Momentum for snap election soon?

Apollo

The worst time for economy has proven to be a bed of rose for the RP. becos the atypical Kiasi Singapore r so worried abt losing their jobs, they wun bet on a OP member to help them, not when they know the RP is always screwing abt anyway. wat cud the voters do abt it?

the rumor mongering has happened "ruins in 5 years time"...

walkabouts has happened, promises made to a few precincts

now the talkabouts.. disgruntlements.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_263608.html

amidst bad news pouring in abt Charities, Flops fr throwing $$ into fire, etc

heading for snap election would give them enuff time to tie over more horrors to come rather than waiting for more bad news to befall the next election.

Are we in for a snap election? perhaps...

Edited by Apollo

Yes, you are right.

The current mandate is up in June 2011 (i think so)

But calling a snap election is defintely out in 2008 becos the following reasons.

a. Global inflation

Calling for election during a serious inflationary pressure is suicidal. People will surely put the blame on the GOvt and they might be even vote out.

b. Growth

No good growth rates (approx 7%-9%), No election cos positive growth rate will improve election chances.

c. Major projects

Completion of major projects (Casinos) is vital in adding to election chips. May that is why two casinos are ready by 2011.

d. Crisis

Water treaty with Bolehland is ending in 2011.

Crisis is equally important in winning votes too. Do we have any crisis now?

My humble opinions.

Very difficult leh. Today newspaper also indicate that less than 35% of the population got chance to vote due to the forever increasing number of GRC. Sooner or later , group to be one GRC, no chance to vote liao.

Hmmm.....you might be right....

If this economy were to last for 2009 & 2010....many people will be out of job and may be cursing the gov.

Come 2011 erection time, the angst and bad sentiments may just sway many citizens to chose other alternative parties!

The real danger is there for Papa to be worried.

There are a few signs that the incumbent are feeling a bit insecure..possibly aware there are growing discontentment towards their governance of this country..partly also after seeing what happened to BN in Malaysia and feel they might suffer some sort of a similar fate like them in next GE too..I dun think it is a good time (for them) however to call for a snap election anytime within now til 2009.. [sly]

Edited by Damienic

If anyone has noticed, the local's political awareness are growing. The days are forgotten when such 'sensitive' issues are only discussed in SBF. it has spread to online forums of various diversity.

We should remember that during the last erection, they had already implement controls on the www.

Personally, scare tactics will still be very useful in Singapore where many ppl are in debt unlike our neighbour next door.

Just think of it this way.

By looking at how things go at the moment, it would be wise to hold the elections late next year, 2009. Economy is not looking to well this year(investments in Banks, ERP, stagflation and the list goes on)and growth rates are not meeting targets as forecasted. So next year would ideal when IR opens where there is a case of increased employment, blah, blah, blah... see my point.

Well, Hopefully, Singaporeans will know who to vote. Well if all fails, redraw boundaries loh. [nod]

Remember dun talk, actions count.

Very difficult leh. Today newspaper also indicate that less than 35% of the population got chance to vote due to the forever increasing number of GRC. Sooner or later , group to be one GRC, no chance to vote liao.

My sentiments exactly. [nod][nod][nod]

If elections do come our way, I hope I will get to vote. The constituency I live in (Marine Parade GRC) has been a walk-over for donkey years liao. [shakehead]

same here...i am in that WKS const. i think a lot of residents in bishan would like to vote too.

looking at the Marina IR now, i think 2009 (even end-2009) is a bit ambitious to complete. hearing sub-contractors are not paid on time by main contrators...