Passion 5th Gear July 11, 2008 Author Share July 11, 2008 Why are you so agitated?Do you know different ron is suitable for different driving condition? Go and research abt it.It's not their country doesn't want to have higher ron,just that 87 or 89 is just like our 95 and 98. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 11, 2008 Author Share July 11, 2008 I'm not saying 95 or 98 make my engine fly.The point i driving at now is in the past,all these ppl talk big,say Vpower,98 whatever clean my engine lah,make more "oomm" to the engine.All bxxxxxxt to me,I stick to 95 all along.And now,crude oil rise until so jia lat,these ppl shows their true colour,all switch to lower grade.I mean,if you drive a car that can accept 91,you go for 92 I understand.But for min 95 car?Btw,I ever saw a biker pump platinum techron into his lao pok pok bike.This is what I call rich.2 stroke engine with premium petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched July 11, 2008 Share July 11, 2008 Haha. The only reason why I'm using 98 is cos of better mileage. I get more per tankful compared to 95, which when worked out, actually more than offsets the additional cost of 98. A few friends used to pump 92 initially, but after trying out higher grades like 95, they get better FC for the slightly higher cost. Again, calculate out, still more than cover the few cents difference per liter. I believe in pump whatever grade gives you the best mileage vs cost ratio. No sense being penny wise, but pound foolish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie July 11, 2008 Share July 11, 2008 why u bother so much ?? not spendinig yur money anyway..lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched July 11, 2008 Share July 11, 2008 If you have been pumping 95 since DAY ONE, how would you know whether there is any difference btw V-Power and 95? Bro, definitely got difference la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear July 11, 2008 Share July 11, 2008 some people dun see the need to pump more expensive they use the car for transportation, not to show off they're expensive car runs on expensive petrol. as for not knowing how to use the pump...i am one of them but i'm sure its no rocket science to operate it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 i agree with you on 98 and 95. 98 does runs more smoothly...current tank was 95, after 8 mths of 98, can really feel the difference Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 For the benefit of some others here who may be questioning exactly how much of a difference in FC would it take to justify the extra cost of a higher grade petrol, here's a hypothetical scenario ; RON 95 = $2.00 per liter RON 98 = $2.07 per liter Assuming pump 10 liters of RON95 = $2.00 X 10 liters = $20 Assuming 10 liters RON95 = 150KM mileage or 15KM/Liter Now, Assuming pump 10 liters of RON98 = $2.07 X 10 liters = $20.70 Assuming 10 liters RON98 = 160KM mileage or 16KM/Liter Additional mileage over RON95 = 160KM - 150KM = 10KM FC based on RON95 = 15KM/Liter Cost of 10KM based on 15KM/Liter FC @ $2.00 per liter RON95 = $1.33 Offset additional cost of RON98 @ 10 liters = $1.33 - $0.70 = $0.63 Total savings of using RON98 over RON95 = $0.63 PER 10 liters or $0.063 per liter If your fuel tank is 40 liters from reserve to full, means per tankful you're saving $0.063 X 40 liters = $2.52. And all it takes is just a difference of 1KM/Liter. So, it's not entirely impossible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 I'm nothing against waiting for the crew.But it's kinda shock me when he asked for 92 when it's a new car. There are people totally clueless about RON number. Pump premier grade of petrol make you feel you are better than others ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Do you notice a slight difference in FC during the switch in petrol grades? Assuming that you still drive normally as per usual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. Well, my car can drink RON91 but I've been pumping 95, maybe if it's too bad, I'll start 92 but my car can take it. I'll probably think a Civic's min RON shd be 95. Maybe he got tons of $$ for overhaul for his knocks leh......, or maybe he loves the knocking noise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 i only notice the change in engine sound when i accelerate (95 sound more rough)...still half tank of 95 left..but i think the FC may not be that much of the difference yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 I think this may not be a case of cheapo cannot afford a car, but people who would pump a higher ron more than what the car needs. Why spend more on a high ron if their car only need min ron 91? In fact, s'pore is one of the few country where people have been buying higher ron petrol, that far exceed their car's min requirement, blindly. If not for the high petrol prices over the years, people will still be buying only ron98 or premium ron98. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uncleo 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 U look down on people who pump 92 is it? I pump 95 but sometimes 92. My car is latest civic paid 100% cash. One needs to be prudent. Even if I got Lambo I still pump 92 or 95.(unless manual says >95) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jalibhoy Neutral Newbie July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. dont generalize, Are you saying those who pump 92 when they should pump 95/98 are those that cant afford to buy a car, and those who pump 98/vpower when they can pump 95 means they can actually afford a lambo/ferrari but decided on a jap tin can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 (edited) As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. if it bothers u so much then u should help him to pump lah..talk so much...in the end u still kpkb wat the use??? maybe u should enlighten him...mah..new driver.... Edited July 12, 2008 by Hilander4650 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 how u know these ppl last time talk big pump vpower?...den now they switched to 92??...u've been monitoring them all these yrs?...or u know them all these yrs?come on...don jus judge ppl on de one time u see them. n y de biker can pump vpower for his laopok bike...cos bike doesn't use a lot of petrol...so de diff btwn lowest n highest grade is very small.mayb only a few cents or a dollar per full tank.so...they will jus pump de best.like dat a lot of de bikers r very rich la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 cant afford to pump Ron95 or above, don't own a car, cant afford ERP, don't own a car, cant afford $0.50 parking coupon, don't drive, drive a Red plate, don't own a car, drive with window down, don't own a car, cant send friend home on the other side of the island, don't own a car, dont know how to pump petrol, don't own a car, dont know how to reverse park, don't own a car, road hog, don't own a car, tailgate, don't own a car...... don't wash car, don't own a car can enlighten me? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...