Finally a medal in 48 years..........

Nicxtreme

well, taiwan has a very good chen sui bian... [laugh] true democracy... is this what you singaporeans wanted... [laugh]

the fact that some people bake cakes badly doesn't mean we should also stop baking cakes.

it's not what they are thinking. whether people feel an affinity to their sportsmen is an emotional response, not a intellectual one. no matter how Goh Chok Tong or Lim Swee Say tell you it should be the same, if you don't feel it, you don't feel it.

just like women, your mother tell you this one good, should like, but if you don't like means you don't like [laugh]

at the end of the day, it's an emotional thing, and for most of us, seeing a local HDB boy (or girl) up there on a podium will elicit a much stronger emotion than seeing a Chinese FT, which for many people won't even have any emotion.

Money can truely buy talents and even sports stars. I think we initially wanted to form a world class football team and make our way to World cup. I wonder what is the progress now? Perhaps money not enough [laugh].

Anyway, what is so great about sports these days, it is all about money.

Regards,

Congrats to tennis team at least getting a medal in tennis team.

Is Table tennis team. Unless Federer or Nadal become our permanent resident here [laugh]

I WILL NEVER FEEL THE PRIDE WHEN THESE CHEENA CHAR BO WIN THE MEDALS. WHOLE F-KING TEAM IS FROM CHEENA INCLUSIVE OF THE COACH...PUIIIIIthumbsdown.gif

dun upset lah... come tomolo we got mt favor training... exercise then goto sammyboy alfressco train also, CC train also, RC train also all train to carry balls.

this will build enuff strenght to b a true orhlimpig weight lifter.

Is because all are import from China including the coach.

[laugh] U're right!!. End of the day still blue IC. Born China!!

they are pink ic holder lah.. blue is for PR..

Being a S'porean Chinese

Had anyone here visited Beijing before

Do u guys feel proud when u landed your feet on the Great Wall or the Forbidden City?

What's wrong with FT?

Every Chinese here started as immigrant too

Is it too late for them now?

Why some feel so unbalance or sour grape here?

If you have chinese friends from PRC, you will understand that most of them, in fact all of them, look down on us.

Even if we won a gold medal, i dont think it will do us any proud, cause we 'buy' instead of develop our OWN.

The key words here is "OUR OWN"

congrats too!

they came here at a young age and train for a few years in our system, even before they compete at ITTF events... I consider FT as proven records....

cos we are being bought up in a system where sportmens r useless. Now that we have achieved developed country status, they wan other glory. When we Singapore lang cannot do it, they get FT to do it. Just like Singapore lang dun work as cleaners, construction workers, hookers & sportmens, they bring in FTs

But are u sure feng tianwei & tao li so-called 'rejects' from china? [:/]

I thought they chose to come to Singapore at very young age.

This is way before china even spotted their talents.

Tao Li is very good example. Did any china swimmer perform better than her?

If no china swimmer can outperform her, do u think china will cast her aside?

Same goes for feng tianwei. She once beat World No 1, Zhang Yining recently.

What does the above prove?

Well, 2 possibilities.

Either china fail to spot their talents amidst vast pool of players or

they are late bloomers & excel only when came to Singapore.

I'd think it's the latter.

Edited by Redboy

What there to celebrate ? Tax payer is $1.5 mil or $750,000 poorer. Corect me if I'm wrong!!!

So wat..they deserved it..they trained hard & they got the pay out..

Now almost everyone is rejoicing..

Rather pay them 1m+ for giving us joy then pay u knoe who millions & cause us more misery..

Congrats to tennis team at least getting a medal in tennis team.

yup congrats, but unfortunatly i dont feel proud.

i dont see the point in sending a FT to represent singapore.

sometimes i just dont understand what the MIW are thinking.

it's just like telling your kid that the card he/she made for your b'day sucks.

And that you would rather they go out and buy a nice card, then spent money on making the card.

the locals will never get a chance to shine, since they struck "GOLD" whats to stop them in getting more FT? the floodgates will never be closed.

it doesnt matter to me if our local sportmen dont win a medal in another 48 years. at least when it comes i will really feel proud, unlike the difference in views we singaporeans are having now.

i'm not a football person, but the day we won the malaysia cup, i was jumping with joy.

i think that was the first time i was really proud of singapore sports achivement.

yah ... and the same sxxt goes for the FT @ work, but that another topic on its self.

[:)]

Joy? what joy? at the end of the day, r u sure they wil stay on in sg to contribute to sg? or just take the $ n Pink IC n go back China or other countries?

it's a business lah... if they take the money and leave, also no choice right...

she did her job to win a medal, gahmen rewards her... fair enough...

just like so many banglahs buy toto, one tio first prize and went home to be king... singaporepools cannot refuse to give him the prize just becos he's not a singaporean mah...

[gossip][gossip]