind of approach and beat a retreat ... And that's hardly a 'contribution' Like I said... nice try. But the fact remains: 1. Your reasoning is biased and prejudiced I am very sure you will say this at some point of the time. I can only feel sorry for you. 2. You cannot form a decent defense for your weak points and snakes from point to point You do not even contribute anything except to point and shoot so why should I defend? Where's the creativity? 3. And when you cannot convince, you seek to confuse. I think you are easily confused so I am here to teach you how not to get too confused. Reply my question in BOLD RED and I will enlighten you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caparo Neutral Newbie December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 Like I have asked Scoots, will you buy an additional car if there is no OPC system? If you do not see the point I am making, just continue to feel you are right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caparo Neutral Newbie December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 You want to focus on OPC because its about the system. COE is another system. Understand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caparo Neutral Newbie December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 People do not look down on OPC, I do not understand why you want to name people anti-OPC people. As usual, humans like a create disharmony based on his advantage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 Honestly, I do feel it is unfair for OPC to be implemented and misused. I have seen countless OPCs on the roads when they were not supposed to. Furthermore, they occupy precious residential parking spaces just for some rare occasions when they need to send friends home or go shopping. I have also seen FT in OPC sending husband to work at 8.30 am on a Tuesday morning. In addition, I have also witness a few incidents where OPCs performed road hogs, illegal U-Turns, driving in excess of speed limits, etc. I would like to own an OPC as a second car but under such circumstances, I would rather defer and monitor. ----------------------- Now got to go market , speed limit? Oop got to focus on OPC system! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caparo Neutral Newbie December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 You are another one, I am merely pointing out FACTS so tell me, am I wrong in the statements as you have used? I have seen countless OPCs on the roads when they were not supposed to. (Right or Wrong?) Furthermore, they occupy precious residential parking spaces just for some rare occasions when they need to send friends home or go shopping. (Right or Wrong?) I have also seen FT in OPC sending husband to work at 8.30 am on a Tuesday morning. This, I do not think you can see because you do not stay there. In addition, I have also witness a few incidents where OPCs performed road hogs, illegal U-Turns, driving in excess of speed limits, etc. If you are on the road more often than me, you will see what I mean - I mentioned a few incidents - again FACTS. Saying so, please do not assume I am saying non-OPCs do not have the same issues. Sigh... I would like to own an OPC as a second car but under such circumstances, I would rather defer and monitor. Again FACT, I would defer and monitor if I really need a car for my track and b-roads. Most track days do not happen on a weekend (FYI) So are you just copying and pasting or do you have something to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine23 1st Gear December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 aiyoh, why argue so much on OPC or not? It is what amount that you have in your bank account that matters. I personally own an OPC becos of my driving needs and I am sure I have more $$$ than some of the normal car drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine23 1st Gear December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 and not forgoting that many "normal" car drivers have huge loans as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 Bro take it easy. I do respect ur opinion on OPC system as I've mentioned b4. Right or wrong, ultimately the guy driving the OPC will know if he have done it? They took the risk for doing illegal stuff just a matter of time they'll will be caught! Occupying precious parking space, have to be reasonable here lah, OPC don't get discount on parking rate(OR do they?) They drive without sup license, they should be punish but parking in parking lot legally also kana? What's this got to do with OPC system? When u say OPCs or normal plate doing illegal U turn and driving in excess limitWhat's this got to do with OPC system? Wat u r(we, me) discussing should be the OPC cheats. Someone who finds the loop hole in the system. OT a bit, parking coupon, don't tell me u never even short change a minute or 2 without tearing another coupon? So is this another system that should be do away? In a nutshell, just reminding u there other equally "coo coo" system, we can't just remove them becuase of some black sheep?! Have to be reasonble mah! Why like to go for OPC car since the system is no good and should be do away? Then there's no need to defer and monitor laio, just get another second normal plate car if u want. Copying to remind u what u mentioned in some cases have got nothing to do with OPC system. Enjoy ur Sunday la! Go track and do some donuts! Burn the rubber! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 U should address ur point to the guy then? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...