Trex101 3rd Gear July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Hi, Can i check with you where and how can i purchase or replave the sanwa wires you have mention. I am driving a Ssangyong Actyon. I have replaced my car with irdium sparks plug and silver earthing wiring but am still getting the CNG "Shaking feeling". Please advice. Thanks!! Did you gap the iridium plugs down? usually down to 1.0mm will worked. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 OK. Pun intended. I have suffered from jerks like it is the norm for a CNG car. While at Melchers and tuning, Peter noted that my aftermarket wire set was "leaky". For crying out loud, my car can't even climb a slope. It was like choking and lacking power. Jerky as beef jerky. So after the tuning, I went over to the stockist to get the OE wire set. Stockist came with some box with Korean words on it. I asked you sure this is OE? He said even though it does not have GMDAT on it, it is the same OEM for GMDAT. Bought the set for 48.15 inclusive of GST. I went to the Mandai meetup yesterday. As usual the complaints about jerks and up slope loss of power. Of course I'm not stupid to install the wire set after coming back. Who in the right mind to change a wire set while the engine is still hot. So I did it this morning. Difference? Heaven and hell. It is heaven now. The car is so buttery smooth, it can even go up the MSCP slopes. Not contented, I went to fill up at Jln Buroh which BTW was at 1.51 already. That's how I got the news. I went over to Jurong Hill and attempted the same thing Song did yesterday to check the effectiveness of his tuning. FYI, the car failed miserably with the aftermarket 8mm wire set. So this morning, the car moved off like it was on petrol. Very smooth too, like its gone for bikini waxing. So there you have it. If you experience jerks, there is nothing wrong with the gas delivery. Look towards your ignition. If your car is new, change out the coils if it is the new coil-on-plug version (usually the Toyotas). They are under warranty. Insist on it. Maybe the installed ones are degraded while sitting around prior to delivery. CNG requires top notch ignition components. For the Airwaves, I understand some gave problems while some don't. Those that do, visit your dealer and ask for ignition makeover. Don't change the plugs. I doubt the plugs are the problem. I've running on cheapo stock plugs and not overhyped Iridiums. So the Airwaves shouldn't have that problem with their superior double platinum plugs. BTW, my car is on full CNG now. No more petrol idle. Idle is also smooth. My gapping is 1.0mm. As said in earlier posts, if you want to gap, 0.9mm is the lowest you should go or else your petrol performance should you choose to use petrol for some reason will suffer. Don't blame your installers for failing to get the tuning right. Check your igintion components. I'll be going off to get the CEL cleared and see if it comes back but I have the O2 simulator on standby. A lesson can be learned here. BEWARE OF AFTERMARKET COMPONENTS. BTW, my 8mm "performance" wire set is Sanwa. If you can't get OE replacements, at least get OE equivalent components. Don't buy "performance" replacements. Yo Genie, where are you man! I need to buy you coffee liao! My CNG keep stalling lately when switching to gas on corners, yesterday afternoon changed the spark plugs and cables set, all stock and looks like problem solve! will monitor a few days see how, looks like is hardware fault not software, so no point tuning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 16, 2010 Author Share July 16, 2010 Hi, Can i check with you where and how can i purchase or replave the sanwa wires you have mention. I am driving a Ssangyong Actyon. I have replaced my car with irdium sparks plug and silver earthing wiring but am still getting the CNG "Shaking feeling". Please advice. Thanks!! I PMed you. First things first. Get rid of the silver earthing wire. Doesn't help. It is the ignition wire set. Get the OE one. Like my previous post, they might have degraded while it is sitting in the holding area before being sold to you. Iridium plugs only if the OE setup uses iridium plugs. Then if it is good or some improvement, got for tuning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 16, 2010 Author Share July 16, 2010 No need. My car has been going on gas since 2005. It went through so many kinks I can more or less predict it is ignition setup that is the cause. Like now, I have not changed my cheapo BKR6E plugs for 10k already and it takes a long time to switch to CNG. Something as simple as that can affect the performance and switch over. Will be getting new plugs soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 if I wear a hat, I will take it off to you! nobody believe me when I told them my problem could be the ignition system, but looks like the 'shifu' is right! so how often do I have to change the plugs and cables to always get in tip top position? Do I have to change the coil also? after changing the system yesterday, can feel the car is very happy, smooth and no lack of power, in fact I feel as good as on petrol. 