Stevegring Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 yes i am ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From my experience, I would say that it will be a discharge from service. I had one subordinate (S*F), who commited the same offence. Wrote a good character reference for him. In the end, it still could not help him. My advice for you is, try to be thrifty in your spending and save up as much as you can. What's done is done. Learn from the mistake and be a better person next time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Testa_ross4 Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 (edited) Bro.....you are not in deep trouble lah. Relax, it is not the end of the world yet. You do not have terminal cancer (thank God!) and you have a wonderful whole life ahead of you. Sacked? Get another job Lost $10-15K? earn it back, there are many, many ppl who have lost way more than that and still lead a happy normal life. Treat the $10-15K as a lesson in life, many degrees cost much more and yet you may learn much less. Smile dude. Edited July 15, 2008 by Testa_ross4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zedzee 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 (edited) This is not meant to flame anyone but I have a story to tell. I have a friend, A, driving OPC. A has been cheating with all sorts of coupons, OPC and parking mainly. His methods include the famous "fold the tabs". One day, he was finally caught by TP for tampering with the OPC coupon and was fined 10k for the offence. He was remorseful, but not for long. Today, he still tampers with coupons, but only parking coupons. Not because he is afraid of getting caught with tampering OPC coupon but because he had switch to a normal plate car already. Do you think this friend of mine has really learnt his lesson? I surfed a few forums and very often will see people posting threads like this thread. Many claimed this is the first time they tamper with the coupon. BUT i believe, they mostly meant, this is the first time they did this and GOT CAUGHT. Meaning, they have been committing the offence more than once, just that they got lucky everytime and were not caught. Many claimed that they did not know the seriousness of the offence until they were caught. BUT do you believe them? Especially for those who surf forums and know how to seek advice from forums. Personally, I take their words with a pinch of salt. Everyone knows that cheating is wrong. SO why do it in the first place and when caught, shows remorse? I do not sympathise with these cheaters. Instead, i, to a certain degree, despise them. Especially those who can afford luxury cars but can't afford to put parking coupons. And when the parking warden issues them a summon, they curse the parking warden and family, right down to their pets even. Have they ever give it serious thoughts? If they had put the coupons, would they be fined? Just some of my thoughts towards these cheaters. Edited July 15, 2008 by Zedzee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 abang, do u smoke? for goodness sake, coupon is only $20, less than 2 pack of ciggie, u go and do funny thing on it... alamak, somemore u can afford to pay the heavy fine... anyway, good luck to u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 once u got the fine, kindly post it here to update all of us.... its a good warning to some OPC cheaters who think that its not a serious offence.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 next time think before you act. i know $20 is not small, but a weekend car is a weekend car. you already save $17k upfront, so you need to follow the law. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 I sympathise with you being in the position of losing your job. There is nothing much you can do except to plead guilty and leniency in court. Perhaps the next best thing that you can do it to update us on what is the penalty like to deter others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antz_ng Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Dear Feeldown, The fine is S$10K. If you are preparing to admit in the 1 session in the court. Then you have to prepare S$10K - S$15K. You may try to ask for instalment, depending on the judge whether he will consider that option. Alternatively, you may ask to postponement of judgement, so that you could either engage a lawyer or prepare the money. If you are a Civil Servant, there is a likely you will lost your job. Good luck and learn from this mistake. Second time, you will definitely be jailed. Cheers, Anthony Ng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 (edited) ALERT ALERT ALERT wah u register today, clock posts to start this thread.... http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/General_C1/General_Car_Discussion_F1/gforum.cgi?do%3Dsearch_results%3Bsearch_forum%3Dall%3Bsearch_user_username%3DFeeldown%3Bmh%3D25=Show+user%27s+posts So ur purpose to get advice on what lie to tell the judge to get off with a lighter sentence? bro i'm sorry u had to learn this the hard way, but what u did is wrong! cheat! gove rebate u 17K n u cheat by driving it like normal plate for free!!! makes people like us who have normal plate du lan! anyways i'm not all evil n i do also hope u can keep ur job. Edited July 15, 2008 by Tunge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Errrrr... I also cheat with parking coupons, but I always tear all the tabs.... maybe I tipu 10 to 15 minutes.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super410 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 (edited) You have a choice not to cheat but you did not take it. So be a man, face the consequences. As for the job, when you want to cheat that time, did you even spare a thought about your job? If you didn't, then too bad. Sorry for being hash here but I think you need to learn your lesson the hard way. Edited July 15, 2008 by Super410 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Exactly! I seriously doubt the sincerity of those cheaters. They are probably going to cheat again after a while. Nothing against the OPC car owners, but when you see stories of how those OPC car owners cheat by having one coupon with only the month and year torn out, while waiting for TP to catch them, it just says a lot about those OPC cheaters. Want to drive but want to save on $17k? Then might as well convert to normal plate. I think the only way to cut down on those offenders is to give them 1 week jail term + hefty fine. Confirm nobody dare to play punk with the system. Do it at your own risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 plead guitly and tats all my fren ganna same case. fine 800sgd and warning. if tat day the judge PMS then u suay lor for more ... wat 800...thats the lowest I ever heard of...what excuse your friend give sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 dun think u will lose ur job? who told u tat u will b sacked? how close r u with ur immediate boss? can u confide in him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Most probably forget to put la, not considered cheating. Tampering with OPC coupons then is serious crime. At least 10k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 My friend kenna 4 months ago. Cheap cheap only 5k fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 ok lah... dun broth over it. hope u learn ur lesson. 1 impt thing to remember. 天无绝人之路. if it is designated such.. it may ward off more worst thing for u. but if the $$ is urs, it will find it's way back to u. wat is urs can neber b taken away. goodluck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 did u read what he has mentioned... he is a civil servant.. and then anything happens... it will be auto alerted to the relevant ministry... its all computerised these days.... i have only this to say.. all the best.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...