Split if your marriage don't work out.

Gearoil

Split if your marriage don't work out.  

46 members have voted

1. 1.

• I would have initiated for a divorce for sure.
    • I will try all ways to tolerate and hope that things will still work out.
    • I am a chicken in the presence of a over powering woman/man and can't leave her/him!
    • Divorce? No way..I won't split until eithier one of us die or get killed!
    • Should have gone seperate ways first, if can't decide or not to divorce!
    • Man will always lose out in a divorce so I would never divorce!
    • Other option... Plse specify

There is this news item about this man who choose not to divorce earlier ( but in the end did after a tragic event) and continued with an abusive and unhappy marriage.

What was reported ( though not always the total truth)is that out of 24,000 over or so marraiges takes place every year , about 7000 + end up in actual divorce.

In truth, there exits an equal number of marriages ( 7000+) that are already on the rocks and the partners are already very unhappy with each other but choose NOT to divorce for various reasons....like this case until some really BAD happens!

So it seems to indicate that whether a marriage will work out or not, is going to be 50 -50 thingy. With present and future statistics showing that more are NOT 'going to work out' !

So what would you have done if you are that Mr Russel Tan or a lady instead of a man , driven to such desperation before he eventually decided to divorce? [;)]

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../365173/1/.html

This thread reminds me of legendkiller's story on R and J... They tried to work things out at first... But too much violence involved. Hope his fren is ok now.

Don't get married for the sake of getting married, that's the best option I can think of. Now, marriage is not as sacred as my parent's generation, when getting married means that the two will stay together till the end. It's different nowadays, when people are more open-minded and the temptations are always there. Not happy together, then divorce. I guess woman doing well in her career also plays a part, they don't have to depend on her husband anymore.

No wonder divorce cases are going up!

i always feel we give older generation too much credit... most cases i see, it's not some respect of marital insstitution, but fear, not being financially independent and not having options that keeps them togetehr. so whole day f each other, curse each other, sleep separately, ma ciam avoid each other. but wont divorce....

I feel it all boils down to how the couple approach their relationship from the beginning eg. courtship, etc.

Quite of few of my friends are not 100% truthful with their spouse. Some will mod their cars behind their wife's back, or tell their wife a discounted amount of the actual cost of their mod. Some would rather talk about their problems with their buddies instead of their wife. Only 'good' things with their spouse, keep the 'bad' things to themselves. Small problem become big problem. They also grow more distance emotionally. Like that how to make a relationship works?

Quite of few of my friends are not 100% truthful with their spouse. Some will mod their cars behind their wife's back, or tell their wife a discounted amount of the actual cost of their mod.

[laugh] how typical.

Regards,

Don't get married for the sake of getting married, that's the best option I can think of. Now, marriage is not as sacred as my parent's generation, when getting married means that the two will stay together till the end. It's different nowadays, when people are more open-minded and the temptations are always there. Not happy together, then divorce. I guess woman doing well in her career also plays a part, they don't have to depend on her husband anymore.

No wonder divorce cases are going up!

Just some days ago, happened to chit-chat with a few old friends and we talked about marriage. Some commented these days the wives are very demanding, like to compare their hubbies with peers' hubbies. One told us, very difficult to ask for sex because the wife says he is not performing up to her expectation. The performance here means his career. We were wondering can a husband has the right to ask for sex? if no sex can use it as an excuse to file a divorce or not? Any lawyer here?

Regards,

Somebody sent me this recently, i think it was written by Adrain Tan, the Teenage Textbook author. you need to be of a certain generation to know that, i think.

be wary of the truth. I'm not asking you to speak it, or write it, for there are times when it is dangerous or impossible to do those things. The truth has a great capacity to offend and injure, and you will find that the closer you are to someone, the more care you must take to disguise or even conceal the truth. Often, there is great virtue in being evasive, or equivocating.

There is also great skill. Any child can blurt out the truth, without thought to the consequences. It takes great maturity to appreciate the value of silence.

In order to be wary of the truth, you must first know it. That requires great frankness to yourself. Never fool the person in the mirror.

I remember that book and its sequel. Damn funny book. Think AT is now partner at Drew & Napier. He very got ink.

There is this news item about this man who choose not to divorce earlier ( but in the end did after a tragic event) and continued with an abusive and unhappy marriage.

What was reported ( though not always the total truth)is that out of 24,000 over or so marraiges takes place every year , about 7000 + end up in actual divorce.

In truth, there exits an equal number of marriages ( 7000+) that are already on the rocks and the partners are already very unhappy with each other but choose NOT to divorce for various reasons....like this case until some really BAD happens!

So it seems to indicate that whether a marriage will work out or not, is going to be 50 -50 thingy. With present and future statistics showing that more are NOT 'going to work out' !

So what would you have done if you are that Mr Russel Tan or a lady instead of a man , driven to such desperation before he eventually decided to divorce? [;)]

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../365173/1/.html

That is the thing about life .... we don't know what things will be tomorrow ... so everything is half chance.

Once open, not necessary u had to take it...I had several frens opened liao but still can annul...tink u jus nid to swear u nvr hav sex b4... [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed] Dun tell pp i teach one hor...

both husband n wife hv marital duties to fulfill even if either one is a cold fish.

in the event of a rejection, there's is a strong case for divorce. for those who don't wish to take this route, there's plenty of alternatives.

I knew of someone who wanted to divorce wife...n wife oso said wanted to divorce...I tink countless times liao....N till now e hb still hold on cos of religion...

Pl comment on this....will u hold on to an unhappy marriage cos of religion, esp if u r catholic or christian? Religion more impt or ur futute life more impt? Or is it until abusive actions start then u will start to tink of divorce? Wont tt be too late? IMO, divorce becos of an unhappy marriage, is nothing to do wif religion.

I had a guy fren who married a woman for 7 yrs who cant hav sex cos she had sex phobia...went to see dr to cure, still in vain...then the wife becomes abusive, started to beat my fren...He dun mind tt his wife cant hav sex but he cant stand an abusive wife...in the end, divorce...n I can see tt he is happy now...