Guyver 1st Gear December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 Quote thanks for the useful tip. But is Mapking software avail by default in the phone? or do i need to do separate purchase? Go to the website which I posted to find .... should be there. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 thanks but let' say i am interested in activating the free agis software that comes with it, how do i do that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 able to fiddle ard some more with the phone at MacDonald... able to connect via Wireless-SG, and manage to try surfing internet...but question: a) the internet face page font is very small, how do i enlsrge it? b) which software do you use for internet? Opera Mobile or INternet Explorer? c) if the internet is connected via GPRS, woudl i need to pay? - i notice that if i use Internet Explorer, straight away it will connect me via GPRS. But not so for Opera Mobile. d) how do i permanently disable GPRS? I only want to use free wi-fi for internet. e) if i activate my wi-fi, and there's free wi-fi, by default, would the phone tap on GPRS or wi-fi? How would i know which one is being used? Sorry for having so many questions... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 I don't know liao .... because I only tried MapKing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bk007 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 a) in opera, from bottom right hand side of the screen slide up b) i think most people use opera c) obviously, yes d) search for the NoData cab file at Modaco e) not sure since i disabled GPRS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bk007 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 i believe that the instructions are included Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cwater Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 go to the website and key in the activation code on the card provided. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cwater Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 a) For opera, Double-tap it to enlarge..or go settings > display > minimum font size b) i prefer opera mobile. u can set to view pages as it would display on the normal computer (less the flash animation and java) c) GPRS is chargeable, usually by the volume of data downloaded. Need to disable it. d) google for this program: NoData.cab and install it. it can disable your gprs. e) once u disable gprs as per D, then u will only use wifi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 (edited) Has anyone noticed the LCD stand by mode ?? i noticed there is still small light on the LCD not totaly off. if the LCD totaly offed i think battery power can last even longer i'll have to off/on the phone then it will auto off the light..frustrating! Edited December 4, 2008 by Foofam77 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 Quote i just bought omnia yesterdaty... i cant update my Windows Media PLayer due to some ahem reasons...currently stuck with version 9...does it mean i cannot use the Microsoft Active Sync? if not, how do i transfer files to-and-fro omnia with my pc? other questions: 1) any program inside omnia where i can store confidential notes such as internet banking passwords ? 2) is there any "back" button in omnia akin to that of PC windows explorer? it seems that the button right one will always bring me back to Menu section is kinda frustrating.. 3) How to set up configuration to surf free internet at macdonalds which provide free wi-fi internet connection? 4) How to set up configuration for free GPS? I still cannot find the GPS icon in Omnia. thanks Hi, I you wanna use MapKing ... can follow this instruction. Being using the i780 for about 2 weeks already. I still prefered MapKing over Agis. Here's the setting you need to do in order to use Mapking, its simple. 1. Go download the port splitter 1.1 free from http://www.freewareppc.com/download/commun...tsplitter.shtml 2. Go to Start - Setting - System - External GPS Program - set GPS Program port to COM8 Hardware - COM9 / Baud rate - 4800 Access - Remain checked 3. Go to Start - Setting - System - Enchance GPS XTRA Enable - Enable Auto download - Disable 4. After installating Port Splitter to i780, activate it and set the setting accordingly. Input - COM8 (type it if its not there) Baud - 4800 Output - COM6 (press Add and start) 5. Open the MapKing Go to Tools - GPS/Track - By User (COM6 / Baudrate 4800) Done !! To activate GPS, just make sure Port splitter is activated, open Mapking - click GPS at the bottom - click anywhere to open up the menu - click GPS Status (if showing no fix on the top left, it means its trying to locate your position) So go to a open air location (Takes about 5 mins to log on estimate) Pls note, somehow when activating port splitter, it attempts connect to our GPRS. To disable your connection, I did this. Go to Start - setting - connections - Advanced - Select networks - Edit (top&bottom) click hold and delete the connection setting. If in case you need the GPRS setting back, just go to Start - Setting - System - Operator Setting. Change to another Telco and change back to your Telco, your setting will be back. Hope this is clear. =) alamak..went to the Mapking Sg site just now..and realise there's no version for WM6, only PC and PPC... anyway, also need to pay..guess i will stick to my free Agis liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cwater Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 ppc (pocket pc) is the one for WM6 lah.. ya, the maps only have trials for a free days, after which u need to pay.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 I got the Mapking software leh .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Quote Personally .... I like to go www.pda4x.com .... The site is down the last few days... try this... http://forum.ppcwarez.org/index.php Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Just up again liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) not connecting.... I just installed SPB Mobile Shell... damned cool.... Edited December 5, 2008 by KapitanE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 sianz, mine only Agis software,,,,but guess what, i got problem registering the software on the net....need to call the hotline liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 cool, where u get this from? what's the name for this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikosan Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Hi. After using the Omnia for ssometime, I just realised that I am not able to convert a business card to text using the camera. I realised that the "Smart Reader" programme is missing. Anyone else has this problem? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...