What is the average lifespan of an AC unit?

Garlic

Room's blower unit just kapoot after 9 yrs. [sweatdrop]

Compressor is running but blower unit is not, was told circuit board and motor has decided to call it quits, it was rattling badly prior to that.

As its an EOL unit, replacement is not available and I will have to purchase a new set. [dead][shakehead]

Appreciate it if the bros & sis here could recommend some brands, is it true that new piping is required for models with a four tick energy efficient rating?

Sleeping with mosquito coil and fan tonight, inner tights will definitely be wet and sticky. [:|]

Thanks. [:)]

Edited by Garlic

4 ticks r usually the inverter type

9 yrs depends on actual usage lor. as reliability is calculated based on operating hours. if heavy use, say 12 hours a day, possiblu 9 or shorter.

but like my case, 1 yr on 2 or 3 times, 30 yrs also no issue.

for purchase, stick to daikin becos of aftersales services. i cannot vouch for other brands as they may not deliver tat type of service.

and yes, The III gen inverter system uses R410a gases (exp now but chirper in future), this require change of aircon pipes only.

Edited by Apollo

1. Talking about air-con. I bought a resales flat that has this General brand of air-con, which the owner has used it for the past 10 years and still running well.

2. I'm contemplating to change it because:

a) Not sure whether maintenance and parts are readily available for this brand?

b) 10 years old air-con may not be energy efficient.

3. I was told invertor air-con doesn't save you money if you don't have the habit of switching on all air-cons at one go. If you're a light user, non-invertor should do the job.

4. I'm considering Mitsubishi starmex.

Regards,

not true.

all multi spilt r abt the same, using 2 compressors to control loading. if 3 or 4 indoor units, 1 compressor will run if up to 2 indoor units is switched on. and if 3 or 4 indoor units is switched on, then both compressors will switch on.

difference with inverter is that inverter has variable speed drive whilst multisplit hv single speed (one stage) drive. tat means... hw... inverter is like CVT engine.

so if 1 indoor unit is used, the inverter control the compressor to say 70% speed for 1 compressor, and if 3 indoor units used, then control up to 100% 1 compressor and mebbe 70% next compressor.

cost saving = 30% load

but the main killer of electric bills is not inverter or multispilt

it is the cooling load.. aka deltaT. tat means if u set indoor temp very low and yet outdoor temp is say 34degC, the compressors will work double hard to bring down the room temp. esp during the day.

simple ANALogy

increase diff of temp inside + outside = deltaT

high deltaT = more cooling load = high current needed = pay more

so in daytime cooling, try to have heavy curtains to cut out the sun so u reduce the amt of losses to heat.

1. I see. So if I'm those kind that only set lowest to 25 degC, I should be considering an Invertor unit.

2. Noticed that HDB can't install more than 1 compressor unit, so which inverter model should I be looking at?

Thank you.

Regards,

no lah... compressor is beri small inside the outdoor unit got 2 compressors.

all inverter units abt the same warrant parts 5 years (labor is chargeable), daikin jippun brand, compressor made in thailand. only fujitsu brand uses a different approach. the non invertor one has 3 compressor (3 stage) so basically gear up 1, up 1+2, 1+3, or 2+3, or 1+2+3

but end of day is after sales service. tat's why diakin die die also top list becos support/ spareparts is very strong one.

other brand i say, u look ard for feedback on after sales service lor.

---

for energy saving is really subjective. if 1 room is switch on more often and the other rooms not needed, then just lup one window mounted unit for tat room and total energy will still b lower.

Edited by Apollo

Pardon my ignorance, If I want to cool the hall, the 3 rooms and a small maid room. There will be an inverter model out there with one standing unit that is capable of cooling these rooms right? I'm under the impression that HDB doesn't allow you to install more than one compressor (only one unit is allowed).

Thank you.

Regards,

yes, this is correct.

in layman's term, supposedly invertor uses less electricity when they regulate the speed of the compressor, without turning it off whereas NI will start/stop the compressor and this start/stop process waste energy.

however the saving is not very big. for eg, it save 5cents/hr but your aircon cost $700 more. it would take more than 700/0.05 = 14000 hrs (~583 days 24/7) of usage to breakeven, not including maintenance. so if you occasionally use aircon and only night time, you wont see very much saving.

comparing 5% of $100 = $5 and 5% of $500 = $25, the more you use the bigger saving you see in term of value.

3. I was told invertor air-con doesn't save you money if you don't have the habit of switching on all air-cons at one go. If you're a light user, non-invertor should do the job.

4. I'm considering Mitsubishi starmex.

Regards,

aidoh...how to say arh

2 compressors r inside 1 box called outdoor condensing unit just like ur body inside got 2 kidney

okok

GPGT

Copeland-Scroll-Air-Cooled-Condensing-Units.jpg

see.. 1 bigger black cylinder (recieving tank), 2 balck ones (compressor on right), middle blue (filter), small blue (not sure, balancing tank??)

u got too many rooms to cool.

only way is add a splitter. so at any time, cool 3 or 4 units only.

maid room must also aircon?

Edited by Apollo

I am also thinking of changing my AC. Been using for past 7 years. So far been coping with regular servicing/chemical washing...but once a while encounter leaking FCU.

From what i gathered from those AC technicians, heavy users shouldn't go for those inverter types cos of higher breakdown risk. When i probed further, this is what i got: " Normal type of compressor stops when temp setting is reached but inverter type just keeps on running all the time, just faster or slower according to temp."

Also recommended me to change out all brass/copper tubings if replacing new compressor, but mine are behind built-in furniture...really headache. [sweatdrop]

Same here. The previous-owner of my flat also concealed all air-con pipings within the false ceiling. So if tubings have to be changed, it will be both a messy and costly (much longer to breakeven) affair.

It looks like non-inverter is the only way to go for me. Not really a bad thing, save some initial purchase cost somemore.

Regards,

aidoh...how to say arh

2 compressors r inside 1 box called outdoor condensing unit just like ur body inside got 2 kidney

I know. What I'm trying to say is, HDB only allows you to install one of these and you can't have 2 units of the one shown in your picture [:/].

u got too many rooms to cool.

only way is add a splitter. so at any time, cool 3 or 4 units only.

maid room must also aircon?

The maid room can be converted to a study room if she is no longer with us. So there isn't a compressor unit that can cool 5 rooms together lor.

Thanks.

Regards,

Yalor, no HDB approved one. Wonder if this is because of power issue? Perhaps, worse case is to go for 4 rooms ( 1 Hall and 3 rooms) unit. This one I suppose have one for HDB right?

Thank you.

Regards,

my carrier window casement unit only last me 4yrs.... i use less than 10 time a year... the fan up lorrie... the service guy told me that if aircon unit doesnt switch on frequently, parts failure is more frequently compare to a frequently use aircon.. knn... wat kind of theory.. [hur][hur][hur]

Alternatively, can get a portable air-con for the hall but need to drill a round hole at the window, quite unsightly too.

Regards,

There are multi-split 5 units out there for the cooling of 5 rooms, but the thing is, the more rooms you need to cool, the lower the BTU for each blower unit. As for the mounting of a secondary outdoor condenser unit, I've seen friends mounting one in the bathroom right behind the ventilation window, with a duct to push the hot air out the window. Not a very nice sight, but works nonetheless. Only thing is, can't let HDB know.

i m using the samsung brand of aircon. cost me 1.5k some 5yrs ago, system 3.

own it for 5yrs but only use it every night 3yrs ago. 3mnths ago one of the that was most heavily utilise blower kaput. not very reliable i think.