Wah, so many opc cheat every month

Booboon

yes.. there is a discount on insurance if the car is OPC.

The quotation given is different.

Aniway, I think OPC are good for most ppl. And not OPC owners are cheaters...Normal car owners also have cheapstake ones.

My housing estate have alot of OPCs because the estate is right next to the mrt and 4 stops away from Raffles places. Most of these neighbours do not need a car to go to work. So OPC is a [thumbsup] option. It will be more silly to get a normal car if you dont use it. Anyway, my neighbour told me.. for him to drive to work.. it will be double the time and many many times more cost.

.....Speaking from a ex-OPC owner...

Edited by Jrage

I still think OPC is rather meaningless.

Getting a car is already a cost. If not manageable, then better not to get a car.

Just my 2 cents....

hi..

You are working on the assumption that the OPC owners cannot afford. I dun think that's right to judge.

As for usage, depends on individual family needs.. I find OPC fits our lifestyle perfectly for the past 1.5 yrs so why spend more each month ? And we are lucky we took a smaller loan the other time.. else now that we changed our car we would have lost more money.

Edited by Jrage

See you do not get it. Let me put it in a way you will understand, say we do not have OPC system now. Will you buy a car?

Let me put it in a way you will understand: Yes, I will still buy a car.

Btw, you have just repeated what I've remarked about you: not clarifying/making any point but just throwing out questions. (ie, snaking from point to point)

So let me ask you some questiosn DIRECTLY now:

1. How different is a OPC owners deciding not to spend and extra $17K for a 'full' car, taking into consideration that he most likely will not need the use of a car during that time, different from your asking "if it makes sense to waste resources not using it most of the time"

2. How have I 'twist and turn facts'?

1. Your reasoning is biased and prejudiced

I am very sure you will say this at some point of the time. I can only feel sorry for you.

Thanks for your sympathy. But I really think you are a more deserving candicate

2. You cannot form a decent defense for your weak points and snakes from point to point

You do not even contribute anything except to point and shoot so why should I defend? Where's the creativity?

I've raised my points and counter-arguments to yours on every post. Of course, if you have not read what I've been writing about before your joining into the discussion, that's hardly my fault. You, on the other hand, have not rebutted/engaged any of my points directly, only to brush it off and snake to another question/topic.

3. And when you cannot convince, you seek to confuse.

I think you are easily confused so I am here to teach you how not to get too confused. Reply my question in BOLD RED and I will enlighten you.[/i]

Obviously you have a reading disorder. I wrote:

"And when you cannot convince, you seek to confuse."

Let me enlighten you: This only means that you tried to confuse( read: did not suceed in confusing) [sly]

I have answered your question in bold red. Can you return the decency to answer mine, highlighted in BOLD BLUE? [laugh]

[reply]I have seen countless OPCs on the roads when they were not supposed to. (Right or Wrong?)

Fact: There are OPC cheats and there are law abiding OPC drivers.

Can you say that your observation is representative of the majority of OPCs?

Furthermore, they occupy precious residential parking spaces just for some rare occasions when they need to send friends home or go shopping. (Right or Wrong?)

Fact: OPCs pay the same parking rate. OPCs NOT being used during restricted hours is not wrong.

Is your point that a stationary OPC in a carpark, by it's mere existance, is a 'crime'?

I have also seen FT in OPC sending husband to work at 8.30 am on a Tuesday morning.

This, I do not think you can see because you do not stay there.

Fact:(tying in with the first question) This is 1 (spelt:O-N-E) OPC cheat. Again are you implying that majority/all of OPCs are cheaters?

In addition, I have also witness a few incidents where OPCs performed road hogs, illegal U-Turns, driving in excess of speed limits, etc.

If you are on the road more often than me, you will see what I mean

Fact:Normal plate cars are equally capable of committing those above offences. No logic dictates that OPCs commit those offences more than other vehicle

Fact:By acknowleding that "please do not assume I am saying non-OPCs do not have the same issues" just makes your arguments more nonsensical.

You blame OPCs as a source of those offenses, while acknowledging that "non-OPC" have the same issues (ie, equally guilty)... where's the logic in that?

Edited by Scoots

Bro, then you should have put things up front like what you have just did. I am merely pointing out the flaws in OPC but I never say anything about People buying OPC - I hope you understand.

I do not know why and how some could be so defensive, I guess its human nature. Anyway, you are right that I have OT since this is about OPC Cheats. I thought I was proving a point about the system. [;)]

Prior to Scoot, I would like to close this by saying, I have nothing against people deciding or decided to buy an OPC. I want to point out that there is an alarming things I see performed by OPC rather than a non-OPC, it could be due to experience and mentality. Then again these do not represent the major population who own OPC.

I am talking about the system, our MANAGEMENT may not have gone thru a proper trial of the OPC scheme which resulted in OPC cheats and such. Maybe if they have gone thru the same process like the ERP, things would have been different. OPC if you look at it, it is just another way to boost our reserves.

