Disappointed with HSBC

Mica_blue

not that the card is no good, but some say it's better that rebates earned from petrol be used at say...car4, rather than the other way round. what's the logic?

ic...ic.... [laugh][laugh]

I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card [confused]

Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this.[:/]

Compared to banks like Citibank , it was so easy to get them to wavie it off...

i also call up hsbc to wavie my annual fee. in the end they told me to do 3 transactions in the next following month then the annual fee will be waive. [thumbsup]

My HSBC card will expiry during 12/08 but dunno whether they can waive for me or nt. If not, i will just cancel as well.

Yah...not just HSBC. I had past bad experience with Citibank and Amex. Citibank was my first card since I started work...even used to it pay for my wedding dinner after getting extra credit line, but they refused to waive the annual fee. So cancelled. Amex even worst, after i cancelled, keep sending me late payment bill for the annual fee, until i gave them my best expletives.

Ha! My personal experience with AMEX was the worst for me.... and I don't even have their card.

Happened when I just started work. wasn't even looking for credit cards then, but was approached at a roadshow thingy and signed up after service rep filled up my particulars and info (which he verified to have met application criteria) Followed up with providing supporting documents.... and they rejected my application. Yes, I didn't feel good... and the fact is, Citibank and Diners application around that same period was successful.

So till now, almost 8yrs on, I've never given AMEX another look [laugh]

ALL banks are the same.

They expect you to miss the fine print or a late payment.

That's when they can earn the bit more by charging you late charge, admin charge, annual fee, etc.

I would use credit cards normally, but keep track and avoid using it during the last month prior to expiry.

That way they try to charge me for annual fee, I just said I want to terminate and don't want to pay the fee.

Usually, the offer is a waiver.

However, do not take 12 months or more hp payment. That's when you are at their mercy and cannot terminate.

I have many cards and just rotate them around. I don't care too much about points as I don't use that much anyway.smile.gif

Agree. I had the same experience with DBS. Had a installment payment (12/18month interest free) on that card and they refuse to waive renewal fee.

Since then, I've decided put such installment payments on my ABN (free for life) card.

All these banks earn from the merchants when we use the card. if they prefer to have me stop using their card, no loss to me for cancelling their card

haha...for amex,. my exp as use the card, fulfil the $5k and then immediately close the acct and got my longineslaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Their prefered customers are those who dont pay on time(but eventually will pay, its a rish management approach), then they can charge interest. High interest.

If you pay up on time all the time, you are not really top in their list.

There was once I never pay late also kena slapped with late payment mad.gifrifle.gif called them up and let go big time. furious.gif

But my annual fee is waived as long as I chalk up more than $3k in total for 1 year leh.

All you need to do is:

1. Use all yout points immediately

2. Pay up your outstanding balance (assuming no instalements) excluding the annual fees

3. Cut your credit card into two

4. Mail your cheque and the credit card to them

They will call you and ask you why you terminate the card. If all goes well, they will waive the fees and send you a new card.

To qualify for annual fee waiver for your HSBC VISA Platinum Card, a minimum annual spending of $12,500 must be made on the Platinum Card Account. This is stated in the Terms & Conditions of the the HSBC VISA Platinum Card. I just got a annual fee waiver from HSBC without having to request for it.

Cancel the card, re-apply and get 2 yrs free wavier... [laugh][laugh]

I think if you cancel the card, you'll only get the 1 or 2 years free waiver if you reapply for the same card after 6 months.

ABN is good...no annual fee for life but I guess it does not have any discount on petrol.

No annual fee is for ABN switch card not the platinum card. Platinum card has discount on petrol. [:p]

IMO, Thats quite a bunch of money to be spent on a card that does not give much rewards points.

$12k isn't much anyway and I believe most car owners spend more than 1k a month.

Yah...not just HSBC. I had past bad experience with Citibank and Amex. Citibank was my first card since I started work...even used to it pay for my wedding dinner after getting extra credit line, but they refused to waive the annual fee. So cancelled. Amex even worst, after i cancelled, keep sending me late payment bill for the annual fee, until i gave them my best expletives.

Amex is the worst that I have ever enountered. I did not receive the previous month bill and when I received the next month bill, there was a late penalty charge. I was shocked. [jawdrop]

Called them up at mid night as I just came back from overseas and this CSO's attitude was so rude. Act like very high class. Damn angry [furious] but called them the next day. The CSO apologise and told me that CSO was a temp. WTH! Wanted to give me 3000 krisflyer miles as compensation. Told him to keep the miles. (Dun really need miles as I travel so often) Paid and terminated the card immediately. Super Crappy! [furious][furious][furious]

I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card [confused]

Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this.[:/]

Compared to banks like Citibank , it was so easy to get them to wavie it off...

Count me in as well.... I'm another dissatisfied customer. Further after so many years (easily 10 years), there's nothing special about the benefits. By end of this year, I'll get cancel off HSBC, and my ABN Amro.

Very no standard.