Using Regular Wax vs Quick Wax

Drive_carcar

Currently I use Zymol wax, and was told I can only wax at most once every 2 months. But when come to end of 1 month, already very very "buay tahan", the original water gloss shine is all but gone (to me at least).

I saw in the supermarket there are those spray on quick wax (various brands). Is it possible to use them on top of the Zymol wax that I have applied? Would it damage the paintwork in anyway?

If it's not possible, then please tell me if there are any other ways to kind of "seal" in the water gloss kind of shine for longer period of time? Why must I wait 2 months? Why can't I wax as soon as the shine is fading anyway?

there is nothing wrong with over waxing. unlike polishes, wax uaually does not come with abrasive compound.

so waxing is like topping up the layer with some form of protection.

BTW i wax my car at least once a week. If i am feeling on the ball, i will so it 2 times a week. Usually with the meguiar NXT.

Hi bro, I am not sure where you heard that you can only wax at most once every 2 months. But to me you can even wax your car everyday if you want to but that will be really an overkill [:p] . I believe waxing your car once every month will be just nice.

If you are looking for a QD or a spray wax to maintain your Zymol finish, they actually have a product call Field Glaze.

it's never too much when comes to waxing! hahahaha.. [laugh]

i wax once every fortnight, and when i dun wax, i use meguiar's quick wax [thumbsup]

these kinda quick wax is good becos dun need to wipe dry the car, can spray directly on wet car, then drys super duper fast (maybe 3mins?) and just wipe off the dry residue can liao! [laugh][;)]

Thanks for you and all the other's replies. It's very re-assuring that I'm in good company [:)]

I think I get exactly what you have. I think a new car should look new, so the extra efforts in taking care of the car is very worth it.

[sunny][sunny][sunny]

hmm... but meguirar is on the ex side, and i got it the other time during a promo...

or actually u can chk wif MD? he might have something tat's as good or even better from duragloss [sly]

Edited by Cloudywind

The quickwax is to maintain the gloss and shine over the wax surface. A quick fix if you are lazy to go thru the whole procedure of applying wax over again.Paintwork will not damage. Add as a layer of protection to keep you car gim gim [sunny][sunny][sunny]

Not possible to seal in the water gloss kind of shine for long period unless you are willing to work hard by applying sealant regularly. To upkeep the shine, you can apply sealant weekly as a form of maintenance.

You can try DG where many forum brothers had good review of it.for more info, you can conduct a search for a range of duragloss products [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]