Chisiang 2nd Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Purely my observation... Taxi drivers still FLOORING their vehicles only to stop at the next traffic light then floor again to reach the other traffic light.... likes to keep engine idle in car park while taking a nap or go toilet A lot of private tour bus also likes to idle their buses for long hours. Just yesterday, at my parking lot, there's two lorry drivers taking nap with their engine running At my place, taxi uncles like to park at the car park and use the CC toilet and left their engine running in excess of 30 minutes. All these are $$$ wasted ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Passengers will complain that taxi not cold enough if they off the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear July 16, 2008 Author Share July 16, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Diesel affect Taxi??? No...especially for those that convert to CNG.... also think if they fill the diesel at "HQ" the rates are even lower.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Hey 30 minutes! Could be somebody booked the taxi and asked the taxi uncle to awol for 30minutes? You know, cannot afford hotel81 and something thrilling. Did you investigate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 we are car owners... phew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Purely my observation... Taxi drivers still FLOORING their vehicles only to stop at the next traffic light then floor again to reach the other traffic light.... likes to keep engine idle in car park while taking a nap or go toilet A lot of private tour bus also likes to idle their buses for long hours. Just yesterday, at my parking lot, there's two lorry drivers taking nap with their engine running At my place, taxi uncles like to park at the car park and use the CC toilet and left their engine running in excess of 30 minutes. All these are $$$ wasted Why bother to complain on such ppl...when you are dealing with ppl of lesser means and character, you have to give a wider tolerance to their behaviour...that is if.. THEIR BEHAVIOUR don't directly affect me in MY backyard! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 I think if they drive gently, they won't save much in fuel per day. Not much for most of them to worry lah! I alwasy thought that diesel engine fuel comsumption is mainly dictated by the RPM of the engine. Each combustion cycle consumes the more or less the same amt of fuel. Squirting more diesel per cycle will not give you more power or acceleration. Unlike petrol engine, where the fuel consumption per combustion cycle varies much more when the throttle is open wider. Correct me if I am wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 U have started a senstive topic. I was saying the same thing in another thread and a bugger came to defend taxi drivers all the way. U wait ok? Wait for this guy Beehive3783 to reply you. He has a reason for everything that the taxi drivers do. Be it flooring the accelerator, leaving the engine running while lim kopi or sleeping, etc. Maybe he's one or his family member is? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 (edited) ask SK_2, he is in this forum too...... and he nearly ran over me while I was crossing the street last week..... blardy Sam... Edited July 16, 2008 by KapitanE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bilingual Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 I will definitely drive in gently when you open your throttle wide Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 Supercharged July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Purely my observation... Taxi drivers still FLOORING their vehicles only to stop at the next traffic light then floor again to reach the other traffic light.... likes to keep engine idle in car park while taking a nap or go toilet A lot of private tour bus also likes to idle their buses for long hours. Just yesterday, at my parking lot, there's two lorry drivers taking nap with their engine running At my place, taxi uncles like to park at the car park and use the CC toilet and left their engine running in excess of 30 minutes. All these are $$$ wasted With regards to your statement that alot of taxi drivers are flooring their vehicles, i think u may have misunderstood their actions, well at least for those driving those turbo diesel taxi. If u look at the spec of say, a 2l CRDI sonata, u will see that their max torque is available from 1.8k to 2.5k (from my memory) and given their century sprint is ard 9+sec (again from my memory), the vehicle is inherently fast even just by normal driving though for u ppls who have not driven a turbo diesel before, it would seems like they r flooring their throttles. I use to drive my former company truck, a new isuzu 3l turbo diesel, and the truck is inherently damn fast even with normal driving due to its big fat early torque curve. I guess alot of petrol car owners are really ignorant of the characteristics of modern turbo diesel engines and hence always assume that they r flooring their vehicles when they see them head off first when the lights turn green. My POV is that they are inherently faster than the normal sedan cars in everyday stationary traffic pickup condition. As with regards to your other observations, let just say every trades have it qualms and perks. U should view things in a larger picture. DC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altum Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Purely my observation... Taxi drivers still FLOORING their vehicles only to stop at the next traffic light then floor again to reach the other traffic light.... likes to keep engine idle in car park while taking a nap or go toilet A lot of private tour bus also likes to idle their buses for long hours. Just yesterday, at my parking lot, there's two lorry drivers taking nap with their engine running At my place, taxi uncles like to park at the car park and use the CC toilet and left their engine running in excess of 30 minutes. All these are $$$ wasted Taxi fare is calculated by distance travelled plus waiting time, so any business man will rush to the next traffic light to get paid for waiting as well. It simply makes more money, honestly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ethene 1st Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Just now the cab uncle told me from tmr onwards (170708) there will be a 30 cent in crease in starting fare to help taxi drivers cope with the increase diesel price. IS THAT FKING TRUE ?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 U have yet to drive diesel b4? Right? Cos diesel engine compression very high eg. 23:1 hence the combustion is more violent and loud dan of petrol engines. The max. torque comes at low revs. That's why acceleration off from start is a piece of cake. At 2500~3000rpm it'll sound as though cab drivers are flooring the accelerator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Yes, I strongly agreed on you about the strong torque at low rpm for turbo diesel engine. Having driven the Golf 2.0 TDI with 6 speed manual many times in Germany, just step on the accelerator and change gear between 2.5k - 3k rpm, you will always be push back to the seat like you are doing 4-5k rpm for petrol engine.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 U mean u dun know yet? It's in the papers. They called it 'Fuel Surcharge'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 times are bad.....i change gear at 1 to 1.5k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...