14 Vehicles Ashed in MSCP Fire

Singer

so he is one of the victims?? wah piang. so whats the source of the fire?

yup, the loan structure is siong but shouldnt he have a recourse to claim from other means?

I think a few years ago, similar fire cases on MSCP happened before and police could not catch the culprit. Now they are back. If they set fire for every few years, dun think they can get caught unless CCTV is installed.

HDB probably already stated that they are not responsible for any damage to ur car even if it is their negligence.

this is outside perpetrator leh.

anyway, HDB and SPF are quite useless from my personal experience. the less u expect from them, the less dissatisfaction u will feel with them [flowerface]

if u know how noisy these mod bike are [furious] , will feel that "served them right"!!! [mad]

I've exactly the same feeling with you. Bro. Can't agree more with you. When you see those like scream bikes at mid-night like nobody business, I bet you won't have any pity on them even when they go [angel]. In simple word, those black sheep deserve it. But I condole those who don't do it.

Wh..1 of the bike is a BMW R1150GS..hope owner bought 2nd party insurance.. [sweatdrop]

THIS IS ALL that's left of his $23,000 MOTORBIKE

63818912ei3.jpgMr Toh uses his umbrella to poke at the exhaust, the only thing that remains of his five-month-old motorcycle

Late-night blaze in Woodlands carpark destroys 11 bikes, 3 cars

MR Darren Toh was a picture of dejection as he looked at the remains of his five-month-old $23,000 motorcycle

'All I have is the exhaust,' said Mr Toh, 31, a storeman.

His was one of 11 motorcycles and three cars that were gutted in a late-night blaze at a multi-storey carpark at Woodlands Drive 70 on Sunday.

Firefighters were alerted at 11.30pm, and they managed to bring the fire at Block 709A under control within 20 minutes.

Anxious residents were then allowed into the affected third storey of the carpark to see if their vehicles were damaged.

Mr Toh, who bought his high-end green Kawasaki Z1000 in February, was seen poking the remains of the bike with his red umbrella in disbelief.

His girlfriend, Ms Shelyn Sim, 20, an accounts assistant, said that they were asleep when they were awakened by loud popping noises.

She said: 'My boyfriend looked outside the window and saw the carpark on fire, and immediately rushed down.

'The fire was very big and we heard four or five explosions. I think it was the fuel tanks.'

Another resident, undergraduate Serene Quek, 20, said the heat from the fire was so strong that she could feel it from the 10th-storey staircase outside her flat.

99377746yv1.jpgIt took firemen 20 minutes to put out the blaze on the third storey of the carpark

There was also a lot of smoke and a strong burning smell

She said at one point the fire looked as though it would spread to other levels of the carpark.

She said: 'We were worried about my dad's car. He parked it on the other side (of the carpark, away from the blaze), but the fire was spreading and we couldn't see the damage inside.'

To the family's relief, their car was not one of those damaged.

But Mr Nor Ismail, 24, a sales coordinator, was not so lucky.

His nine-year-old Honda XR 400 motorcycle was completely destroyed. So was his 19-year-old brother's four-month-old Honda SP125.

He said that the bikes, which together cost about $8,000, had been parked side by side.

Mr Nor said he had parked his motorbike around 11.15pm – just before the blaze started.

He did not notice anything suspicious as he left the carpark.

He said that when he was woken up by the commotion.

He heard shouts of 'carpark fire' and saw the huge blaze exactly where he had parked his vehicle.

He said: 'I knew my bike was gone already'.

SPATE OF CRIMES

Resident Pearlyn Soh, 37, who called The New Paper hotline about the fire and snapped pictures of it, said there have been a spate of crimes in the neighbourhood recently.

She said that a few months ago, the police put up an appeal for witnesses to motorbike parts thefts at the same carpark to come forward.

In March, a fire damaged four cars at an open-air carpark next to Eunos MRT station.

Three months earlier, a car had caught fire, again in a Eunos carpark.

Last August, 24 motorcycles in three carparks around Woodlands were reportedly torched in a single night.

Both the police and the Singapore Civil Defence Force are investigating Sunday's fire.

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

i thought new car usually have comprehensive insurance. got first year 1-1 exchange. not sure about bike.

New Car with Car Loan Must Buy Comprehensive Insurance

Some Car without Loan , Owner can Buy Fire & Theft Insurance [idea]