What if i use an IU meant for bike in my car?

Eurocar

i dont know the exact details on how things work. but i roughly know, forgotten read/hear from where, the alternating black/silver stripes on the floor is to determine the width of the vehicle.

imagine u have a bike IU, maybe at most the reader should read in a up to certain width. say you go through with wider width, maybe they will take photo of your vehicle number and flag for exception.

how the reader works exactly i dont know. but need light to work. that is why they fixed up extra lightings for those evening ERP gantries. when you pass by, see where does the light focused on. probably they can detect how long is the break in alternating black/silver stripes (portion covered by your vehicle) to determine the width.

Please explain further.

Even if vehicle detected was a car with bike IU , a photo is still required or else how to establish the id of the vehicle?

Many bike IUs are availiable in the scrap market....if no photo is taken of offending vehicle, then car might as well go thru the gantry without any IU inside the car...then what can the gantry detect? [;)]

I think LTA probably thought of this liao. I believe cars' IU number starts with 1 whereas bikes' IU number starts with 0. If those car park computer scan that the vehicle entering is a car yet the IU starts with 0, then maybe the barrier won't open?

This idea might worked. As long as you have sufficient $ in your "bike" IU, there wouldn't be photo taken thus you are undetected. But if sway sway IU or cashcard not working that day, you sure kenna.

Yes, this is one of the possibilities.

sorry i cant reply all of you but one interesting thing someone mentioned abt the connections. actually its very simple. just connect the live and ground wires will do since the IU is independent of the car's electrical system.

anyway, i know tat this is not possible. just wan to discuss interesting facts, for instance some car parks cant enter, ERP half price and probably season parking also cheaper :D

1) I would say, it will work very well for carparks! Can save $$ on parking charges!

2) Saving ERP is not possible, unless you driving the Sparrow Corbin, or a very narrow car! The zebra lines at ERP will measure your car width to counter-confirm whether car/bike!

Legality issues? Of course its against the law.

No flaming pls. healthy discussion of the possibilities.

1. some IU scanning based car parks cant enter. they dun allow bikes

2. save 50% of the ERP cost

wat abt the legality issues?

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

i must admit i also came up with the same idea as TS [sly][pirate]

i have a lot of naughty ideas [pirate][sly]

your explaination why this wont work [thumbsup][scholar][thumbsup][scholar]

the amt is diverted to the meter >> to show customers how much incurred for ERP

however, the money is already deducted from the taxi's cashcard...

cheating government $ is a dangerous game, like those caught driving OPC during restricted hours! might even get jail terms for repeated offences. It is no longer considered as traffic offences anymore.

It shall work for normal carparks, the IU is using RFID technology which store a ID of your vehicle and can be traced back to LTA's central database. However most carpark systems don't have connection to the database, they just simply scan the IU to identify your vehicle...I would say don't try on our kiasu gahmet's ERP system, if u got caught then sure sue u [lipsrsealed]

i dont know the exact details on how things work. but i roughly know, forgotten read/hear from where, the alternating black/silver stripes on the floor is to determine the width of the vehicle.

imagine u have a bike IU, maybe at most the reader should read in a up to certain width. say you go through with wider width, maybe they will take photo of your vehicle number and flag for exception.

how the reader works exactly i dont know. but need light to work. that is why they fixed up extra lightings for those evening ERP gantries. when you pass by, see where does the light focused on. probably they can detect how long is the break in alternating black/silver stripes (portion covered by your vehicle) to determine the width.Please explain further.

Even if vehicle detected was a car with bike IU , a photo is still required or else how to establish the id of the vehicle?

Many bike IUs are availiable in the scrap market....if no photo is taken of offending vehicle, then car might as well go thru the gantry without any IU inside the car...then what can the gantry detect? [;)]

How about putting the iu into a bicycle ??

don't know if that work or not...

for sure...this will not fault the law/...hee hee