Doors for MRT platforms

Paikia_rav

How you come to the conclusion that HKG is earlier than SIN? IMHO, With or without doors can do but with doors for those above ground station, the next question(or demand) would be air-conditioned the enclosed area. This will have a add-cost in operating these stations.

Maybe they should consider like those wiremeshed design where natural air/wind can still pass through.

The 1.5m-high doors will go up first at Yishun, Jurong East and Pasir Ris MRT stations by the fourth quarter of next year. And by 2012, the remaining 33 above-ground stations of the North-South and East-West lines will be progressively fitted with the doors, said the LTA in a statement on Monday.

1.5m high... if someone really wants to suicide, they could still leap over when the train is approaching.

HK? Isn't all HK MTR station underground? and just like ours, theirs have doors too.

i guess having a 1.5m barrier is good enough deterent. Not like if it's 1m, people can leap over.

too slow liao too slow liao.... Hong Kong early early do liao, now then do.... [shakehead] took a few lives liao... [dead]
Actually, most of those who lost their life is by choice, not accident. They can choose other ways to kill themselves...how many type of barriers do we need?

Late but it's gd to hav. I always get v worried when I see children running ard at bishan mrt. Sometimes the mrt speed is so fast tt I felt tt children will be "sucked" in by the mrt. N oso some primary/sec kids will run here n there, playing catching, I really sweat... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] When I bring my boys there, I will surely hold them, dun allow them to run ard.

1.5m high... if someone really wants to suicide, they could still leap over when the train is approaching.

I reckon for people who are contemplating suicide, the mere presense of the door might deter them as they need to have extra effort to climb over. You'll be surpised that such little 'obstacles' might just be the only thing that stopped them that day.

And also for accidental cases (or kena pushed from behind)... this will be a good preventive measure.

HK? Isn't all HK MTR station underground? and just like ours, theirs have doors too.

i guess having a 1.5m barrier is good enough deterent. Not like if it's 1m, people can leap over.

If i rem correctly, Disneyland HK MTR is not underground

Duno if this was posted up by others liao anot. But FINALLY.... they are building doors at MRT platforms.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNew...10.html?vgnmr=1

wa!! do the sum, 112 million to design and make door, another 13.9 million to make the door open together with train doors.

therefore total contract sum for all the doors is 126 million for 33 stations ie, 3.8million for each station just to install doors?!!!

i think it is rip off, just like ERP gantry, 1 million each!!!

why are we paying so much to contractors for simple jobs!!

The 1.5m-high doors will go up first at Yishun, Jurong East and Pasir Ris MRT stations by the fourth quarter of next year. And by 2012, the remaining 33 above-ground stations of the North-South and East-West lines will be progressively fitted with the doors, said the LTA in a statement on Monday.

The doors are only preventing accidental death. If going by your point, all high rise building must also have full height walls all round to prevent jumping off the buildings. [sweatdrop]