Peasant charged for fatal accident

Apollo

July 14, 2008 Man charged over fatal accident By Elena Chong, Courts Correspondent

A MAN was charged in court on Monday with negligently causing the deaths of his mother-in-law and son in a road traffic accident two years ago.

Long Shi Pin, 37, was driving a car along Woodlands Road when it crashed into a tree, killing rear seat passengers, Madam Lee Tew Ngoh, 63, and six-year-old Matthew Long Chay En on May 28, 2006.

He is also accused of causing grievous hurt to his wife, Madam Jennifer Tham Ai Ping, 37, who was seated in front, and his sister-in-law, Ms Joann Tham Gek Peng, 33, seated at the back of the car.

He is said to have failed to keep a proper lookout while negotiating a slight left bend, causing the car to veer to the right, mount the centre road divider and hit the tree.

His mother-in-law and son died on the spot while the others were taken to hospital. Bail of $10,000 was set.

If convicted of causing death, he can be jailed for up to two years and/or fined.

The punishment for causing grievous hurt is a fine of up to two years and/or $5,000.

A pre-trial hearing will be held on Aug 4.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...ory_257578.html

KNN... win liao lor.. 2yr ago case. His mother n kid died ok i can understand. his negligence. his greviences.

But cause grevious hurt somemore?? machiam one of those road rage who punches some1 else. Wat's the purpose of roping additional charges?

Simply amazing...

i mean can u imagine the nos of negligents and grievious hurting one would cost if he is a pilot of plane of ship?

surely anything of tat nature be it a vehicle on 2 wheel or 2 wheel hs to b collective and global. and the heaviest sentence available wud b the gravity of the entire penalty and not a collective of all possible charges they can mete to stick a noose so he can b hanged twice or more.

wat purpose wud tat serve? any legal expert here to comment?

He was my childhood friend, we were living at Woodlands Park off Woodlands Road, lost contact after many years now. My parents only found out when they attended his father's wake recently. Very sad, wonder how he crashed there when he has been living there almost his entire life? He should know that road like the back of his hands.

i just pondering why throw in the spanner and full works when he also an aggrieved party.

i'm sure as a parent, he sud b more responsible driver on the road but tat onus does not warrant some additional strong dose of penal laws.

as deterrent to the next driver? i doubt reckless drivers will view it in that way.

becos he is a takumi wannabe chalking up points like DowJones? mebbe..

just find it strange and upsetting.

July 14, 2008 Man charged over fatal accident By Elena Chong, Courts Correspondent

A MAN was charged in court on Monday with negligently causing the deaths of his mother-in-law and son in a road traffic accident two years ago.

Long Shi Pin, 37, was driving a car along Woodlands Road when it crashed into a tree, killing rear seat passengers, Madam Lee Tew Ngoh, 63, and six-year-old Matthew Long Chay En on May 28, 2006.

He is also accused of causing grievous hurt to his wife, Madam Jennifer Tham Ai Ping, 37, who was seated in front, and his sister-in-law, Ms Joann Tham Gek Peng, 33, seated at the back of the car.

He is said to have failed to keep a proper lookout while negotiating a slight left bend, causing the car to veer to the right, mount the centre road divider and hit the tree.

His mother-in-law and son died on the spot while the others were taken to hospital. Bail of $10,000 was set.

If convicted of causing death, he can be jailed for up to two years and/or fined.

The punishment for causing grievous hurt is a fine of up to two years and/or $5,000.

A pre-trial hearing will be held on Aug 4.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...ory_257578.html

KNN... win liao lor.. 2yr ago case. His mother n kid died ok i can understand. his negligence. his greviences.

But cause grevious hurt somemore?? machiam one of those road rage who punches some1 else. Wat's the purpose of roping additional charges?

Simply amazing...

i think the story is not telling everything; the reporter may not yet be privy of full story. I believe something must have come out in the course of investigations for them to take the decision to charge.

i dun think our police and AGC would deliberately go out and "fix" ordinary folks. there are certain people they fix, but not ordinary, toyota-driving folks.

he has lost his son and MIL... losing own son is really sad enough [mad][mad]

it is already a big punishment for him. Y still want to punish him further for an accident???!

his wife didn't even sue him and instead SG sue him ... [hur][hur]

many more good years ahead [thumbsdown]

Was he driving a Toyota? He is living in landed property and I do know that he his doing his dad's business and being second gen of a family business, I doubt he is driving a Toyota, unless it was a MPV.

toyota dosent have MPV?

anyway wad does it matter.

wad he meant was a general term, "toyota driving folks"

sometimes i find sg laws damn weird.

u drive u kill ur own family u kena big time

u drive and u kill somebody else u kena fine only (many cases recently) esp MIW

i somehow got the feeling like wad someone else mention, someone wants to fix him big time.

Edited by Ah_tee

Well I cannot comment on this part, as I said that stretch of road is a road he would have travelled thousands of times as he was living there since at least 7 y.o. so it could have been overconfidence, or sleeping.

Wah....with so many farker to prosecute on traffic accident...looks the coffee shop Boss's son who crashed the EVO and killed the taxi driver and passenger can take a number and wait his turn to come up! [sly]

Scary thing is, after the TP and AG do a Regan Lee again and leave this EVO killer loose for a few years with license and he go driving another SPOT Cheah again! [sweatdrop]

if i am not wrong, this guy was driving his honda CRV suv and it was raining very heavily that day, he didn't see the tree cos he couldn't see.

if it is this family, he lost his only son, his wife had liver puncture and it was one of those accidents that could not have been prevented.

very sad that he shd be punished like this, i think losing his son is already bad enough...

How can the law consider an accident with that of murder? or even homicide or attempted murder.

if he did it on purpose to commit suicide with his family, yes then i say charge him and lock him up.... but this is an accident..

the courts are not meant for the commoners. it only works for the [flowerface][flowerface][thumbsup]

maybe he banged into an "elite" tree and mParks wants to take action ... [shakehead]

wan i say man..singapore law.. [thumbsdown]

Some years ago..my friend skidded in PIE due to a thick patch of oil.He was fined & given demerit points by TP.

Wat the fcuk rite...he should be fining LTA instead for not maintaining road properly since we pay road tax.