1 more Q, how on earth did you get 230km on a tank of 11kg of gas? the best I had was 175km and that is 85% highway, the worst was 115km. avg is about 150km. would very very happy to get 180-190km, don't need 230km man. mine is an optra estate. Thank you Genie, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 factory fitted given a choice again, I will do it aftermarket. the AD is worst than anything I have come across, simply no solution! know next to nothing about their cars, so much about their factory fitted CNG =============== The Optra is not a real factory fitted. It is aftermarket kit installed in Thailand. I dont know if it is considered as "factory" but its definately not from Korea GM factory. In Thai, many cars r fitted to run on gas but these r more like kits installed in the Thai assembly plants. I only know the VW has an estate(cant remember the model now but its a medium sized car) that has true factory fitted CNG system. Many CNG cars r facing many problems & I think the novelty has kinda of worn off. I wud prefer to wait for more tax reductions on diesel cars & might switch to 1 when our gharmen finally decides to give them a good deal. They r doing much better in terms of relaibility & performance. I also drive an Optra Estate but a pure petrol model. Anyway I do hope u solve your CNG problems & since yours is "original", u can go to agent & bang table to vent your frustrations unlike those that fitted the aftermarket kits who can only suck thumb & curse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aizatme Neutral Newbie July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 you are right Bro. it is a "aftermarket factory fitted" system or "factory aftermarket fitted" system................. but under warranty by AM, unlike those fitted here warranty is by installer. Bang table with AM? save the effort lah bro. They take you as no come! I have made a police report already and will likely go to CASE later. Talk to them throw blood one. Anyway, I think the issue is solve, so far so good. And I do save $$$. you can always test drive my ride anytime and see how it is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 16, 2010 Author Share July 16, 2010 The plugs can use the cheapo BKR6Es. No need platinum or iridium. Wires change every 90k like the manual says. Actually the way I look at it, the more stock the car is, the better it is on CNG. Afterall, the CNG CPU is nothing but a pulse converter. It mimics the petrol injection. So CNG should work 100% the same as petrol but with lower torque and power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 you are right Bro. it is a "aftermarket factory fitted" system or "factory aftermarket fitted" system................. but under warranty by AM, unlike those fitted here warranty is by installer. Bang table with AM? save the effort lah bro. They take you as no come! I have made a police report already and will likely go to CASE later. Talk to them throw blood one. Anyway, I think the issue is solve, so far so good. And I do save $$$. you can always test drive my ride anytime and see how it is. ============== Our local agents r really not worth much. They cant solve problems & r mainly good at throwing smoke & passing the blame to other pple. Thats why I threw away my agent warranty cos I dont feel its worth the paper its printed on. Its only a ploy to get pple to service their cars with them at super cut-throat prices & when u really need then, they run away. U can try CASE & I really do hope they can solve your problem but the main problem is that CNG is a big let down with so many problems & local installers or agents just dont have the knowledge or expertise to really help. Seems like its all trial & error with them so that goes to show the level of competence of our local mechs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 =============== The Optra is not a real factory fitted. It is aftermarket kit installed in Thailand. I dont know if it is considered as "factory" but its definately not from Korea GM factory. In Thai, many cars r fitted to run on gas but these r more like kits installed in the Thai assembly plants. I only know the VW has an estate(cant remember the model now but its a medium sized car) that has true factory fitted CNG system. Many CNG cars r facing many problems & I think the novelty has kinda of worn off. I wud prefer to wait for more tax reductions on diesel cars & might switch to 1 when our gharmen finally decides to give them a good deal. They r doing much better in terms of relaibility & performance. I also drive an Optra Estate but a pure petrol model. Anyway I do hope u solve your CNG problems & since yours is "original", u can go to agent & bang table to vent your frustrations unlike those that fitted the aftermarket kits who can only suck thumb & curse. yup, diesel will be a good option, very good in fact, only thing is nobody knows when that day is going to come. in fact before I bought my optra, i did look at some diesels, but still end up with CNG for a very clear reason. so for the time being, with no other choice, CNG