even at tight corner they are going very fast leh

[:p]

we cannot say drag racing is boring lah

it's a different type of motor sports

and there are, in fact, incidents involved drag racing

only quite recently in june, there are a death to one of its driver

Scott Kalitta is his name, i believe

Controlled by men? Is this safety net? Mostly accident done by HUMAN ERROR.

Can you imagine driving at 400kmh and suddenly black out? I think it will be the most disasterous event in the F1 history. And think about it when I drove around the city I saw mostly circuit barrier are concrete no gravel or tire to stop runaway car.

np one... according to recent power failure, when there is blackout, the ERP will continue to work nod.gifidea.gif

just make sure the F1 kart got their cashcard inserted. thumbsup.gif

they should be more worried that their cars will go slower when they fitted with IU cos this will affect their aerodynamics.... [laugh][laugh][laugh] also must ensure enough value in the cashcard due to numerous drive thru erp gantries laps after laps [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

to be honest, will the cars go past any ERP gantry ah?

it can showcase to the whole world we have this Great electronic devices leh!

Did u watch Silverstone? D drivers race under rain condition. When camera switch 2 ka on-board camera, d visibility is really bad. In addition, flood light in rain will resulted unwanted glare. I think that is d driver concern.

Lastly, drivers get limited time to drive around d circuit b4 d actual race.

I know there are safety problems.

But who is the first to be allowed to 'test' the track under flood light condition and hitting the track at GP speed?

A neutral party?...and which party could that be?

And once this testing is allowed, there will be a time that will be set 'at professional speed'...so who is allowed to know this infor?

A lot of 'ifs' and 'what ifs'.

You might not be fully aware but in F1 the politics is thick. [;)]

can always do cloud seeding or like china, fire rockets to seed cloud...

major event, sure swee swee one.

most impt, this one wun hv aunty screaming at top of head when things go wrong.. sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

dont think so... i was hoping it will rain during race day in singapore.

have you ever driven in heavy rain at night under street lights? do you still drive at 90km/h?

flood lights is much brighter than street lights. glare can be cut by driver's anti glare visor.

difficult to drive - yes... impossible to drive - no.

that's when they have to earn every cent of their big fat salary.

I agree that a wet Singapore track can still be driven at night. Even in wet day races in other circuits, the spray from the tyres make the drivers' forward visibility zero. They drive around based on feel and bucket loads of bravado. Same for the Singapore GP should it be wet.

I know there are safety problems.

But who is the first to be allowed to 'test' the track under flood light condition and hitting the track at GP speed?

A neutral party?...and which party could that be?

And once this testing is allowed, there will be a time that will be set 'at professional speed'...so who is allowed to know this infor?

A lot of 'ifs' and 'what ifs'.

You might not be fully aware but in F1 the politics is thick. [;)]

actually very simple, get the OG drivers to race, then call the TP to chase and then see what is the percentage of deadly accidents over the number of accidents and divided by the no. of cars can liao.......

low % means safe enough [:p]

I agree.... if OG drivers can do it for free with only street lights, why can't those insanely paid drivers do it with floodlights.... and they have so much high tech safety features somemore

i think some of us perhaps over simplified the matter

OG ricers are driving in a saloon vehicle with windscreen

and without helmet.

i think it's quite ridiculous to compared a professional

to a punk leh

and the speed of which the F1 cars go cannot be compared

to any street cars

if it rain, the drivers' helmet will also start to mist.

visor has no wiper hor..

with floodlights, the factors against visibility compound

itself. it will become worse, or so many reckon

many of us will think that, 'hey, these people earn so much, why

we care if it's really safe???!!'

in that sense, why is the a outcry when Senna died in 1994?

and if they know it's really unsafe to drive, why should they risk

their lives for any amount of money.

Think Indianapolis 2005.

i guess motorsports is and never will be really safe.

want safe, stay at home.

but it's only right that the FIA, FOM and local organizer consider

the issue raise by drivers.

that's wat i think lah

dun like that lar, i said it tongue in cheek.... [:p]

On a serious note,

Yes safety is important, but too safe and it will be boring and not a race.

Yes life is not measurable with money but on the other hand that is why they are paid so much, to risk their lives.

Well yes saloon cars have windscreen, so can F1 cars if they choose to.. but for speed and aerodynamics, they choose not to....... So it is their choice.

that is what i think too.

Anyway i not fan of F1, find it boring.

No, F1 cars can't have windscreen and wipers. It is not a question of whether the race teams want it or not. The Formula 1 rules mandate open c0ckpit and open wheel race cars. Both these features make driving in the wet especially difficult. But hey, if it's not so difficult, it won't sort out the boys from the men.

Edited by Rjmsfire