MIW say prisoner not enuff

Apollo

Singapore: Convict Shortage Halts Singapore Prison Project

Foreign 2008-08-08 14:40

SINGAPORE: Singapore has shut down construction of two prisons partly because the city-state's aging population isn't producing enough criminals, its prisons director said in remarks published Friday (8 Aug).

Ng Joo Hee said work on two of the four prisons of the Singapore $1 billion (US$718 million) Changi Prison Complex was halted after the country's inmate population fell to a 10-year low of 11,768 last year.

"In an aging population, you generally see a lower crime rate," Ng was quoted as saying in the Straits Times newspaper.

He could not be reached on Friday.

Singapore has some of the stiffest penalties for crime in the world, including cane lashes and death by hanging for some drug offenses. It also has one of the lowest birth rates, and the government is trying to encourage couples to have more children.

Its crime rate fell to 696 incidents per 100,000 people last year from 974 in 1997.

The paper said fewer repeat offenders and less drug abuse has helped thin the prison population. About a quarter of inmates released in 2005 returned within two years, while about half went back to prison in 1998.

Ng credited prison education and work-study programs for the falling recidivism rate, the newspaper said.

Drug rehabilitation centers housed 451 patients last year, down from 5,508 in 1997.

Courts are also more hesitant to send offenders to prison, choosing other punishments such as probation instead, the paper said. (AP)

http://www.mysinchew.com/node/14779

deh... not enterprising at all. mebbe they consider upgrading them to hostel like Hotel 81. can roleplay machiam warden and prisoner.. sure attract plenty of holiday makers

i like the way they put it....it's quite entertaining... [laugh]

because the city-state's aging population isn't producing enough criminals...

no wonder they want more babies... the young can supply more criminals mah.... [laugh]

,,...country's inmate population fell to a 10-year low of 11,768 last year.

i think the stats is correct... match the birth rate trends... [:p]

"In an aging population, you generally see a lower crime rate,"

really???... i thought we have more crimes recently.... remember someone was shocked about car theft in singapore!!!... [laugh]

He could not be reached on Friday.

friday is sport day mah..... [:p]

Singapore has some of the stiffest penalties for crime in the world, including cane lashes and death by hanging for some drug offenses. It also has one of the lowest birth rates, and the government is trying to encourage couples to have more children.

dont know about you, i find these 2 sentences are totally unrelated and just dont understand why they are linked together?? the message they want to pass is because of the stiffest penalty, thus the low birth rate??... [confused]

Ng credited prison education and work-study programs for the falling recidivism rate,

who should we blame for the low birth rate then??... [sly]

Courts are also more hesitant to send offenders to prison, choosing other punishments such as probation instead, the paper said.

ahh... this could be the root cause ...... [lipsrsealed]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Blackyv

tat means got surplus of U$0.5 bln to rescue banks.. sud b guud new rite?

less prisoners to feed means tax sud drop also i think.

aiya must be good lor.

but if they convert to hostel, mebbe in 3 yrs breakeven become profit generating... can even public listing... sly.gif

No wonder they are trying so hard to attract xxxxxxx xxxxxx to singapore coz singaporeans are not making enough prisoner, i mean babies.. lipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif

Sometimes, I feel maybe because we are more and more reluctant to send them in.

My field of work allows me to see many idiots that should be sent in for rioting, molesting, glue sniff.

But because they are too young, they cant go in. If I know, I should commit a lot of crime before I turn 16. [lipsrsealed]

frankly..this crime rate no is bull Sh*t...why? no one get caught doesn't mean no crime happening....similarly...they said drug abuse and addict is at all time low becos they capture lesser of them this year...does that mean there are fewer drug abuser? I don't think so...may be they just get smarter and never get caught by our capable Home team....can I say we don't have a terrorist leader in singapore just becos he escaped from our ISD? Bull Sh*T....KNN [furious]

Ever since MM Lee saying something about birth rate...now every government dept also start to imply bcos birth low lah, aging population lah...somehow I feel they are trying to justify the inflow of FT to pave ground for the GE...now they are starting the mind game

BE AFRAID BE VERY AFRAID..... [sly][sly]

wait in the future when crime increases, there're not enough prisons how?

setup ERP at the overcrowded prisons and divert them to the less-populated ones? [dizzy][dizzy]

So is this suppose to be good or bad news?? confused.gif

Of course it is good news. laugh.gif

The new prisons are of cluster concept. One of such prison can easily hold inmates from a few existing prisons.