Limhm Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Dr Martens quality really sucks n it's price is so ex...My hb's 1st pair of Dr Marten can last for 6 years...Now it can even last for more than a year...It says anti slip, anti acid, anti-wateever.....true for e 1st pair many years ago...Now Dr Martens shoes are so slippery n it's leather cracked so easily... So I suggest to hb to buy cheap ones abt $40 a pair, use for 1 year, can throw liao...No nid buy $200 ones cos 1yr later still hav to throw. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shern25 2nd Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 The best shoe brand is still Bata. All my shoes I bought from this brand one. Simply because it stands for "Buy And Throw Away" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennylwp Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 (edited) Edited July 16, 2008 by Kennylwp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 I believe u wld wan to get wives from BATA too...Buy And Throw Away...u cld enjoy as many shoes as possible n oso to it's fullest...when they get old, u can jus throw it away. Life is short n u shd enjoy as many as u can...basically shoes cant choose it's owner...Once u dump a pair of shoes, it's jus a pair of rubbish... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siyexcalibur Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 BATA makes decent shoes for decent prices, but their rubber soles not so lasting, after a year tends to have holes in the sole and it enters water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siyexcalibur Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Shoes are different from wives. The more you wear the shoes, the more the shoe molds to your feet and the softer the leather gets. After six months of wear, the shoe becomes fully broken in, after three years of wearing, it becomes super comfy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 One more brand which I had being buying for the past 15 years... ..........WEINBRENNER....... Huh? This brand got leather shoes one meh? I thought only got hiking shoes and sandals? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 ya lor I totally agree with you. But the problem is when I find a shoe super nice, I wear it until the rubber sole is gone. But everytime when I replace the rubber sole (using stitching) the good feeling is totally gone. The whole shoe becomes crooked or something. I tried a few times by different cobbler. Always same. Now I learnt a lesson. Shoes cannot be renewed. Thats why the cantonese got a famous saying: Throw your mother's old shoes. The meaning is: Once the shoe is old, don't use it. just throw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianlim13 2nd Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Buy And Throw Away Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 I recently bought a pair of Hush Puppies black leather shoes and realized that it is not really good. Regretted the purchase. Any bro here can recommend a good pair of leather shoes? I bought Hush Puppies 1 year + ago and now still wearing it. Comfortable. I bought the one with the air pocket at the inner sole. Beside the wear and tear at the heel, all is fine. I love it man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 I saw the Bata shoes. Quite economical but I don't dare to buy coz many of them are PU leather...not sure if they are lasting. PU Leather sofa is good lah....but don't know if shoes is ok or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Oh they got high end leather shoes? Last time I use to find all PU leather leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beavc Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 How about Rockport? My last pair last so long that i got bored of the design (3yrs + of daily wear) they have this torsion sole that is very comfortable esp if you are *ahem like me* on the heavy side... not very ex also...and there is a shop at Great world City... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siyexcalibur Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 I know what you mean. If you replaced the rubber sole wrongly, this is the problem. The new rubber sole and the original rubber sole are of different shapes. The problem can only be avoided if the cobbler use a larger one and cut it down to exactly the same shape as the original sole. Process is better done by shoemakers not cobblers. The alternative is to use Leather soles with sole protectors, change the sole protectors and heel pads when they are worn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 BATA makes decent shoes for decent prices, but their rubber soles not so lasting, after a year tends to have holes in the sole and it enters water. btw, i notice almost everyone's shoe soles are worn out at the rear (rear right for right shoe, rear left for left shoe)... seems like most pple have slightly bowed legs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 Normally those with replaceable heels....aren't they made of wood? I don't like the empty sound when walking....I like rubber heels coz when you walk, it gives a solid sound..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 I don't know of any shoemakers except for timberland. Their labour cost...maybe is higher than the original cost of my shoe leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siyexcalibur Neutral Newbie July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 The with replaceable heel pads, the best ones are form from many layers of hard leather, the next level are those made from solid wood, the cheap ones are made from compressed cardboard (or synthetic wood) which is noisest. Leather sole shoes are normally noisier than rubber sole shoes (stealth shoes) especially when outermost of the heel is part leather and no sole protectors are used. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...