Petrol thefts

Ccssgm

Petrol thefts up by 50% in first six months

Petrol thefts from motorcycles and vehicles have shot up by 50 per cent in the first six months of this year.

Between January and June, 41 such thefts were reported - 37 from motorcycles and four from cars. They occurred mainly in Woodlands, Jurong West and Bukit Panjang estates, in both open and covered car parks.

For the whole last year, there were 27 cases, eight of which had been solved.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng, who gave these figures in a written reply to a question from an MP in Parliament on Monday, said the number of petrol thefts so far is very small, considering there are about 145,000 motorcycles and scooters and about 725,000 cars and other vehicles in Singapore.

He urged owners to take responsibility to ensure that their vehicles are properly secured.

On preventive measures, he said the police have alerted residents and vehicle owners in the affected areas through the local grassroots and worked with relevant agencies and grassroots organisations.

In addition, the police have collaborated with Town Councils since June 2006 to equip public car parks with mobile CCTV cameras.

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

holly backside!! At my estate too mad.gif ?

Better don't mess with my car else I wear tear who ever's backside when I caught him.

Time to pump 1/4 each time liao... unsure.gif no point pump full tank then kena stolen + repair bills

In addition, the police have collaborated with Town Councils since June 2006 to equip public car parks with mobile CCTV cameras

In relation to the 14 vehicles gutted in Woodlands weeks ago, how come that MSCP dont have CCTV.

Polis and TC exercise pick and choose ah? Any bros knoe which MSCP equipped with CCTV?

not sure car petrol how to steal,

but i think most cases are motorbikes, as bikes very easy to steal petrol, just pluck/ cut the fuel line and all the petrol will flow down from the tank.. [sweatdrop]

For cars, i believe they will forcefully open the fuel lid cover and take something like those manual 'Aquarium Water Pump' to suck out the petrol [:|]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

IIRC, cars like the Honda Jazz external fuel cover is not even locked. Anyone can just open it and unscrew the fuel cap.

hmmm ... economy doing that well hor ... SUV theft, petrol theft ..... looks like desperado case man ... sweatdrop.gif

still paint rosy picture ....

I dun tink its dat easy..

long time ago, i rented a car but when its time to return it, i realised i pumped too much..at least 20 litres.wanted to transfer to my frd's car so I bought those pump,big type..realise cannot pump....cant reach. [:p]

He urged owners to take responsibility to ensure that their vehicles are properly secured.

Secured with wat? Lock pad like Mr Bean? Talk is cheep,thief can just pry open la [hur]

Surprisingly,can see cctv install at void deck,dunno for wat,catch ppl pang sai at void deck or MSK look alike hur.gif

So far none at mscp.I guess if kpkb later they increase the parking charges

For cars, i believe they will forcefully open the fuel lid cover and take something like those manual 'Aquarium Water Pump' to suck out the petrol unimpressed.gif

Do you know,there's a fuel tank plug? My fren say there is,so far have not seen such