BANK Robbery !

Altivo

A Stanchart spokesman quoted to the press that the bank teller did the right thing by handing cash to the robber, so as to protect the interest of employees and other customers there.

This, coupled with the lack of security guard, opens all its branches to robbery attempts. Even a primary school kid can rob them without much difficulty.

The shareholders and regulator (MAS) should ask Stanchart what are their controls to protect depositors' and shareholders' interests. This lack of protection is totally irresponsible and unacceptable.

The Head in charge of these lapses should do the right thing and step down at the minimum.

Seems like this is a common sop. Probably for the one chance that the perp really is armed and starts shooting if the teller doesn't follow the demands.

http://www.dailyherald.com/article/20150416/news/150418956/

But really, the bank shd have armed guards like those bigger branches

Since this is sop and widely acceptable , why mas request all bank to review their security system? Nothing wrong mah, everything is working perfectly fine and according to sop, no injury, only some amount of money lost... I hope nobody gehkiang come out with new rules which might put public in high risk during robbery..... Hehehhe.

As with any SOP / Regulations / Rules etc, these are guidelines and a deterrent at best. If no high risk or injury or fatalities, can consider lucky as what we see on our roads daily (eg hogging) so we have to accept that in reality, shit can happen (:

dun act hero and cause damage or casualty, people will scold kiang tio ho mai keh kiang [laugh]

Seems like this is a common sop. Probably for the one chance that the perp really is armed and starts shooting if the teller doesn't follow the demands.

http://www.dailyherald.com/article/20150416/news/150418956/

But really, the bank shd have armed guards like those bigger branches

Yes I think its sop.

I remember a quote in the movie HEAT when they rob the bank. They shout at the people

"We want to hurt no one. We're here for the bank's money, not your money. Your money is insured by the federal government, you're not gonna lose a dime. Think of your families, don't risk your life. Don't try and be a hero."

So i think its a wise thing to do.

That is a pretty long counselling speech for a robbery..... I wish non-AMDK, non-native english speaking robbers can be more elloquent....

Currently they are just stuck with: " Lobbary! Gib me all the money! OR I shoot!"

Yes I think its sop.

I remember a quote in the movie HEAT when they rob the bank. They shout at the people

"We want to hurt no one. We're here for the bank's money, not your money. Your money is insured by the federal government, you're not gonna lose a dime. Think of your families, don't risk your life. Don't try and be a hero."

So i think its a wise thing to do.

That is a pretty long counselling speech for a robbery..... I wish non-AMDK, non-native english speaking robbers can be more elloquent....

Currently they are just stuck with: " Lobbary! Gib me all the money! OR I shoot!"

HV Ang mo robber can't even speak lor.

And he also had to write down and practice his robbery note in his note book. Maciam preparing for spelling test.

Sorry to dig this up. But i have one question. 

If a bank, in its traditional retail/consumer sense, opts to save costs on a security guard and/or other deterrent measures, is it fair for public resources to be utilised? If so, where do we draw the line? 

it was a calculated risk on their part to do away with security guard at branches, probably to cut cost.

for that, they probably face

- reputation risk (if they still have one or had one in the first place)

- a nicely worded letter from regulators

its like 

- not doing fire drill cos I am next to Fire Station

- not maintaining first aid kits cos I am next to hospital with A&E

fortunately, there was no customer injured in the branch and the money made away with was counter money.

heng ah ...  ^_^

cheers to these police teams who don't stop to calculate whether it is fair use of public resources:

- Canadian robbed bank in SG, Thai police speedily got on the call for help and nabbed the guy within some hours.

- Mas Selamat, nabbed by Bolehland cops

- Kovan killer, nabbed by Bolehland cops

Almost two weeks have passed since they spoke  . . . . . impasse!, left arm SG police pull Roach, right arm Canadian embassy pull him.

post-114176-0-99556400-1469658144_thumb.jpg

Any why will Canadian government try to shield and shelter a suspect in crime?

Why not just let SG police take in him and offer this Roach consular help while he is in custody in Singapore?

I wonder if SG Embassies overseas also do the same for Singaporeans who committed crime overseas..

Almost two weeks have passed since they spoke  . . . . . impasse!, left arm SG police pull Roach, right arm Canadian embassy pull him.

It is even more amazing that no one talk about the hairline cracks, and such no further action needed from LTA / SMRT!! :pissed-off:

Any why will Canadian government try to shield and shelter a suspect in crime?

Why not just let SG police take in him and offer this Roach consular help while he is in custody in Singapore?

I wonder if SG Embassies overseas also do the same for Singaporeans who committed crime overseas..

We are not part of the Western world clique, so we are labelled as no respect for human rights, unlike in those countries that can carry M16 to childcare centre because they have rights protected by Constitution, or those who can go on strike and bring a country's particular system to its knees...

Becos we are in this part of the world, for those frogs in the Western wells, they would think that we are no better than some countries whose judicial system is a joke and there might either not be proper trial, or trial is unfair.

When one of the local papers traced down Roach's mother and friends in Canada and interviewed them, one guy said he does not believe that Roach had committed a robbery and there must be some misunderstanding, and that he "doesn't trust the judicial system in those countries", so would want Roach to be brought back to Canada for a fair trial. That %$#@!^&*(! have better not come here.

You really can't blame them...

We usually think these ang mo are modern, globe trotting and cultured. You will be surprise that many of them do not even have a passport. 

We are more travelled than many of them

You really can't blame them...

We usually think these ang mo are modern, globe trotting and cultured. You will be surprise that many of them do not even have a passport. 

We are more travelled than many of them

You're right...

We all label. Think all AM are DK. Something that i've known for a while - people will think that all AM are English teachers. was told that many AM backpackers go and pian jiak, dunno what background, maybe some never even studied much, but go to those thailand, indon, M'sia, China, Jap, Korea, etc. and can go around convince people they can be good English teachers, make some $$, then continue their trips.