National Day Reception

Ahtong

Has anyone been to the National Day reception before or know what it is about? Is it just go Istana and eat buffet or is there some ceremony involved?

it's a standing only reception in the istana garden near the fountain. Usually open air, but sometimes there is a tent, if there is a hint of rain.

there are buffet tables spread around. Lots of local celebrities, business elites, politicians, military brass, sports heroes (but this year these should be at the olympics), award winners, grassroots leaders, religious leaders invited.

At about 8pm,ministers, MM, SM, PM, president will arrive. sing national anthem, and then the singers (Hadi) from the national day parade song singing live. There is a cake cutting ceremony.

at about 9pm to 9.30, president will leave, and everybody take bus and go back to the car parks.

More or less how it happens every year. Dress code, smart casual.

Not me but my old man. The invitation card never say much except the reception time and smart casual dress code. If driving, must park the car at a designated CP and then take a shuttle bus to Istana. They even give this bright pink label to stick on the car windscreen.

I am just wondering why my father got invited since we are commoners and not RC or PAP members. Don't know whether it's a lucky draw where they just pick random people.

must have some elite status lah.. or have outshine in someway in the past year or so... eg.during sars, all the hero nurses, doctors invited also, etc.

Your dad in business, sports, or something? usually no commoner are invited unless recommended by miw.

Got my dad's name and a barcode printed on the invitation card. Otherwise I already kapok from him and go myself. I go take pic with Pres, PM, MM and SM then become fake elite [laugh]

Hmmm, maybe it's because he's a businessman then. Do you know how many people attend the event? Will the Pres and PM be mingling with the crowd? Is the dress code really smart casual or will people be showing up in business suits?

no..its smart casual or national dress (ie. those orchid motif clothes.No one wears business suits to this event). Yes.. all the mp, ministers and president and their wives will be there and mingling around. You can approach anyone to take photos... but since everyone also think the same way - there's huge crowds to take photos with the most popular, ie. President, PM, SM, MM, ministers...so maybe have to wait in line, or share in a group photo.

Buffet includes beer and other liqour - so can drink ...but if you drink, do not drive! [lipsrsealed]

there's usually a couple of pick up points - it changes time to time. Go and park at the carpark indicated on your invitation., with the carpark label.

quite a number of ppl attending - about 500 pax or more perhaps.

Has anyone been to the National Day reception before or know what it is about? Is it just go Istana and eat buffet or is there some ceremony involved?

It's just a buffet (nothing spectacular, in fact I find the food so-so only) and lots of photo opportunities with MIW.

That's all, nothing special.

pai sei hor....no camera allow and you are not suppose to do that even if you manage to bring 1 in....like your camera phone etc....this kind thing can don't go then don't go...waste time....drink some beer and talk cxxk with some frens a wiser choice...unless you feel damm shiok invited by the president lar then ok lar...been there once because curious as none of my frens went before....subsequently I rejected all the invitation liao... [;)][;)]