OPC or not, we are a bunch of sorry souls paying senselessly thru our noses to stay afloat on this island. Remember that we still have challenges driving here, high insurance premiums and crazy fuel prices.

I would suggest all to understand that we are some what in the same plight. I wish all CAR OWNERS an early Merry Xmas.

This is your first post to this thread

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Honestly, I do feel it is unfair for OPC to be implemented and misused.

I have seen countless OPCs on the roads when they were not supposed to. Furthermore, they occupy precious residential parking spaces just for some rare occasions when they need to send friends home or go shopping.

I have also seen FT in OPC sending husband to work at 8.30 am on a Tuesday morning.

In addition, I have also witness a few incidents where OPCs performed road hogs, illegal U-Turns, driving in excess of speed limits, etc.

I would like to own an OPC as a second car but under such circumstances, I would rather defer and monitor.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As I've pointed out. For those points that yiou have stated (which I've highlighted in red bold) are equally culpable by 'normal' plate cars. This shows your pregudice towards the OPC. And it's pregudice towards the DRIVERS and not the SYSTEM as you are now claiming. While your now closing statements are sound, I just want to "close this" as well by pointing out that this was not the basis of your points from the beginning

No one claims that the system is perfect, just as the ERP system and parking coupon system are not perfect. But you have accused all OPC DRIVERS on the bias

Never denied that... [laugh]

If your thinking "Hmm... I think ScootS is taking this personally" I probably am guilty of that.

But my question back:

Are any of my points unreasonable/biased?

And maybe another question to put things in prespective:

Are any of his points unreasonable/biased?

Edited by Scoots

ha..yeah. I am quite 'chong hei' ... [laugh]

It's just that I cannot tahan people say one thing and then try to weasel around it when their points are shown to be weak/baseless.... just to salvage some face?

Edited by Scoots

No children...So sad...I just like to say U are not being part of the solution but part of the problem in our country need for more babies but added the woes of the congestion on the road resulting in meaningless ERP... shoot me again if I am using my ego to hurt yurs, .. Some owners like me have family with children whom we want to bring them to the Zoo or bird park for outing. A car will be of Great convenience for us to get ard such as shopping and visitng frens and relatives on the weekends etc. The government policy for promoting OPC is in a way to reduce congestion during peak hours and inevitably, oso promote family cohesion. I was a normal plate driver for 9 years. I decided to try a change to OPC coz my workplace is near and I believe public transport is not so bad. Been driving for ard 3 mths plus and I found its realli cost saving with a diff of $500 every month.

I acknowledge yur arguement is fair and just. There is no right nor wrong.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

+++++

Clarify as you listen, until you understand and can let the other person know that you have heard not only the words but the underlying concerns and ideas. In particular, clarify specialized language that you may use or understand differently from others. Describe with examples rather than labels, especially when those labels may communicate extreme points of view that may or may not represent what you or someone else is trying to say.

Suggest rather than criticize. No program, test, or classroom will ever be perfect, whether it reflects what you recommend or something different. Focus on constructive suggestions to improve what is being done instead of focusing on errors or shortcomings.

glad you have a happy family, i will too one day but not now... too young.

dun jump the gun, i dun use cars during erp hours. i duno 1 mth even got $1 erp charge anot [:p]

problem? the only thing that is causing congestion problems is the relaxation of the 30% downpayment + 7yr loan rule.

shoot you? i wun cuz i dun see the need to justify my actions to you [:p] you dun need to have family to own a opc thus there is no need to justify owning one.

Like I have asked Scoots, will you buy an additional car if there is no OPC system?

If you do not see the point I am making, just continue to feel you are right.

I would have bought another car regardless [:)] I was actually looking at a COE 200SX, MR2, or CRX, but decided for the price, my usage, and cost effectiveness while the business is being started, an OPC would have been better overall.

Basically I'm targeting one vehc for mummy (settled), one G plated vehc for work/show/track (hopefully within the next two years), and one for weekend comfort driving and non-track trips to KL (settled)

IMHO there are four general types of OPC drivers.

1) Those that cannot afford a regular car, but want the convenience for their family outings on weekends and evenings (my neighbour),

2) Those who can afford a regular car and would get one if there was no OPC scheme (me and mel933)

3) Those who can afford a regular car or the coupons for an OPC but would rather be cheapskate cheaters (LeePee)

4) Those who can afford an OPC car only but want to drive it like a regular car, and cannot afford to pay for the OPC coupons.

It is definately wrong for you to say that the scheme has failed based on what you think, and through stereotyping all OPC owners into a single group.

Oh and btw, the scheme was implemented precisely to allow more people to own cars, but keep most of these people off the roads during peak hours and business hours to reduce traffic then. It was also catered to people like mel933 and I who otherwise would probably drive during restricted hours if we had a non-OPC (I know I would). In that sense it has succeeded because you only see a minimal number of OPC's during restricted hours (regardless of if they have a coupon or not).