Car Insurance nowadays... tsk tsk tsk...

Liquidh

Just renewed today. Received the following quotes from AXA $1.1K, Allianz $753, NTUC $773, NipponKoa $1150, India $730(include NCD protector), TM Asia $1.1K, AIG $900, LonPac $750, HSBC $950

1. Premium amount > $750 (include 50% NCD protector)

2. NCD discount (0-50%) > 50%+ 5% OFD

3. Age > 35yo

4. Car > Lancer EX (1st batch Ex on the road)

5. Insurer (AIG, NTUC, AXA, etc) > MSIG(DBS Esso MC Driveshield promo till Sep '08)

6. Type (Comprehensive, 3rd party, etc) > Comprehensive $500 Excess

Finally, decided on MSIG DBS EssoMC/Driveshield tie-up as I was given $100 Esso Petrol Voucher and $300 Sonax Car Grooming package. Furthermore, no increase in premium with all the freebies thrown in and premium can be charged to DBS card 12 months 0% instalment. Think this should be the best deal, glad I did my homework!

Like to check with insurance gurus here. I'll be renewing my road tax/insurance as it is expiring today for my 1 yr old car. Managed to get a few quotes from a few co. Lonpac which used to be the cheapest has increase their minimum premium from around $500 to $750 b4 GST now since 1st July, this means those who had locked in the old premium on 30th June were paying the $535 rate quote which is valid for a month.

But with premium going up, I managed to get a competitive quote of $730 with 50% NCD+protector. I was thinking whether should I save on the option "Insuring COE/PARF" saving another 5% premium. The difference being:-

If one insured COE/PARF and if the car is totaled, the insurance co. will issue a final cheque to the insured. Whereas if one does not insured the PARF/COE, insurance co will issue a cheque minus the PARF/COE residual rebate, and the owner has to go LTA to do the necessary admin paperwork to claim back the residual value. Previously PARF/COE rebate need to be traded to the car dealers for some % off, but with LTA going to rebate the PARF/COE in cash from 1st Sep onwards, is it necessary to insure PARF/COE? Will you guys continue to insure the PARF/COE to save on the potential administration overhead?

Edited by Amazon777

1. Premium amount : $1113

2. NCD discount (20%)

3. Age :32yrs

4. Car : maz 2 sp

5. Insurer : Mitsui Sumitomo -

excess $550

6) Type : Comprehensive

7. Includes solar film and wind screen cover (unlimited)

wah zun bo? AXA?

Mine w/o was 1.6k, top another 20% becos less than 1 yr license. Excess was $400.

2nd yr got 10% NCD but still quote me $1.7xk for "renewal" and excess shoot up to $700. [sweatdrop]

fren... mine is 3rd party fire n theft....

urs is comprehensive... how to compare.....

futhermore ur license so new....

if u ask me, mine is considered ex liao.....

1. Premium amount : ~S$800 inclusive of NCD protectn

2. NCD discount (0-50%) : 50% + 5% COM

3. Age : 31

4. Car : lancer 06

5. Insurer (AIG, NTUC, AXA, etc) : LonPac

6. Type (Comprehensive, 3rd party, etc) : Comprehensive

1. Premium amount : ~S$800 inclusive of NCD protection(Renew April '08)

2. NCD discount (0-50%) : 50% + 5% COM

3. Age : 36

4. Car : KIA RIO '06

5. Insurer (AIG, NTUC, AXA, etc) : NTUC

6. Type (Comprehensive, 3rd party, etc) : Comprehensive w no excess

Think you can expect 600 - 700... for the same plan.

Wah, you damn chun...my car insurance is $660,up from $480 last year. KNN, limpeh clean clean record 50+5% yet kena increase in premium. Toolan man.

1. Premium amount: $185.00

2. NCD discount: 50% + 5%

3. Age: 34

4. Car: Toyota Starlet (1987)

5. Insurer: NTUC

6. Type: 3rd party, Fire & Theft, NCD Protect

1. Premium amount: $1140.00

2. NCD discount: 50% + 5%

3. Age: 34

4. Car: Honda Integra Type R

5. Insurer: India International Insurance

6. Type: Comprehensive with NCD Protect