Wah, so many opc cheat every month

Booboon

FYI,i spent $400 on just OPC coupons monthly..I would wan to prefer drive in peace rather than to always keep a look out for TP etc..

In singapore no point cheating the govt 1 de la...sure get caught 1.

Edited by Jimcheam

I do not see any coloured coupons on the screens

Then these are called OPC cheats ... not OPCs. Make the distinction.

My point is for the Government to remove OPC totally, if one does not have the means and needs to own a car then one should just forget about owning car in Singapore.

I am not a rich but I made calculations and amendments before owning a proper car since 12 years ago.

Without OPC, insurance premiums MAY come down (most unlikely). Roads MAY BE safer and less congested.

See here's one of those (I'll put it bluntly) narrow minded view towards OPC. That it's for people who cannot afford a car. I'll admit, I don't follow all car prices, but I should think that a red plate Honda Accord is still more expensive than a normal plate Cherry QQ....or am I wrong here? [laugh]

Also, OPC owners need not all be rich , nor are they necessarily poor. Just that they, like you, have "made calculations and amendments before" committing to a purchase that suites theire needs/lifestyles

Actually, I would think that with a better MRT/public transport system, chances of less congested roads (read: normal or red plate cars), safer roads and reduced premiums MAY be a lot more likely than by removing OPCs

Edited by Scoots

If you know they are without a valid coupons, they are called OPC cheats. Your blanket usage of the term 'OPC' and the kind of arguments you put forward shows that you are already prejudiced towards OPC

OPC or OPC Cheats, it does not matter. The system is a flaw and the government should remove it. We have a lot of ways to tackle if people really want to own a car, one suggestion is to own a cheaper car - be it second-handed or not.

I am sure some OPC owners do feel like second graded road users everytime they are denied of certain road privileges. I feel that less people are willing to let me lane change in my friend's OPC than my own car.

Why create an opportunity for drivers to grade each other based on OPC or not? We already have affordable versus expensive rides for grading.

wah.. $400 per month?!?!

might as well convert to normal plate.

base on my calculation, anything more than $260 is not worth to drive a OPC liao..

no choice leh..where got the extra $17K CASH to pay to LTA to convert..

before that my working time fits to the timing of OPC..therefore i choose to get an OPC car instead..however just before when the economy turn bad i got a better paying job wif transport allowance..so i jump on the boat lor...

bo pian lor...use OPC coupon to "tong" 1st..hope the economy pick up then sales pick up then my comms also will pick up ..then got $$ to convert.. [laugh]

Frankly, there is no end to this argument. We will not change any views on the roads.

The point I am trying to make is OPC is not working. How many times have I consider getting a second car just for track and b-roads purposes because the tax and all make perfect sense, but everytime I would ask if it makes sense to waste resources not using it most of the time.

OPC or OPC Cheats, it does not matter. The system is a flaw and the government should remove it. We have a lot of ways to tackle if people really want to own a car, one suggestion is to own a cheaper car - be it second-handed or not.

I am sure some OPC owners do feel like second graded road users everytime they are denied of certain road privileges. I feel that less people are willing to let me lane change in my friend's OPC than my own car.

Why create an opportunity for drivers to grade each other based on OPC or not? We already have affordable versus expensive rides for grading.

Ok.. I see your point: that the type of road etituette is to accorded is to be determined by how much/less the other car is relative to yours....*sigh* [shakehead]

That being the case, I should think that bicycles and bikes, being on the lower end of this 'chain' really need to be real careful on our roads....

Edited by Scoots

The point I am trying to make is OPC is not working. How many times have I consider getting a second car just for track and b-roads purposes because the tax and all make perfect sense, but everytime I would ask if it makes sense to waste resources not using it most of the time.

I take it that you mean to say that it makes no sense to pay for something that you don't use (much)?

Hmmm... that seems to be the same logic that some, if not all, OPC onwers whould have considered leh. Strange how the same logic when applied on a prejudiced group seems so much less logical hor?.... [sly]

I hope gov can up the fine too...

1. parking coupon cheats? min $500

2. speeding cheats? min $5000, due to endanger others

3. illegal parking cheats? mim $2000

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

weird indeed gossip.gif

why ppl buy expensive watch and dont wear everyday?

why ppl buy expensive clothes and dont wear 24hrs a day?

likewise for expensive shoes, whatever.

and the best part is... it's not about expensive or cheap. so long one doesnt need to use it every minute, buying the item is plain old foolish waste of money...

sigh, to those that think this way... just take it i have enough money to burn so pls leave me alone pirate.gif

In all objective sense, speeding poses a higher public safety risk than driving OPC without coupons. laugh.gif People who have time on hand should be video-taping speedster instead. But we all know envy is a stronger motivator than risk. sly.gif

Hey, not easy to prove speeding OK!

Well, I can see that I have contributed more than some can take it. Twist and turn facts just because he is out of anything to produce. [thumbsup]

Time to stop feeding the Cestoda. Enjoy the weekend. [scholar][laugh]

ur friend is unlucky. How can the lta fine me when I show them a valid untempered opc coupon. Just stay calm and deny everything! They can't catch you without valid proof.

Sis I'm sorry to tell you this, but if its not affixed on the left of the windscreen, you can be fined if they wanted to.

Hmm... your reply was to this post:

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2629877#2629877

Quoting what you wrote:

And my response:

I take it that you mean to say that it makes no sense to pay for something that you don't use (much)?

Hmmm... that seems to be the same logic that some, if not all, OPC onwers whould have considered leh. Strange how the same logic when applied on a prejudiced group seems so much less logical hor?....

In case you cannot grasp the logic I was implying. It's this: Most OPC owners may have also considered that that they do not need to pay an extra $17K for a car which would they probably do not use from 7am to 7pm... so , by the same reason as you, why pay for a 'full' car just to waste money?

So if I had misunderstood your point, it will do you good to correct me. Else if not, then I do not see how I have 'twist and turn facts' so please explain your point... or is this just another of your baseless arguments as before? [sly]

Nice try... that when people point out how weak your reasoning is, you resort to chop-chop-attack-the-person-but-not the-facts kind of approach and beat a retreat ... And that's hardly a 'contribution' [laugh]

Like I said... nice try. But the fact remains:

1. Your reasoning is biased and prejudiced

2. You cannot form a decent defense for your weak points and snakes from point to point

3. And when you cannot convince, you seek to confuse.

Edited by Scoots