Application9999 Clutched August 19, 2008 Share August 19, 2008 SINGAPORE: Political engagement in Singapore is set to change with the advent of new media. ADVERTISEMENT Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong acknowledged this as much and said the government will have to adapt, get used to it, and turn it to positive effect. Hence, the government will ease up on the ban on political videos and outdoor public demonstrations, he said at his National Day Rally on Sunday night. The new ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 19, 2008 Share August 19, 2008 pls hor, no political thread allowed.. ah Gad will tell u this is a car forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 Quote Unlike the last General Election, podcasts, videocasts and election materials will be allowed. But those who upload such material online will have to maintain accountability and responsibility. meaning..still liable to be sued.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyap Clutched August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 bro, even the communist opened up even wider & faster than SGP! Hv visited most of the big coast city, Shanghai, shenzhen, beijing, hangzhou..........the nite life & everything more open than us! KTV........building designs.... it is more capitalism ...u would not imagine it's communist...... Only in name & politic........it commerce & business... free for all dog eat dog in china... everything is $$$$ talk, no $$$ no talk...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 no leh... n. korea pple suffering, no street protest allowed, and their freedom ranking also beri close. but not so bad, dun hv gst or erp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 To me, more like they have no way to control, therefore open up and make a meal out of it to win over younger voters, who grow up in internet age. Anyway, they are now fully prepared for cyber campaigning as compared to 2 years ago. Also, there is sufficient legislation in place to prosecute wrongful publication over cyber media compared to before. Of course whatever was said, whether live or recorded and published in cyberspace has to be responsible and accountable. Defamation law is still applicable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 They just say only la. Later nparks place video cam in the speakers corner and all that is said is used as evidence to SUE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 not say say one.... this loosening is not becos they realized ur rights or left but most likely becos it is mandatory by orhlimpig to allow street protest just like beijing. otherwise they can fly kite and IOC will go back to moscow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 In other words, their gahmen is bad.. neber help the poor by implementing GST, and dun help the traffic condition by putting ERP.. Our gahment are much better.. We got GST, ERP, COE, petrol taxes, KTV taxes, beehive, complacent taxes to live in.. Just cannot open only.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 simi speaker corner?? I heard got one myth place in year 2000.. Got spotted people finding the secret place and even talk on it on states times.. but somehow people forget about the discovery.. or maybe it is still there.. but hidden very well.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 good step but by itself, it means NOTHING i just hope our nation continues to open up to more freedom of expression. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 you know pax romana? Peace at the Roman's term? this one is freedom of expression..under the garment's term.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 Quote no leh... n. korea pple suffering, no street protest allowed, and their freedom ranking also beri close. but not so bad, dun hv gst or erp. But funny thing is they still worship kim jong il like God. Amazing isn't it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 s'poreans, for decades, have already been brainwashed... to suddenly give us freedom, we will be doubtful and suspicious, and will be asking: is this real? is this a trap? will i be punished? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear August 22, 2008 Share August 22, 2008 It's not just the Government policy that has been effective in brainwashing us, but also our willingness to sacrifice such "human rights" for creature comforts. It's a question of our mentality as a people, and what we truly value. For all the ills that the Western world might have, we cannot deny that at the very least, on the most fundamental level, a significant number of them value and cherish their "human rights" to the extent that they are willing to forsake their creature comforts and possessions to fight for it. And then not just for their own benefit, but for the benefit of others unknown to them as well. Until we as a people adopt the mentality that money and security isn't the only thing of value to us and are willing to make willing sacrifices to take a stand for what they believe to be right, whatever policy the Government implements, no matter how sincere or generous it might be, it will be useless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 23, 2008 Share August 23, 2008 Quote In other words, their gahmen is bad.. neber help the poor by implementing GST, and dun help the traffic condition by putting ERP.. Our gahment are much better.. We got GST, ERP, COE, petrol taxes, KTV taxes, beehive, complacent taxes to live in.. Just cannot open only.. tat is correct... thanks to GST and hopefully more GST, more pple will become poorer and get all the help they needed, becos GST is there to help them...as well as rescue banks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 23, 2008 Share August 23, 2008 spot on bro.. but i still feel that it's a good thing, and u know my opinion of gahmen in general Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 23, 2008 Share August 23, 2008 Quote s'poreans, for decades, have already been brainwashed... to suddenly give us freedom, we will be doubtful and suspicious, and will be asking: is this real? is this a trap? will i be punished? bro... freedom belongs to ur parents time... now they want is super absorbent, light, feather body hugging feel and comfort throughout the day and nite. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...