Throttle2 Supersonic July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. hahah, i've always been pumping 92 or 95 depending on which pump i drive up to. my vehicles are all fully paid...and they are Continental tin cans......... your "feel" is quite inaccurate leh.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 how u know these ppl last time talk big pump vpower?...den now they switched to 92??...u've been monitoring them all these yrs?...or u know them all these yrs?come on...don jus judge ppl on de one time u see them. n y de biker can pump vpower for his laopok bike...cos bike doesn't use a lot of petrol...so de diff btwn lowest n highest grade is very small.mayb only a few cents or a dollar per full tank.so...they will jus pump de best.like dat a lot of de bikers r very rich la... ahem, a lot of bikers are richer than drivers leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 I think its stoopid of topic starter to judge a car owner financial status by the grade of petrol he pumped. very shallow thinking indeed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Depends on the car's engineering. My car damn screwed up. 92, 95, 98, I tried them all. Same consumption. Not the same with lets say a Honda. A City iDSI user can squeeze more miles with a 95 compared to 92 even though the car specs 92 minimum. So in the end, it is not the fuel. It is the car's engineering. Have a crap engineered car, expect crap economy with whatever grade you want to fill it with. But then....my car gives best mileage on 92. If i pump 95, the mileage will drop significantly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Yes, its a personal choice, not an indicator of wealth. Doesn't mean that you're rich you have to get an expensive car also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Reverse crap engineering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Author Share July 12, 2008 When i started this thread,i confirm got alot of ppl will start flaming.At the same time,I also know alot of ppl here pump Ron 92 as well.Don't have to be so defensive,flame me if you want.It definitely shows some inferior personality here.But that aside,I'm truly sorry if offended anyone here.Anyway,my point is that,alot of ppl switched to 92 since the petrol price soaring.This is a good sign,slowly our road will be free of jam cuz this is pinching them hard.Even a car which cannot take lower ron was force to do it.Alot of ppl around me,told me that they took 10 years loan,now want to sell car also cannot,want to change also cannot.Maybe this is how alot of forumer judge these are the group that shouldn't even own a car.To answer to one of the forumer,my car is fully paid up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 A point to note - Some rich men can be more stingy than normal peasants like us. They may be one of those who "downgraded" to RON92 in view of the rising petrol prices out of "stingyness". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 feeling the pinch...yes i do agree to some extend...0 downpayment....I doubt so...taking myself as example....my salary for the past few years had not been able to catch up with the increase fuel cost....last time when V-Power is just a dollar plus...I used to pump that occasionally.....slowly I downgraded because I think there isn't a need to have premium petrol with the raising cost....if cheap then nevermind....want V-power then V-power...but now expensive so must think twice...I downgraded to 98 and now 95...my car now cannot go lower then 95...it stated min ron 95 so I am here...if my car writes min ron 92...i will be on 92.... then my cars present and past were never brought with 0 downpayment.... So pump 92 is to save money and give the car what it need but do not really point to the fact that these drivers hardly can afford the car....altough there's no denied that some may. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Author Share July 12, 2008 Aiyo my friend,I didnt say you 0 downpayment or what.I pointing out my colleagues,friends around me.Hardly could own a car,still want to get a OPC,pay with 10 years loan,still can complain petrol expensive.another one,didnt finish his installment,change to a new car.I'm not jealous he got a new car while mine is 3 years old,but plain stupidity when he still got a 31k outstanding.This 31k add on to the new car price. forver owe credit company money.This is maybe what ppl called,hardly can own a car,but backside always itchy.Always want to hitch my ride,but never taken his new ride before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. I see nothing wrong with 92. If my car can afford 92, or even 89, I will pump. I do not think that if pump low grade means I can not afford a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 plain stupidity when he still got a 31k outstanding.This 31k add on to the new car price. I salute him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 When i started this thread,i confirm got alot of ppl will start flaming.At the same time,I also know alot of ppl here pump Ron 92 as well.Don't have to be so defensive,flame me if you want.It definitely shows some inferior personality here.But that aside,I'm truly sorry if offended anyone here.Anyway,my point is that,alot of ppl switched to 92 since the petrol price soaring.This is a good sign,slowly our road will be free of jam cuz this is pinching them hard.Even a car which cannot take lower ron was force to do it.Alot of ppl around me,told me that they took 10 years loan,now want to sell car also cannot,want to change also cannot.Maybe this is how alot of forumer judge these are the group that shouldn't even own a car.To answer to one of the forumer,my car is fully paid up. Everyone has a different opinion about many things. What type of RON to use is another example. I have been using the min that my car can take since day 1. I did not see anything wrong about it or whether it will damage my engine as the manual state that it can take 95. I will agree with you if and only if the manual state min 95, and the guy want to save money by pumping 92, which "may" cause damage to engine. But, as I said, many people have diffrenet opinion about many many thing. I know of someoene driving a quite luxury car but he service his car at twice the interval of the recommended interval. His point is, he is rich, can change car every 3 year. Because he did not service his car regularly, is it means he can not afford the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 cant afford to pump Ron95 or above, don't own a car, cant afford ERP, don't own a car, cant afford $0.50 parking coupon, don't drive, drive a Red plate, don't own a car, drive with window down, don't own a car, cant send friend home on the other side of the island, don't own a car, dont know how to pump petrol, don't own a car, dont know how to reverse park, don't own a car, road hog, don't own a car, tailgate, don't own a car...... don't wash car, don't own a car can enlighten me? don't know how to keep clean then don't drive lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 What ever grade of petrol u pump end result is always carbon monoxide, so higher RON = higher grade of CO? No point wasting resources even if one can afford it. If one knows about this wastage and not act on it then thats wats i call plain stupid. Those FI cars bo bian have to pump high RON, u tink if gt a choice they wan to pump high RON meh? No flame hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 today's car needs only 92 unless your car is a high performance car dont get trick by petrol company advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnieseah 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. there is another grade u didnt mentioned, i pump with ron75, i just tell the pump attendant to pump till 3/4 full, then i fill up the rest of the tank with water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 When i started this thread,i confirm got alot of ppl will start flaming.At the same time,I also know alot of ppl here pump Ron 92 as well.Don't have to be so defensive,flame me if you want.It definitely shows some inferior personality here.But that aside,I'm truly sorry if offended anyone here.Anyway,my point is that,alot of ppl switched to 92 since the petrol price soaring.This is a good sign,slowly our road will be free of jam cuz this is pinching them hard.Even a car which cannot take lower ron was force to do it.Alot of ppl around me,told me that they took 10 years loan,now want to sell car also cannot,want to change also cannot.Maybe this is how alot of forumer judge these are the group that shouldn't even own a car.To answer to one of the forumer,my car is fully paid up. I think I get your point clearer in your later posts as to which group of people you're referring, such as the colleague of yours with a $31K outstanding still getting a new car. It just that your 1st post isn't clear enough and seems to make alot of asusmption that covers alot of bros here in MCF myself included as I pump 92 too.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...