looks like a good option to me, and now that I have solve the issue so to speak, I think I can live with it until the day arrive where diesel become another option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 I don't know what plugs I am on, I just bought them together with the cables from songyi, so they are all stocks, think must be the cheap cheap ones. cable is $55, the plugs 1 set $20. I think better to change the plugs every 8K or so. my car all stock, except for the rims, AM gave me 15", I think the actual stock rims are 14". other than that I drain the so call factory fitted 5W30 and replace by 5W40. and so it seems that CNG consumption will depend on how is the FC on petrol. Well, after the ignition system change, hopfully the FC will be more stable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2010 Share July 16, 2010 Local agents? they can keep my warranty, I don't even intend to go back for my 10k servicing with them. As for CNG, I think I can live with it. in any case if I encounter any problem with CNG, I can always rub the magic lamp and shout for Genie! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 yup, diesel will be a good option, very good in fact, only thing is nobody knows when that day is going to come. in fact before I bought my optra, i did look at some diesels, but still end up with CNG for a very clear reason. so for the time being, with no other choice, CNG looks like a good option to me, and now that I have solve the issue so to speak, I think I can live with it until the day arrive where diesel become another option. =================== For me I wil just have to live with the petrol (RON 97) price increases in MY as I only fill in JB. I hope by the time MY petrol (RON 97) becomes too ex, I wud already have got my diesel or migrated to Johor. As a last resort, my Optra can still run very smoothly on RON 95, which is still heavily subsidized, from boleh land. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 I don't know what plugs I am on, I just bought them together with the cables from songyi, so they are all stocks, think must be the cheap cheap ones. cable is $55, the plugs 1 set $20. I think better to change the plugs every 8K or so. my car all stock, except for the rims, AM gave me 15", I think the actual stock rims are 14". other than that I drain the so call factory fitted 5W30 and replace by 5W40. and so it seems that CNG consumption will depend on how is the FC on petrol. Well, after the ignition system change, hopfully the FC will be more stable. ============ The standard plugs r NGK BKR6E made in Korea which lasts me easily 20K km. Abt $4 plus each. I too changed my original 14" steel rims to Original Chevy 16" sports rims with Yoko A Drive R1 205/45/16 grippy tires, which improved my handling alot. Engine oil I also use CLTR synthetic 40 weight & change every 10K km without any problems. Original 30weight is most likely only mineral oil(ESSO). I hope u have finally solved all your problems on your CNG Optra. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 Local agents? they can keep my warranty, I don't even intend to go back for my 10k servicing with them. As for CNG, I think I can live with it. in any case if I encounter any problem with CNG, I can always rub the magic lamp and shout for Genie! [laugh] ============ Yes keep that magic lamp handy cos our Genie really has good magic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 =================== For me I wil just have to live with the petrol (RON 97) price increases in MY as I only fill in JB. I hope by the time MY petrol (RON 97) becomes too ex, I wud already have got my diesel or migrated to Johor. As a last resort, my Optra can still run very smoothly on RON 95, which is still heavily subsidized, from boleh land. Hahahaha.............................. my car has not drank any singapore petrol from the day i took over until now, all from boleh land, RON 95 from petronas somemore. no reason to pump RON97 leh. for CNG so far only pump twice in singapore, all boleh gas.. But looks like now no choice have to pump RON 97 liao, no more RON 95 for singapore cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 ============ The standard plugs r NGK BKR6E made in Korea which lasts me easily 20K km. Abt $4 plus each. I too changed my original 14" steel rims to Original Chevy 16" sports rims with Yoko A Drive R1 205/45/16 grippy tires, which improved my handling alot. Engine oil I also use CLTR synthetic 40 weight & change every 10K km without any problems. Original 30weight is most likely only mineral oil(ESSO). I hope u have finally solved all your problems on your CNG Optra. yup, those are the plugs hmmm, mayb I sld consider changing to 16" also. I am thinking of trying out the CLTR syn 5W30 and see if FC will improve. The original oil sucks, but they claim to be syn because only changing at 10k service, but still sucks, mayb because the oil has been sitting in the engine too long liao. think the CNG issue is more or less solve liao, so far 3rd day liao, good leh, Thanks Bro! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...