Focus RS

Damienic

They can offer both manual and auto versions to cater to different mkt segments...yes, even though such cars should come with a manual but there will always be a demand somewhere for auto even for such cars...why not have both and let pple choose? Golf GTI and R32 still sells even though it comes with DSG...Iam sure the Ford ST or RS would sell also if there is an auto version...in the past, all Alfa comes in manual also...eventually selespeed and auto was also introduced to cater to pple who wants the alfa feel but minus the hassle of engaging the clutch..

I know there are manual die hards but I just dun see why they cannot have two versions...

Edited by Damienic

I have a manual licence...drive auto for many yrs liao..now not used to driving manual...find can't change gears that smoothly and also very lazy to have to engage the clutch when there are traffic jams..

I dun mind driving manual in Msia, but in Spore...auto anytime.

Here, the traffic lights are more than the street lights in Msia. Then everyday jam here jam there. How to drive manual like that?

I used to drive a manual when I was staying in aust some yrs ago...it is less of a hassle to drive a manual over there compared to SG...now in SG, I do abt 70% city driving...sometimes drive 100m, stop then start. then drive 100m, then stop and start again. [mad] its tedious to have to keep changing gear and engaging the clutch in conditions like tat...I must admit Iam lazy but I just dun think I would like to get myself to adapt hard to driving a manual in this kind of traffic conditions..

300bhp is not the only difference.

The RS have LSD and would still be front wheel drive.

Driving a manual conti is a little troublesome because indicator stalk is on the left. You cannot change gears and hit the indicator at the same time... unlike japs.

I too hope that they'll have the dual clutch Powershift gearbox mated to the RS. But then, an auto RS is not an RS. Unlike a PDK 911 Carrera.

RS & no ST? I doubt it.

Its kinda like VW selling only the R32 and not selling the more salable GTi.

Rm prob do the RS on indent basis only...oredi trying to sell ST here so hard..how to justify putting RS inventory around.

300bhp driving only front wheels? not sure if that is a good idea. think about the torque steer the driver will have to tame and the stress on the drive shaft too. most cars above 250 BHP are rear or all wheel drive.

yes, there is a need for LSD if you need more than 250BHP for FWD cars.

There is a mod kit (350bhp with 380lb ft) for the current ST but at a very high price of

Edited by Vtim

if it was so simple, then alot more main stream manufacturer will offer 250 PLUS BHP cars w/o the cost and weight of 4-wheel drive. Don't believe everything you read. LSD controls (regulate)power delivery to the wheels and then there is the bigger issue of stress on the drive shaft. You can do the modifications but I question the reliability of the after market parts.

nobody said it was simple.

but apparently, accordingly to Ford, they nailed it.

we'll just have to wait for the RS to come out to know whether it's just hype.

This kinda car has to come with a Manual, IMHO.

Just like the Civic Type-R (standard), Mazda MX-5 (option), Mini Cooper S (option), Nissan 350Z (option) and the Renault Clio Sport R27 (standard). Nothing less.

One of the reasons why the R32 was struck out of my list for consideration - even though a DSG is the closest thing to an automated manual ... but it just cannot do proper downshift blips as a manual could - cos after all, DSG is still sequential.

Too bad too, for the VW Golf GTi (though VAG did carry manuals when it was first launched) ... now gotta go to PI.

I guess there would still be manual die-hards and no end to this argument.

based on the supposed "heritage & tradition" the RS badged Fords has to fulfill, it definitely has to be a manual.

Not because it is more macho to be driving a manual or that a manual is always better in a sports car, but the key reason for keeping it simple in the Ford RS is: COSTS reasons.

Another thing they managed to explain away was why they were not using a 4WD system like its direct competitors. They put it extremely nicely by saying 4WD systems were complicated & heavy... reduces performance & increases consumption, complicated in that all the 4WD gadgetry takes away the overall "conectivity" one feels with the car - when they tested the EVO & STi with their prototype RS on a track..

well IMHO what they say is TRUE but if u want to read in between the lines, it really all boils down to costs... which in turns affect its on the road price. Lets not be fooled the RS is based on a mass market platform... & the likely people who want to own such a car are likely not able or willing to pay anything from FORD that even touches the price of a reasonable BMW 3 series...

As a mass manufacturer Ford is not exactly keyed up to manufacture such a niche car like the RS... therefore they had so many limitations & this RS will be manufactured on the exact same production lines as the other "lesser" FOrd Focus-es to keep costs down.

Edited by Tron

One of the reasons why the R32 was struck out of my list for consideration - even though a DSG is the closest thing to an automated manual ... but it just cannot do proper downshift blips as a manual could - cos after all, DSG is still sequential.

I guess there would still be manual die-hards and no end to this argument.

wit tat V6 sound track & the Q-car status of the R32 (u'd probably feel more exclusive owning a R32 than the common Porsches out there), ure saying u opted it off ur list jst bcos of the DSG issue?

[sweatdrop]

anywys it is definitely ur choice on tat matter. But i must say tat it is wrong to assume tat a clutchless manual is still "sequential"...

after having driven the R32 & Gti before, i must say tat the DSG is definitely not tuned aggressively - in terms of downshifts - even the GTA 6spd selespeed is more aggressive & downshifts from say 6th gear to 4th gear or my favourite 5th gear to 3rd gear is still much faster than what most non-pro drivers can do. All u had to do is double click the down shift on the GTA... & there is absolutely no pause when it changes from 5th gear to 3rd gear immediately... 4th gear does not even show on ur screen. Just do a normal double click on ur mouse... & the V6 barks to match ur speed/revs.

the issue of sequentially downshifting gears: e.g: 6 to 5 to 4...= slow/or not done properly does not hold water in modern clutchless manuals anymore...

otherwise, Porsche wouldnt have jumped on the bandwagon wit its PDK clutchless manuals (previously available only in their track cars)

not to mention the 7 spd (or 8-spd) DSG in the Bugatti veyron.

sorry tat i had to resort to "name dropping"... but too bad lor, the Alfa GTA name not strong enough - some more talk abt 6-spd selespeed... ppl likely to believe only if i use big names like Ferrari or Porsche. haha.. how abt the clutchless manual in the GTR? [;)]

again, dun get me wrong, u can love manuals & only want to drive manuals ur whole life... i just find it unfair to generalise on clutchless manuals - evn tho i agree the DSG on the sportier versions of the GOLF are not properly "retuned for the job"....

cheers

Edited by Tron

they done the LSD bit before on their previous RS. Still many who owned it had to contend with massive torque steer with "just" the factory tune of 212bhp..

now Ford claims tat wit their new REVOKNUCKLE front suspension, it ELIMINATES torque steer.... couple it with a quaiffe LSD... they CLAIM the issue is solved forever. So 300bhp & 400NM... chicken feet... haha

[sweatdrop]

Actually the ST is built on a completely different assembly line, even if it starts its life as a sheet of metal among the "lesser Fords".

[;)]