Genie47 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 (edited) OK. Pun intended. I have suffered from jerks like it is the norm for a CNG car. While at Melchers and tuning, Peter noted that my aftermarket wire set was "leaky". For crying out loud, my car can't even climb a slope. It was like choking and lacking power. Jerky as beef jerky. So after the tuning, I went over to the stockist to get the OE wire set. Stockist came with some box with Korean words on it. I asked you sure this is OE? He said even though it does not have GMDAT on it, it is the same OEM for GMDAT. Bought the set for 48.15 inclusive of GST. I went to the Mandai meetup yesterday. As usual the complaints about jerks and up slope loss of power. Of course I'm not stupid to install the wire set after coming back. Who in the right mind to change a wire set while the engine is still hot. So I did it this morning. Difference? Heaven and hell. It is heaven now. The car is so buttery smooth, it can even go up the MSCP slopes. Not contented, I went to fill up at Jln Buroh which BTW was at 1.51 already. That's how I got the news. I went over to Jurong Hill and attempted the same thing Song did yesterday to check the effectiveness of his tuning. FYI, the car failed miserably with the aftermarket 8mm wire set. So this morning, the car moved off like it was on petrol. Very smooth too, like its gone for bikini waxing. So there you have it. If you experience jerks, there is nothing wrong with the gas delivery. Look towards your ignition. If your car is new, change out the coils if it is the new coil-on-plug version (usually the Toyotas). They are under warranty. Insist on it. Maybe the installed ones are degraded while sitting around prior to delivery. CNG requires top notch ignition components. For the Airwaves, I understand some gave problems while some don't. Those that do, visit your dealer and ask for ignition makeover. Don't change the plugs. I doubt the plugs are the problem. I've running on cheapo stock plugs and not overhyped Iridiums. So the Airwaves shouldn't have that problem with their superior double platinum plugs. BTW, my car is on full CNG now. No more petrol idle. Idle is also smooth. My gapping is 1.0mm. As said in earlier posts, if you want to gap, 0.9mm is the lowest you should go or else your petrol performance should you choose to use petrol for some reason will suffer. Don't blame your installers for failing to get the tuning right. Check your igintion components. I'll be going off to get the CEL cleared and see if it comes back but I have the O2 simulator on standby. A lesson can be learned here. BEWARE OF AFTERMARKET COMPONENTS. BTW, my 8mm "performance" wire set is Sanwa. If you can't get OE replacements, at least get OE equivalent components. Don't buy "performance" replacements. Edited July 12, 2008 by Genie47 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Stock is still the best. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 u mean u dun top up petrol already? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 I believe he still needs to start on petrol. He just mentioned idle on CNG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 13, 2008 Author Share July 13, 2008 Once in 2 monrhs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 (edited) haha u becoming like me .... using stale petrol for start ups....LOL Edited July 13, 2008 by Dirtrider_ak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luvknowmore Neutral Newbie July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 Hi Genie, If my CNG car lacking power when climbing slope (no jerky), and my FC is no good, will changing the wires set and oxygen sensors that you have mentioned help ? My car is already 4 years old. Can I get the wires set and oxygen sensors from the local stockist, i mean original Kia parts and not from the site that you recommended? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 13, 2008 Author Share July 13, 2008 Yes to all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 Great information. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 sorry got to dig this old post out and carry from here, too new to be able to start a new 1. anyway here goes. my CNG otpra estate has been stalling lately, the car is 6 weeks old, and happen only last week. After I send in to AM for tuning, it got worst, stalling afew times in a day. today went to Datin halimah to pump cng, this blue NAZA taxi pull up beside me and the driver came over to me. He looked at my car and said,: hmm twin cam? got problem or not? I looked at him and reply no leh, so far so good. he looked at me like very surprise and walk back to his taxi. After I paid up, I walked to him and asked, what is your problem? he said, engine die lor! I looked at him and reply ya lor, me also, engine suka suka mati. and he reply ya lah this one the problem lor, I thought your car so good no problem! And than he show me 1 wire he connected from the battery to the thermostat, which he cliam he did it himself. and he told me the problem for the engine to die when on CNG is "lai dian bu gou"=来电不够=not enough electricity! and that he solve this problem after he installed the extra cable. Can the Gurus explain this or enlighten me on this thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 Talking about aftermarket wire set, I do agree some are crap stuff and should be avoided. However, some are indeed good and truct worthy. Eg. Magnecor, MSD, Mallory. Many aftermarket coil manufacturers also make high quality wires for their ignition coils. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 sorry got to dig this old post out and carry from here, too new to be able to start a new 1. anyway here goes. my CNG otpra estate has been stalling lately, the car is 6 weeks old, and happen only last week. After I send in to AM for tuning, it got worst, stalling afew times in a day. today went to Datin halimah to pump cng, this blue NAZA taxi pull up beside me and the driver came over to me. He looked at my car and said,: hmm twin cam? got problem or not? I looked at him and reply no leh, so far so good. he looked at me like very surprise and walk back to his taxi. After I paid up, I walked to him and asked, what is your problem? he said, engine die lor! I looked at him and reply ya lor, me also, engine suka suka mati. and he reply ya lah this one the problem lor, I thought your car so good no problem! And than he show me 1 wire he connected from the battery to the thermostat, which he cliam he did it himself. and he told me the problem for the engine to die when on CNG is "lai dian bu gou"=来电不够=not enough electricity! and that he solve this problem after he installed the extra cable. Can the Gurus explain this or enlighten me on this thanks WAH! factory fitted CNG optra will also stall? or was it after-market fitted? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear July 13, 2010 Share July 13, 2010 WAH! factory fitted CNG optra will also stall? or was it after-market fitted? My ex CNG ride never even stalled before, running on 17km/kg of CNG. I miss her very much. My EX CNG Sunny MT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 factory fitted given a choice again, I will do it aftermarket. the AD is worst than anything I have come across, simply no solution! know next to nothing about their cars, so much about their factory fitted CNG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 at least with after market we can go back and check with them when got problems. With this so call factory fitted, got problem, go back AD, leave car there, don't know what happen, collect in evening, car still stall! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
East539 Neutral Newbie July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 (edited) factory fitted given a choice again, I will do it aftermarket. the AD is worst than anything I have come across, simply no solution! know next to nothing about their cars, so much about their factory fitted CNG for what i know, the so called factory fitted CNG otpra might not be really "factory fitted". quite easy to found out, is the CNG refueling point located at the engine bay where you have to open the bonnet in order to refuel or is it located inside the fuel filler flap together with petrol fuel filler? If it is located at the engine bay than it is still aftermarket, only those with the CNG fuel point that are located in the petrol fuel filler flap is than factory fitted. this is the one that the refuel is located beside the fuel filler flap Edited July 14, 2010 by East539 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 at least with after market we can go back and check with them when got problems. With this so call factory fitted, got problem, go back AD, leave car there, don't know what happen, collect in evening, car still stall! After market also have the option of fixing the filler near the fuel cap. In fact, I have seen Optra refilling CNG via below the bonnet. So you think after market after service support is good? Bear in mind that they are like any other regular workshop, things they can't solve, the blame will be somewhere else. You find yourself running from ws to AD back and fro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerrygoh77 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2010 Share July 15, 2010 Hi, Can i check with you where and how can i purchase or replave the sanwa wires you have mention. I am driving a Ssangyong Actyon. I have replaced my car with irdium sparks plug and silver earthing wiring but am still getting the CNG "Shaking feeling". Please advice. Thanks!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...