Singer Neutral Newbie July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 July 24, 2008 Singapore Power to upgrade billing system with new software By Tessa Wong CUSTOMERS of Singapore Power (SP) will have limited service options in the first week of August when the utility company upgrades its billing system's software. This will be SP's first major software upgrading exercise since 2000 but the company says it has nothing to do with a recent spike in cases of increased bills. Customers will still be able to make payments and enquiries during the week, but the following services will be suspended: -Opening or closing of accounts -Setting up or terminating Giro payments -Arranging for instalment payment plans -Fixing of meter-testing appointments -Setting up refunds or payment transfer arrangements -Switching on of power supply, though exceptions will be made for emergencies. SP Services managing director Wong Chit Sieng said the company has carried out 11 months of 'rigorous testing' and two rounds of dry runs for the data migration. 'The new system will enable us to process transactions more efficiently and make future enhancements to serve customers better', he said. The change will not affect the way customers are being billed. SP Services said the recent spike in complaints about increased electricity bills is unrelated to the software upgrade. SP Services' customer service centre and hotline operation hours will be extended a week before and a week after the upgrading. From July 28 till Aug 1, and from Aug 11 to 15, it will be open to 8 pm. For the two Saturdays, Aug 2 and Aug 16, it will be open till 5 pm. The hotline will not operate on Aug 9, which is a public holiday. SP's centre at Somerset Road will be open till 8 pm from Aug 11 to 15, and till 3 pm on Aug 2 and 16. The full range of customer services will resume on Aug 11, and the upgraded system will go 'live' on Aug 9. http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...ory_260879.html If not mistaken, the last time they had this exercise few years back, they got entangled in legal suit with their service provider. [/color] Similarly, thousands of customers recieved wrong, bloated and over-charged bills... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 There was an article in ST 2 days ago. They received a record number of complaints in June, many were shocked to a 60% to 110% increase in their utility bills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hutan 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 NB, no wonder my bill up by 25%.. me to them also LPPL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 juz to check how does the bill work?izit true that they take a 3 months avg?or they update every month?tks 4 the noob question. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 as with any other system upgrade or so call enhancement... sure got problems one. you simply whack your electricity jialat jialat during this 'golden' period e.g., on air con whole day, on your TV whole day, on heater for extended showers etc. Then show them that they made a mistake in their billing by showing your past lower bills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marquee Clutched July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 wah lau...like tat oso can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shir Neutral Newbie July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 (edited) *edited* Edited July 24, 2008 by Shir Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 basket...my bill 2 mths back shot up to 200+ when i barely use 150 every month.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 one thing, wouldn't the ouside meter be able to tell? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Just what makes you think there is likely to be hickups? Actually Singtel and so many other service providers does these type of system migrations so often, its seemless. Not sure why Sp is even tell people this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Quote as with any other system upgrade or so call enhancement... sure got problems one. you simply whack your electricity jialat jialat during this 'golden' period e.g., on air con whole day, on your TV whole day, on heater for extended showers etc. Then show them that they made a mistake in their billing by showing your past lower bills. Yeah you can do this but if the meter reading tallies, then you wud end up paying more money. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 This month bill supposed to have $100 rebate. I charged my bill to credit card, and they did not give me the $100 rebate. Called them up, and they told me will deduct on the next month. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...