Leather shoes: Any recommendation?

Thermodynamics

No one recommend SAF No.3 shoes?

Actually quite comfortable and durable.

Most importantly, it's free using credits.

[;)]

yup.. i'm wearing the SAF no. 3 shoes.... bought it 4 years ago and it's still good. Mind you i'm using it 5 days a week for work and the heels are barely worn out. [thumbsup]

However, the new batch is not nice leh. Got this layer of gloss/shine which makes it look very cheapskate

Zegna is pretty nice not classy but modern looking.

This is base on just look, see , touch and feel, never owned a pair

Bally sucks big time in durability although their designs are very stylish.

Even the welted and stitched ones split quite willingly (both pairs i own did!)

Bruno Magli is also good, durable with a lot of class.

Still wearing until today.

Bata Ambassador series is pretty well made and value for money.

For business trip thrash around at $150 a pair is not bad at all.

Alessandro is alright with fairly nice styles below $300

life span for daily wearing is about 2 yrs.

Ciro Schiano for Tangs is another good buy for less than $300.

Very well made, italian hand crafted shoes.

During sale can be less than $200 even.

My favourite remains Salvatore Ferragamo as the designs are stylish and classy plus very durable. 2 weeks ago just bought another pair. but this time is suede sports sneakers cant complain.

hahahahaha. this shoe joke very common among canto-engrish speakers. [:p]

i got one ex-colleague (non canto) keep asking us why must be mother's old shoes. cant be father's old shoes meh ? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

me long time no go eden liao. [rolleyes][rolleyes] you like cantopop huh, should go KL lah. [sly]

How come not "throw your mother's smelly shoes?" [laugh][laugh]

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

i'll settle for hush puppies or pedro... its probably at most 25% the price of a bally...

more cost effective.. [laugh]

Bro... Pedro and hush puppies are less than 25% of Ballys....

Average good looking shoe I saw was $600-1000 before discount.

GSS got up to 60% discount.

I think if anyone wants to buy branded shoe, can try online.

US shoe sites are way cheaper than what our local boutique is selling.

Somemore USD is in the ok level now...

Though they are in the above SGD300 range, the various labels carried by Tangs, I find them to be good stuff. Some of them are specialist shoe maker. Some mink oil every few months goes a long, long way. Some of mine have been around for more than 5 years. Still looking good and in shape and I used to wear them every 2 to 3 days for years. These are the formal and casual wear.

Used to own a pair of Timberland, oiled them every few months, walked in them, even wore them to the beach with sea water many times, etc. they last till you wish they wear out so you have an excuse to buy a new pair. But I my guess is that it was then made in UK.

I think they are no cheap good shoes, if you want it to look classy or cool, comfy, reliable and last at least a year or two.

Good pair of shoe is worth investing, unless youi're looking for something to keep for a year or so and to buy the next pair [thumbsup]

used to have dr Martens shoes donkey years back ..now don't wear it anymore.That was trend during Kids era.laugh.giflaugh.gif

i m on my 3rd pair of obermann. made in germany. $200+ a pair, but each pair last me 3years at least.

timberland also good.

I guess you are referring to Obermain?

Where did you buy those German-made ones?

I bought two pairs of Obermain shoes in Sogo, KL last December at its year-end sale and mine, I am sure, were made locally. Though that was the case, I find the shoes comfortable and I like the soft leather used for the shoes.

i bought mine Obermain sandal for a yr plus from OG orchard, still lasting, leather is soft and design is unique, 2 different color tone, black and light brown mix togehter. but wait sale buy it cheaper. all department store in spore do carry obermain shoes but very limited range, most carry the new design.

Bringing this thread back up.

Want to see really very nicely made shoes? See this website.

Names I have never heard of but the pics will cause you to drool.

A lot of nice shoes.

http://centipede.web.fc2.com

Just went to repair my shoe heels again. Will be looking to replace my two pairs when the time comes.

Went to Whampoa Market area but didn't go to Tat Lee for the repair. There is this other shop that did my pair and he has many hand-stitched leather sandals and shoes. Tried his MIG Centipede shoes. Leather so soft, no need to break-in. $89 a pair. Got strange brands called Northwest and another one called Scorpion which are hand-made Italian. Northwest got sandals that are all hand-stitched and their soles can be repaired like leather shoes. They look ah pek but real leather.

King's safety boots are the best of the best.... [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup] ,

Whether in crowded MRT, buses, wet surface, oily surface, 18 inches deep of water, able to crack doors with some kicks, protect your toes and can use it as a weapon....

100 times better the PCK yellow boots.........

kings wear 3 year plus...not even a slight tear etc...executive type one not bad looking also..best is 20kg plus thing hit on my shoe,bo taiji nvm..the leather is super durable..somemore m job is those require walk alot kind..still working good..sometimes bo liao..use and keep the rackings... [laugh]

Kings safety boots ...cheap and good ! have been wearing safety boots since i started working 24 yrs ago and have been wearing only safety boots since then. Ever bought a pair of Clarks $180 .... but it lasted me less than 1 week !! maybe my weight of 80kgs then was an issue, caused the sole to give way.

my first pair of "safety boots" was not steel toe, but cardboard toe.... lasted me almost 5 years and it cost me $20 only....."Yong King" ...either MIC or MIT.