Ev0lutionz Clutched August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 (edited) Hello all, any tips to improve my driving skills? I have a few weaknesses i have identified myself.. For example, narrow roads, I sometimes afraid that my side will hit the other car so i will move slowly to go in but actually, i can go in at quite a decent speed without slowing down. I see other cars navigate through the hole like nothing. My vertical parking, most of the time cannot get straight.. Must move forward and adjust to get it straight.. But i have tried parking at those shopping centre car park, max time i take is 30s maybe because of the stress from the cars waiting?Another mistake is that i keep stepping on the lane markings now and then.. maybe cause wait the side of the car hit the barriers lol. And are there any big open areas where i can try emergency moves like e braking, handbrake turning without breaking the law? Edited August 31, 2008 by Ev0lutionz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 why would u need handbrake turning? I see no point in that at all. E braking find empty road or carparks.. dun ever try on main roads... Its normal to adjust ur car position while parking, u think 1 time in meh.. unless u dun care abt being too left or too right then perhaps 1 time will do. The rest, its all abt experience.. drive more learn more, u learn everytime u drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 when u drive, look far. corner of the eye sense the road and ur lane position. driving thru narrow space? lol..go geylang. u sure improve. for parking its all abt practice. i used to be poor now i'm ok wif it already. handbrake turn? no need lah. not useful in city driving at all and u sure u wanna toture ur car like tat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 go take up spme defensive driving cos lar... i think most dribing centre conduct those cos-es Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 (edited) I m a new driver n hardly drives cos hb is the one driving most of e time. I felt I had alot to improve too. For example, narrow roads, I sometimes afraid that my side will hit the other car so i will move slowly to go in but actually, i can go in at quite a decent speed without slowing down.There were some idiots who jus parked their cars at the double yellow line n another idiot waiting for a "lot" to park...n the road had only 2 lanes. This always happened at my mum's pl hawker centre...all inconsiderate pp. N I find it v hard to squeeze thru them...3 cars in 2 lanes. So hav to drive super slow but I m oso afraid tt I will hit the car. I m driving a MPV now, I dare not parallel park...no confidence at all. I oso dun noe how to overcome. But vertical parking not a problem, unless there's no cars at both sides, then I will take a longer to VP. But sometimes u jus hav to ignore pp who is waiting for u to park. My mentality is if u cant wait, jus drive n hit my car lor...lol. N I oso used to hav this phobia of driving at the most right lane in highway...cos din noe how to guage...then I will take 2nd lane...but now I had overcomed it liaoz... I tink practice n driving more will help. Edited August 31, 2008 by Limhm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shawyz Neutral Newbie August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 hey... go geylang practise driving lo... its really a big challenge to drive carefully with all the people and chicks walking ard... and busy looking at chicks... and a lot of parallel parking to try... lol... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 i ever sat in a pickup when the guy besides..did the handbrake turn felt as if the whole pickup was going to overturn ... but that guy..as he claimed..he had did it b4.. and me being 20 at that time believed him ... but um..best not to try..and if u realli wanna feel it... pm chromas lah..he can give u the real deal.. in a much safer way of coz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 Hello all, any tips to improve my driving skills? I have a few weaknesses i have identified myself.. For example, narrow roads, I sometimes afraid that my side will hit the other car so i will move slowly to go in but actually, i can go in at quite a decent speed without slowing down. I see other cars navigate through the hole like nothing. My vertical parking, most of the time cannot get straight.. Must move forward and adjust to get it straight.. But i have tried parking at those shopping centre car park, max time i take is 30s maybe because of the stress from the cars waiting?Another mistake is that i keep stepping on the lane markings now and then.. maybe cause wait the side of the car hit the barriers lol. And are there any big open areas where i can try emergency moves like e braking, handbrake turning without breaking the law? Seems like you have no confidence in handling your ride yet... leave the so called more "advanced" technique like handbrake turning till you are comfortable with your ride 1st. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 I think it's all summed up in one word - practice. When I got my car about 1 month ago, also very scared of so many things, some of the things you also mentioned. I was also very scared of upslopes because I drive a manual car. So problems that 99% of the drivers out there can't be bothered with, I have to always think about, and be alert. Like when the gearing is too high and start to loose power, when traffic conditions change, have to shift up or down to suit the speed etc. Now I'm getting more steady. Not perfect, but with the practice - driving family around, for work, I think I'll improve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear August 31, 2008 Share August 31, 2008 its always like tat when one just started driving. i just changed to different clutch and i felt i'm like driving another foreign vehicle! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched September 1, 2008 Author Share September 1, 2008 Heheh, right most lane i am quite okay with it.. cause the lane quite big.. But the right most lane at lornie road, if not careful can hit the longkang.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched September 1, 2008 Share September 1, 2008 You can try to tilt your side mirrors slightly downward so that you can see the floor markers clearly while parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skilled Neutral Newbie September 1, 2008 Share September 1, 2008 drive as near as possible to your right side line. always estimate the width of your ride and drive as near as possible to your right as its easier to gauge the side nearer to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 1, 2008 Share September 1, 2008 SAFRA got addbun driving kleanick pay abt $200 mebbe somewhere in Oktober or NOmember. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear September 1, 2008 Share September 1, 2008 I think that one quite waste time one. Seen the last one, just teach you how to drive fast around a carpark only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear September 1, 2008 Share September 1, 2008 (edited) It appears you lack situational awareness of your car. Can go in at a decent speed is nothing, that's just blind guts and expecting there is room for error. When the gap narrows down, your balls shrink too. Its because you aren't familiar enough. You aren't sure about the size of your car, you aren't sure if you can stay in your lane, you don't know if the gap will suddenly close up. A bit of hesitation is fine, it is good for self-preservation. No one can teach you this, you will have to learn it as you gain experience while driving, to look at the little nuances of any given road situation. Parking is something you can learn just by becoming familiar with your car's turn radius. and defaulting to your driving centre parking basics. By using a variation of those basics, if the space is big enough to fit my car, I can parallel park it in, no matter what happens. All the stuff that the driving centre taught you, perhaps you need to revise and put them in practice. Too many people hand it all back to their instructor the moment they get their licence. Like signalling before changing lanes. How many people still bother to do that? Edited September 1, 2008 by Ncp91 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 1, 2008 Share September 1, 2008 Heheh, right most lane i am quite okay with it.. cause the lane quite big.. But the right most lane at lornie road, if not careful can hit the longkang.. I got phobia/not so confident cos I always use the lane marking on my most right window to make sure I m in the lane....but when at the most right lane, I jus din noe how to...but now I m no longer scared liaoz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 1, 2008 Share September 1, 2008 si meh? i tot the TS got problem in carpark.. beri apt deh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...