Schneider79 Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 CITIBank has the best way of customer retention. The terms and conditions can be discussed with their CSO if not, the supervisor. Anyway, CITIBank automatically sent me a postcard saying that my annual fees are wavied across all boards of my facilities. for them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this. Compared to banks like Citibank , it was so easy to get them to wavie it off... For me, i got a bad experience wif OCBC bank recently. This is my 1st time wif OCBC bank. Previously, they r not like that leh...maybe i've seldom use this card & that's why they cannt waive the annual fee for me. I've recivd the annual fee statement but i've called in to make the waiver but they said that they can't waive it & said that will ask someone to call me back again. So, i've asked to cancel my card. They didnt called me back & send me another new statement again. No Prob leh. I am holding on to OCBC Platinum card (due to shell discount). After Shell dun offer discount to OCBC card, i virtually did not touch this card. Every year they send me annual fees and every year i call them to cancel the card n every year they waive off the fee for me w/o fail leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 The POSB Everyday Platinum card is nt bad... still can redeem dollars to offset whatever things u buy at petrol station. So far so good.... actually quite true. got rebate at Car4 too. and on certain days, get 10% off on top of the 5% rebate. why do some people say it's not worth to use the rebates to redeem off the petrol bill at SPC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Recent encounter with ABN Ambro. Call me n offer me the Switch card. Duno y i agree to apply for this. They send courier down to my workplace to collect my ir8a n ic. After that no news from them for close to a mth until i forgot that i had apply for this card. Suddenly they call me and tell me they cannot process as my ir8a copy did not reflect clearing my reference no. ask me to send them one more copy!!!! Blast the CSO. i send u my ir8a n ic for so long liao then u tell me this. How i know what crap u all done with my ir8a n ic copy. Keep saying sorry. Ok fine i print out my cpf contribution n email them. after that drag on for another few weeks then they call me again tellingme crap abt duno what (forget liao). Then i blast the CSO, bloody hell i send all the neccessary documents to u all donkey years ago n now u keep calling me n saying need this need that. Guess what got my cards close to 2 mth + after i initial submission of documents. n Best of all, send me a few other cards which i dun rem applying for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Yup, Sometime feels like if Dun use itWill waste the 0.3% Rebate at all purchase Yalor...Usually when my redeem amt is more, i will use it to redeem my petrol, carpark coupons & etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 So good that Pump at SPC 5% Rebate Yup...this card is really good!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Citibank is just as bad. I'd cancelled my credit card with them. You should call HSBC and tell them, your phone instruction to cancel the card is good enough.. no time to write love letter. Or just scribble something on your bill and return to them. My annual fee for my Citibank Platinum card is just due & i've called them up for waiver & they just waived for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 ALL banks are the same. They expect you to miss the fine print or a late payment. That's when they can earn the bit more by charging you late charge, admin charge, annual fee, etc. I would use credit cards normally, but keep track and avoid using it during the last month prior to expiry. That way they try to charge me for annual fee, I just said I want to terminate and don't want to pay the fee. Usually, the offer is a waiver. However, do not take 12 months or more hp payment. That's when you are at their mercy and cannot terminate. I have many cards and just rotate them around. I don't care too much about points as I don't use that much anyway. For my case...it is quite similar like urs as well....I aso will tell them to waive my annual fee. If they dun wanna to waive for me, i will just terminate the card. That's nothing to lose aso. It's true that dun take up mthly instalments by taking more den 12mths or more loan. If not, when it comes to the annual fee is due, we cannt do much aso. This is what i've aso practise it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this. Compared to banks like Citibank , it was so easy to get them to wavie it off... For me, i got a bad experience wif OCBC bank recently. This is my 1st time wif OCBC bank. Previously, they r not like that leh...maybe i've seldom use this card & that's why they cannt waive the annual fee for me. I've recivd the annual fee statement but i've called in to make the waiver but they said that they can't waive it & said that will ask someone to call me back again. So, i've asked to cancel my card. They didnt called me back & send me another new statement again. No Prob leh. I am holding on to OCBC Platinum card (due to shell discount). After Shell dun offer discount to OCBC card, i virtually did not touch this card. Every year they send me annual fees and every year i call them to cancel the card n every year they waive off the fee for me w/o fail leh. I aso dunno leh... Last time, I've often use OCBC credit card but after that, I've switched to use Citibank Platinum card now...Maybe I've seldom use OCBC credit card & thats why they dun waive for me lor...Even my OCBC Best Connection credit card, they aso cannt waived for me. So, I just cancelled lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 The POSB Everyday Platinum card is nt bad... still can redeem dollars to offset whatever things u buy at petrol station. So far so good.... actually quite true. got rebate at Car4 too. and on certain days, get 10% off on top of the 5% rebate. why do some people say it's not worth to use the rebates to redeem off the petrol bill at SPC? Is it??? So far, I've heard from others comment that this card is good leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 i also kenna the same story from hsbc every year until one year i told the guy: ai yah we all two no need to wayang lah....just go straight to the charge 3 bills thing that guy both of us know he do work onli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Recent encounter with ABN Ambro. Call me n offer me the Switch card. Duno y i agree to apply for this. They send courier down to my workplace to collect my ir8a n ic. After that no news from them for close to a mth until i forgot that i had apply for this card. Suddenly they call me and tell me they cannot process as my ir8a copy did not reflect clearing my reference no. ask me to send them one more copy!!!! Blast the CSO. i send u my ir8a n ic for so long liao then u tell me this. How i know what crap u all done with my ir8a n ic copy. Keep saying sorry. Ok fine i print out my cpf contribution n email them. after that drag on for another few weeks then they call me again tellingme crap abt duno what (forget liao). Then i blast the CSO, bloody hell i send all the neccessary documents to u all donkey years ago n now u keep calling me n saying need this need that. Guess what got my cards close to 2 mth + after i initial submission of documents. n Best of all, send me a few other cards which i dun rem applying for. What are the good benefits for ABN AMRO Switch card? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 not that the card is no good, but some say it's better that rebates earned from petrol be used at say...car4, rather than the other way round. what's the logic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Missing Neutral Newbie August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this. Compared to banks like Citibank , it was so easy to get them to wavie it off... i also call up hsbc to wavie my annual fee. in the end they told me to do 3 transactions in the next following month then the annual fee will be waive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reuters Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 i have the same experience with AMEX too.. but i got them to waive off during the last expiry.. i juz told them that after much consideration, i decided to cancel the card.. and then they immediately waive off the charges.. i think for these credit cards, just need to be firm with them.. why do we need to pay for their annual fee when we are charging so much to the cards regularly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this. Compared to banks like Citibank , it was so easy to get them to wavie it off... Maybe from their records they see that you got large outstanding and no way to pay off at one go. So you LL have to pay annual fee because cannot can cel card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reuters Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 no choice for him i think.. usually all these conversations are recorded so that they can be used in the case of dispute.. so long we do not make things difficult for them, they should not also make things difficult for us.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 The POSB Everyday Platinum card is nt bad... still can redeem dollars to offset whatever things u buy at petrol station. So far so good.... actually quite true. got rebate at Car4 too. and on certain days, get 10% off on top of the 5% rebate. why do some people say it's not worth to use the rebates to redeem off the petrol bill at SPC? Maybe amount to Small, No worth to redeem ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...