Pentium 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. I drive a BMW 520 also pump ron 92. What's the problem as the manual says anything above ron 91 will do. anyway, even if you pump techron 100, your jap tin can cannot become a ferrari, why waste money. Save your money to upgrade your jap tin can. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Why do you want to believe all the crap advertisement put up by the oil cartel, where they say higher ron is better for your car???? Pump what is necessary and do not let the oil cartel earn more then what is necessary. They are holding you by your balls already, why give them more then required????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 cant afford to pump Ron95 or above, don't own a car, cant afford ERP, don't own a car, cant afford $0.50 parking coupon, don't drive, drive a Red plate, don't own a car, drive with window down, don't own a car, cant send friend home on the other side of the island, don't own a car, dont know how to pump petrol, don't own a car, dont know how to reverse park, don't own a car, road hog, don't own a car, tailgate, don't own a car...... don't wash car, don't own a car can enlighten me? don't know how to keep clean then don't drive lor luckily you never see my car before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 12, 2008 Author Share July 12, 2008 Good one.My car didnt turn into a ferrari.I just drive more economically. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 (edited) actually the difference between 92 n 98 price is not much. say most 15bucks diff full tank. so u can't say people cannot afford a car if they pump 92. i pump according to my manual minimum requirements. those who work on a thin financial basis to buy a car(say earn 2000,but car total cost mthly is 1500) are the ones facing the burden to continue driving if wages dont rise. wat would be most useful in this discussion is to educate new drivers(some old ones too) on how to pump their own petrol(92,95,98 watever). 1)drive to the pump, 2)open ur fuel cap cover(anticlockwise screwing). 3)lift the nossle of choice,(some pumps have an extra lever to pull up,usually device that the pump is resting on...) 4)put it into ur car, 5)squeeze trigger, 6)set the trigger lever to lowest level rest(u dont want petrol to overspill if the autocut sensor is faulty) 7)uncle will usually come by then,smile at him n walk towards the outlet to queue. 8)uncle will help u to follow up the rest... have a nice weekend,and remember to pump up,pump prices are expected to rise again Edited July 12, 2008 by Sky61 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beavc Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 I'm not saying 95 or 98 make my engine fly.The point i driving at now is in the past,all these ppl talk big,say Vpower,98 whatever clean my engine lah,make more "oomm" to the engine.All bxxxxxxt to me,I stick to 95 all along.And now,crude oil rise until so jia lat,these ppl shows their true colour,all switch to lower grade.I mean,if you drive a car that can accept 91,you go for 92 I understand.But for min 95 car?Btw,I ever saw a biker pump platinum techron into his lao pok pok bike.This is what I call rich.2 stroke engine with premium petrol. Too general already. Let's put it this way, got money must show off is it? Some pple no money also buy branded stuff...so the reverse could also be true. I mean dress well doesn't mean rich, wear berms and old t-shirts doesn't mean poor and not doing well...like me i dress in berms and gio polo (old looking) 99% of the time on weekend doesn't mean i am not doing ok... Choosing what petrol to pump is not only based upon wealth but also on knowledge...i mean why pump 98 if your car don't need it...i mean just like eating lor, i know eat ginseng is good, everyday eat meh...don't eat doesn't mean i cannot afford...may be thrifty... My bro stays in bt timah (exp condo all paid up) also ngeow pump 92 cos his car specs says can take...why bother pump extra...same with my aunt (stay at claymore)...lagi worse...classic credit card..why? subscription very ex...so if you look at that way...then the poor wants to hao lian more than the rich lor... so too general...to some a car is just a transport...to some cars are a passion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Wah bro....I think if you look down on ppl who pump RON92, I'm sure you'll even more look down on me. I drive MB E200 Kompressor, I pump CNG leh. Somemore I goody citizen, I got paste CNG stickers at front & rear bumper + front & rear windscreen. Pump RON92 means cannot afford to drive? I saw 1 old Jaguar just installed 2 x 35L CNG tank. I think it's also another Singapore's first. I think that guy also cannot even afford to pump RON92....same like me lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Since you think you so steady can afford the premium petrol....why don't you just keep on pumping the slightly more expensive premium petrol from Shell and Caltex? Can boost our economy so that poorer bros like us can be subsidised? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Some cars really need min RON95 I believe. My 323 says RON95. I pump RON92 at almost empty tank. No problems. Consumption is the same. tested many times same mileage. 13KM/L. Then I tried RON92 on the E200. Only pump $10 at empty. Car obviously weak and got misfiring....like want to mati. Then I pump RON95 at empty, back to normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 Chun bo? If you put water in..the engine will disco liao. Little bit can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 In some people mentality : - I stay bigger house than you, I better than you ... - I drive bigger car than you, I better than you... - I drive faster than you, I better than you....? - I pump petrol higher grade than you, I better than you ?? ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. I'm sure alot of pple have been telling them; with the quality of petrol nowadays there aren't much difference between ron 92 & 95. Sadly, these pple took it. Thinking they are saving for $$ in current situation of price hikes. However, I've paid 60 over thousands for my car and I'm not ready to feed my car with lower grade of petrol jus becoz its "no difference" in grade. 95 ron is still my choice... My car just simply deserve more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lendevear 1st Gear July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 As per topic,recently,probably due to the fuel hike,I saw alot of ppl pump Ron92.Personally i feel,these group of ppl are those with 0 downpayment and are feeling the pinch.I do feel the pinch of petrol price nowadays,but I'll never allow my car to drink anything below Ron95,i'm driving a jap tin can.Can this group of ppl,if in MCF,why pump 92 for your brand new alphard,civic 1.8,sunny etc? And today,this kuku driver driving a brand new civic,reach the station,don't even know how to pump,or rather wait for the service crew to help him.As the service crew approach,he asked,"sir,95 or 98?"he replied,92 will do,then keep pointing fingers here and there complaining.I mean,if can't afford to pump,don't drive. I have seen people who can afford a mercs and still take bus. Personally I also pump 92 only for my sunny. If that station does not have it, I will drive off. I have no car loan to service by the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 it is true but most modern cars are design to take 92 and have sensors to prevent misfiring older models usually have these problems I am driving a LS430 and have been using 92 since day I went I got the car the guys at service (AD) did not notice any either just follow your car manua recommendations and you are pretty safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 How to tell ppl hardly can own a car? When they go around wondering if others can afford one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 yes I agree even if someone can afford to eat abalone for breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper; sharkfins for tea ...does not mean he must do it similarly if one owns an expensive car does not mean he cannot take a bus or walk to work look at Warren Buffet he is staying in the same house for the past god knows 20 odd years and it is a modest size house he is billions times riches than all the combine Mcforumers asset put together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblues Neutral Newbie July 12, 2008 Share July 12, 2008 The latest generation of Civic needs a minimum of RON91. For me I tried 92 and 95. 95 doesn't give me more power nor better mileage, so I stuck with 92. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...