Are you proud that our Olympic medal was won by imported talents?

Silklee

Are you proud that our Olympic medal was won by imported talents?  

137 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes!
    • A little
    • I dont bother
    • Hardly
    • No!

Chinese gets 50k USD for wining Olympic gold,

USA and Canada gives 25k and 20k respectively, for GOLD.

Are we overpaying for our silver with Tax payers money [:|]

its how much the gvt value this medal. similarly, the longer it takes to win one, the higher the prize money. Why China 50k and US 25k? Cause the last olympics, US got more than China so dun need give so much

Hey guys come on, thou they are FTs, its Singapore who groom them to be who they are today, isnt it?

Anyway our grandparent were also FTs mah... why should we have prejudice agst them?

My 2 cents worth.

yes.. our grandparents were FTs.. but are we? we are born and bred in Singapore.. that makes us 101% locals.. if they can spend so much in grooming the FTs, why don't they groom locals who have talent in sports? why must they go short-cuts to get the FTs to do the job?

if they have patience in grooming our locals 10-15 years back.. i guess we should have someone who can participate in Olympics and win some medals..

anyway, those FTs start very young in sports.. they go full-time into sports since they were 4-6 years old.. you need at least 10-15 years of grooming before they can become world-class players/athletes..

in my opinion, I believe the sporting industry in singapore is something that is make or break, as we dun have the resources to maintain a large pool of professional sportman.

Please answer this question truthfully:

"Will our parents allow us to go into sport full time?"

"Will you allow your children to go into sport full time?"

Qn 2 is where our government is addressing with the sport school, which take care of both sports and academic.

yup.. this is why we have no local talent.. where got sport school last time when we were born? we are talking about 10-15 years ago..

the sports school only started recently and that is the reason why sports are emphasized.. remember what our previous PM said few years ago about our soccer team reaching the world cup in 2010? what has been since then to help develop our football in Singapore?

how come our imported talent doesnt even bother to learn english? [hur]

im sick hearing them only speaking chinese.....zzzzz......

even maids speak better than them.

Please answer this question truthfully:

"Will our parents allow us to go into sport full time?"

"Will you allow your children to go into sport full time?"

We probably just see thing from a single aspect, beside the quality of the sportsman.

Just a simple question, how many of the Sporean parent allow their kids to train like this?

COMPLAIN !!

How many of our youngster able to take this kind of training ?

1.jpg

Even at 18 years old, also complain about tough life in NS.

22.jpg

This kids will continue to train never give up ....

23.jpg

T

All I can say... better than having kosong if that's you all like rolleyes.gif

Got medal means got medal, don't care how we got it.

I don't understand some of you... last time never win medal also KPKB... now got medal also KPKB... rolleyes.gif

If wait for a 100% true blue Singaporean to get medal... ... laugh.gif TKK...

most true sinkie don't hatub for that pathetic silver mader oni certain group of them did.

I just read up an auntie complain in zaobao few days ago ....

Auntie got a young son, love to play volley ball. But too bad, school is under renovation, so the young man got to take bus to another school from training, after the school time.

So, the son reach home very tired and sleep early.

Auntie complain the sports has taken too much her precious family time with the son, complain how come the school arrange the training time like that? Why school got valleyball court? Why ? Why ?

Actually if we were to look from another perspective, aren't we driven by money as well? Current company low pay, then we go to another big company that pays you well and work hard in it. Some even go overseas in search of that cushy job in Dubai, USA, Europe. [sly] Then, you perform well in your job and rewarded with a top position that comes with top pay. I doubt anyone will object if you had worked hard and proved yourself in that foreign company.

When it comes to sports, it became a different matter altogether. When we pay the local sportsmen well, there will be people who will start to question if it is worth the tax-payers money. And there are some who even suggested that sportsmen should play for the pride of their country and not for money. [hur] Then comes our foreign talents (though I'm not exactly supportive of the scheme)who trained full time to pursue their dreams of playing regularly (maybe we can draw a parallel to us going overseas in search for the best jobs?)I see them as vital link (not because they won us a medal), but they have shown us that there is a career in sports if you train full time 100% hard work. So they might have inspired our young ones in a positive way.

But seriously, I doubt any parents would want their children to pursue their dreams in sports (in S'pore esp). So, if you want a true-blue S'porean Olympic medallist, I also say TKK.

yeah...i do agree with u...given that there were several disputes between sports people and their associations over the last few years. like a 100m sprinter who successfully sued against the association....some body builders who complained to CIPB against their association chairman and kenna charged for giving false info....

that's 7!

you need to write a 10000 word thesis to fully explain the reasons why you should be accepted. You shall be accepted when I am totally satisfied with the arguments put forth in your thesis.

Because all these people are simply unhappy that what they pay for ERP is given to all these FTs..they are not the receiving end