Icy2fire 2nd Gear July 14, 2008 Share July 14, 2008 Can't believe this is happening in Singapore. Posting this to spread the news so that people will be more careful even in Singapore. Cheers!! http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,170806,00.html July 15, 2008 Print Ready Email Article OWNERS of luxury sports utility vehicles (SUVs), beware. There has been a recent spike in the theft of such vehicles. In the two weeks between 13 and 25 Jun, 12 SUVs were stolen, police said. In comparison, only one SUV was stolen in the first five months of this year. However, there has been no new reports since 25 Jun. The targeted models? Higher-end SUVs such as the Lexus RX, Toyota Harrier and RAV4. A police spokesman said the thefts were committed islandwide, and most of them were stolen from multi-storey carparks. In the most recent case, the car owner had parked and secured his SUV at the open carpark at Blk 526 Serangoon North Ave 4 on 24 Jun at about 11pm. He discovered the car missing when he returned the next day at about 1pm. To warn the public, a crime advisory from the police was put up in the popular Hardware Zone forum. It included a list of steps that car owners can take to protect their cars from being stolen. The advisory stated that the car thieves managed to make away with the SUVs even though they were equipped with security systems. On two occasions, broken glass was found at the scene where the vehicles were last parked. It is believed that the culprits gained access by smashing the rear passenger windows before disabling the alarm system. Police investigations are underway and patrols increased at affected locations. One victim, possibly the first in the spree, is Mr Steven Theo, 35, a quality assurance manager. He had parked his silver Toyota RAV4, which he bought for about $78,000 in late 2006, at a multi-storey carpark near his Toa Payoh home on 12 Jun. When he went there the next day at noon, it was gone. PANIC He told The New Paper: 'I thought at first I had parked on a different floor, so I went around, but I still couldn't find it. That was when I started to panic.' After combing the whole carpark, he made a police report. He said: 'I was definitely shocked. You wouldn't imagine your car being stolen in Singapore.' His car had been installed with a standard alarm system, and he said he had definitely locked his car. Mr Theo said he posted the theft on the online forum of RAV4 Expedition, a website for RAV4 enthusiasts. Another victim said on the OneMotoring online forum that his 3 1/2-year-old Toyota Harrier was stolen on 19 Jun in an open-air Housing Board carpark. His car was equipped with an immobiliser, an electronic device fitted to a vehicle that prevents the engine from running unless the correct key or token is present. At the lot where his car used to be were small broken glass pieces. Echoing Mr Theo's disbelief, the Harrier owner wrote: 'I couldn't believe it happened to me and in Singapore, at a busy HDB estate.' Shin Min Daily News also reported on two SUV thefts on 17 Jun – an $108,000 SUV stolen from a multi-storey carpark in Jurong, and another $85,000 RAV4 stolen from a Kim Keat carpark. Mr Theo said he has not bought a new car, as the insurance for the stolen car has not been settled yet. But he said he will probably not buy an SUV again. He said: 'Before I bought it, I knew the cars were 'hot' in Malaysia and had a greater danger of being stolen. That was why I drove it to places (in Malaysia) that were familiar to me. 'I probably won't get an SUV again. But if I do, I will go for the models that are not that 'popular' # Anyone with information about the car thefts, or wishing to report any suspicious persons loitering at the vicinity of the carparks, can call the police at 999 or at 1800–2550000. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 14, 2008 Share July 14, 2008 see.. consequently of installing cheapo alarm is lidat. buy exp car better get those GSM alarm. can track, can immobolize. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 14, 2008 Share July 14, 2008 hmmm...toyotas being targets??? Thai black market?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ogima Neutral Newbie July 14, 2008 Share July 14, 2008 (edited) hello APOLLO, did not see anywhere in the report that states the prices of their car alarm system... did you assume ? or is it just me ? Edited July 14, 2008 by Ogima Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linlaupeh Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 It's just him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 He said: 'I was definitely shocked. You wouldn't imagine your car being stolen in Singapore.' Echoing Mr Theo's disbelief, the Harrier owner wrote: 'I couldn't believe it happened to me and in Singapore, at a busy HDB estate.' Haha such statement. Do people really know Singapore is so "safe" or do you people just believe so. The world's changing, syndicates are getting smarter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Testa_ross4 Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Aiya he base his assumption on the fact that the cars could not be recovered, therefore cheapo non-GSM alarm system . Quite true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 If the GSM alarm system is disable, the vehicle cannot be tracked, ya? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 buy exp car better get those GSM alarm. can track, can immobolize. loaded into container and door closed liao how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 of cos is u He said: 'I was definitely shocked. You wouldn't imagine your car being stolen in Singapore.' His car had been installed with a standard alarm system, and he said he had definitely locked his car. standard alarm is mike as well dun install Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 u still need time to load into containers. not so easy. once broken, the car has to be driven to location. good new fr retailer like singtech (i dun use this cost i dun hv exp ride) u can listen to the car jackers and find out wat they trying to do at same time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tookara Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 oh my gosh better pay our dear home affairs minister wong kan seng more $$$ to avoid this happening. i suggest a $10m annual salary. he's under paid!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Maybe these owners are careless. I see many times, park cars with driver-side windows wind down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Don't ever have the thinking that these sort of stuff would only happen in our neighbouring country ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Scary News !! shoot put CCTV at all carparks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Times are bad. Everything going up. And the gap between rich and poor wider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 of cos is u He said: 'I was definitely shocked. You wouldn't imagine your car being stolen in Singapore.' His car had been installed with a standard alarm system, and he said he had definitely locked his car. standard alarm is mike as well dun install Since the day MSK escaped, I have never feel safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 what has it to do with mr wong kan seng? go and do your govt bashing elsewhere. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...