Eurocar Neutral Newbie August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 (edited) No flaming pls. healthy discussion of the possibilities. 1. some IU scanning based car parks cant enter. they dun allow bikes 2. save 50% of the ERP cost wat abt the legality issues? Edited August 11, 2008 by Eurocar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 Fine by LTA deep deep if they find out haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 the hotline is 1800 2255 582 call to ask. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 wat abt the legality issues? huh? frankly, what's there to talk about? It's illegal. Why are you even thinking of it? if erp costs is a concern for you, then you have to think and consider properly if having a car is the right choice for u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 It's a jail term for cheating! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eurocar Neutral Newbie August 11, 2008 Author Share August 11, 2008 ERP cost is definitely manageable. but the thought of paying so much ERP to gov hurts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 u ask about legality issue here?? u think that's not illegal??... as the saying goes: do whatever you want as long don't get caught.. and knowing them, they will make sure those who cheat them of their money kena big time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 isnt there a camera on top of the gantry? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 wat abt the legality issues? Why in the first place would the gov want to differentiate 2 kinds of IU if at the end of the day all will eventually use the cheaper one if it's legal. You see ppl rather suffer the jams to go to JB to pump petrol just to safe a little more and if got such kang tao and still you've not seen this happening now? Obviously it's ILLEGAL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 cannot work, sure kena caught one. u know the mini 'zebra-crossing' line underneath the gantry? it is used to determine the width of the vehicle. that is why at night the gantry got fluorescent light to illuminate the line for the reader to 'read' in the width of the vehicle. No flaming pls. healthy discussion of the possibilities. 1. some IU scanning based car parks cant enter. they dun allow bikes 2. save 50% of the ERP cost wat abt the legality issues? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 can you try and let us know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 No flaming pls. healthy discussion of the possibilities. 1. some IU scanning based car parks cant enter. they dun allow bikes 2. save 50% of the ERP cost wat abt the legality issues? In the first place: How to install a bike IU on a car? I don't think it's a disconnect/reconnect issue only ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 can't be done lah bro... bike IU have different set of serial number from car's, so even if u can convince the installer to do it for u, he'll be fined by LTA for installing wrong iu for the vehicle. unless u diy the install...but even then, u wun be able to register the IU for ur car, coz lta will know that the iu is meant for a bike, not for ur car, u wun be able o register the iu anyways... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 prepare to go to jail... basically, u are trying to cheat our great and mighty gahmen... n our gahmen does not take kindly to ppl who are trying to cheat the gahmen... trying to cheat the gahmen is in essence stealing the pockets of our ministars.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2K_83 1st Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 No flaming pls. healthy discussion of the possibilities. 1. some IU scanning based car parks cant enter. they dun allow bikes 2. save 50% of the ERP cost 3. free black bean paste rice daily wat abt the legality issues? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 If u do so, I think u'll become famous... cos we'll get to see your face on newspaper.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 cannot work, sure kena caught one. u know the mini 'zebra-crossing' line underneath the gantry? it is used to determine the width of the vehicle. that is why at night the gantry got fluorescent light to illuminate the line for the reader to 'read' in the width of the vehicle.No flaming pls. healthy discussion of the possibilities. 1. some IU scanning based car parks cant enter. they dun allow bikes 2. save 50% of the ERP cost wat abt the legality issues? Please explain further. Even if vehicle detected was a car with bike IU , a photo is still required or else how to establish the id of the vehicle? Many bike IUs are availiable in the scrap market....if no photo is taken of offending vehicle, then car might as well go thru the gantry without any IU inside the car...then what can the gantry detect? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aloysius111 Neutral Newbie August 11, 2008 Share August 11, 2008 If i remember correctly years back when ERP was first launched, there was an article ran by the Straits Times saying that vehicle type is determined not only by the IU unit type but also the size of the vehicle. That means the ERP system will scan to see if your IU unit matches that of your car size wheen you pass the gantry. They do this by measuring your car size against the white lines below the gantry to determine the size. There will be some general guidelines as to the width of a car, bus, lorry, motorcycles, etc. So it would make it almost impossible to cheat using a smaller vehicle's IU. Wonder how about those motorcycles with a sidecar? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...