Change car every 3 year? Think again !

Ahyoo2002

Nothing wrong with making Buffett rich, you know? Just that you look like a poor fool to him. laugh.gif

Those who cannot wake up to being prudent can continue making the prudent rich.

Now or later is up to you.

A poor fool doesn't mean unhappy right? A person must practise until earn like Buffett then he will be happy? The important is life balancing. What is the point when my bank has a lot of zeros but eventually I can't bring it to the coffin?

Poor fool that is happy? We are not talking about contented poor fools living up in the Andes who earn their keep and happy with what they keep. We are talking about real fools who can't keep their money. laugh.gif

Stay in context.

Yes, we're talking about real fools who cant keep their money.

Using Buffett as an example is also out of context.

how many buffetts are there in this world?

how many are as rich as he is?

When you are that rich, the car doesnt matter anymore, you see.

he can have a 100 of the most expensive cars in the world if he wants to.

It wont make a diff to him.

Just like how a $100 dinner wont matter to most of us but a world to someone who earns $100 in a month.

Anyway if you are just a normal guy and can truly afford the luxury of changing cars every once in a while and enjoys a refreshing new driving experience.

Why not?

who here wouldnt, please raise his hand.

[flowerface]

Those rich people owning luxury cars? Yes they are but they can never reach the levels that Buffett achieves and it doesn't last.

also, there is absolutely no need whatever to reach the level that Buffett acheives lah..

Technically...it should be less than 9K/yr

You did not factor in the PARF that u will get back at the end of 10yrs.

Some pple can accept 10K dep a year....some find it hard.

for me...as long as you are happy with your ride...dun care. Pay liao must be happy can liao....regardless of what others think.

obviously financial gains is one of the reasons for not changing car. but in the end, its a win win situation. they change, the next buyer benefits from the depreciation. many cars in SG are underused. as someone pointed out, a honda did clock more than 200k miles for goodness sake and its still moving. i look at those coe bmws all selling for ard 50k and still good condition. u prb sat aside 10k for maintenance and its still a huge chunk of savings. imo, i hope ppl keep changing cars.

Well, he can be kept in context. No doubt not many can achieve his millions but he has one thing settled. He has made peace with his desires. Not to a monk-like level. He has decided it is enough. It is through this that his riches reflect. He has kept a lot of what he earns and gives away a lot of what he earns.

The act of buying a car every 3yrs reveals deeper issues. Issues nobody likes to face.

Speedsun said balance. Don't believe for a moment balance is the key. The demons of marketing want you to achieve "balance". You can't achieve balance when you have not settled certain internal issues.

Well, you might think this is not in context. Well, the thread did read "think again".

So this is directed to everyone. Think. It is not just buying a new car every 3yrs.

You hope people keep changing cars? Car salesman? laugh.gif Workshop owner?

Workshop mechanic is usually the smartest guy around. Turning wrenches is not exactly easy work. Most of the mechanics I've seen drive beat up COE cars.

thats what i'm saying dude, when you are as rich he is, you better make peace with your desires whichever way you carry it out. Hoho.

btw, i know you are talking about inner contentment.

being satisfied and contented with things and all that zen stuff etc... etc.. [;)]

anyway changing a car every now and then doesnt necessarily mean discontentment.

It means short span of attention, for me at least ...hahah

Its a cycle. Remember tat time 1998 before the financial crisis, cars quite a lot, after that, it clear off a portion of the car on the road and the cycle start again. If a serious recession come, u will see our road and CP a bit empty again.

Changing cars frequently, who is the benefiter? I think most probably is our gament(COE) and car dealers (Profit), so sometimes such kind of concept could be created by someone and spread out until it become a truth, pity part is lots of spreans don't think deeply enough but just follow others. Like choosing a food in coffee shop, not becos the food is good but the quene is long

eh...dun think so leh...during 99, COE was still more than $40k for Cat A if I am not wrong. I rem as my Sunny was $94k then.

I dun think the number of car will go down even SG would run into recession. Afterall, the car will only get cheaper and there will always a group of ppl who buy them.

Edited by Marquee