Disappointed with HSBC

Mica_blue

Wow...quite jialat leh...I did had some bad experience wif other banks as well but forgotten which bank liao...

Maybe U called them at the Wrong Time

Some customer services operator r Good

Some r like sh1t [rolleyes]

I do agreed what u've said.

So Far I think DBS is the Best [idea]

The POSB Everyday Platinum card is nt bad... [:)] still can redeem dollars to offset whatever things u buy at petrol station. So far so good.... [thumbsup]

nothing new.... they kindda stuck up...

i got one lagi best incident with them....

i applied for jus the VISA card... guess wat.... they send me all the nonsense cards which i didnt apply.... best of all... i call them... they tell me all the cards 2 year free......

i ask them for fug gimme so many card when the credit limits are all the same under a single account....

then u know wat... the best is the card showing expiry date 2 yr...... but on the 12th mth... they fugging send me the membership renewal charges!!!

i called the call center... they machiam act blur... say its valid 1yr.... muahahaha damn crap... then when i say i wanna cancel all the cards.... they then say will waive the fee... i terminate all the card ... cut them into halve n mail back to them.... damn crap...

so if ppl never ask or query, means need to pay.... no different from cheating... damn crap

Citibank is just as bad. I'd cancelled my credit card with them. You should call HSBC and tell them, your phone instruction to cancel the card is good enough.. no time to write love letter. Or just scribble something on your bill and return to them.

I think your monthly expense using HSBC card is higher than mine and i don't see any reason why they can't waive off your annual fee . The other time I purposely exchange my 5800 + points with some movies tickets and petrol coupon before the credit card expired. When they issue me the annual fee , i emailed HSBC to waive off annual fee and they agreed. Quite straight forward for me .

ALL banks are the same.

They expect you to miss the fine print or a late payment.

That's when they can earn the bit more by charging you late charge, admin charge, annual fee, etc.

I would use credit cards normally, but keep track and avoid using it during the last month prior to expiry.

That way they try to charge me for annual fee, I just said I want to terminate and don't want to pay the fee.

Usually, the offer is a waiver.

However, do not take 12 months or more hp payment. That's when you are at their mercy and cannot terminate.

I have many cards and just rotate them around. I don't care too much about points as I don't use that much anyway.smile.gif

I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card confused.gif

Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this.unsure.gif

Compared to banks like Citibank , it was so easy to get them to wavie it off...

Eh i think u suay leh. Just few days ago i call them up to ask to waive off the annual charge. I asked direct, didnt beat around the bush. They offer me to pay up the annual fee, and i will get those useless vouchers in return worth few hundreds. I say no straight away. Then they action action says "pls wait, let me check if there are other alternatives" then tell me to make 3 transactions in the month of August and my annual fee will be waived.

I decided to pump caltex - $20 for 3 times. laugh.gif

I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card [confused]

Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this.[:/]

Did they change policy? I spent much less than you on this card, but when it is time to renew, I asked them to waive the fee and they do it, without taking any bonus points.

I called HSBC up to wavie my annual fee and instead they wanted me to offset my bonus points instead . I said no bonus points. Then they offer me no alternative , ask me settle outstanding balance and write in to cancel card [confused]

Sad man . I have been their loyal customer , charging about $1k - 2k every month. Disappointed to be treated like this.[:/]

so far, only card i know which die die refuse to waive is Amex. but otherwise their service is good.

didn't know HSBC like that. Citi used to ask u to use their card 3 times to waive. dunno if they still do that.

UOB best, their auto answering service got waive fee option [laugh] now, that's the way!

Yah...not just HSBC. I had past bad experience with Citibank and Amex. Citibank was my first card since I started work...even used to it pay for my wedding dinner after getting extra credit line, but they refused to waive the annual fee. So cancelled. Amex even worst, after i cancelled, keep sending me late payment bill for the annual fee, until i gave them my best expletives.

Same case for me, except the cb bank is Standchart.. i wanted to temp increase the credit line to pay for my wedding, but was refuse.. was given duno what rubbish reason.. so next day, called up and cancelled the card.. once a while still call me back and ask want to apply or not, i told them to put a note beside my name not to call me again!

Since then, no more calls from Standchart.. it is because of these small little customer services/requests that the bank cannot meet, then they will lose the customer forever.