Wah...better dont anyhow protest abt inflation.....

Wish1719

RTRS - Singapore charges 19 for protest on rising prices

SINGAPORE, July 11 (Reuters) - A Singapore court charged 19 people on Friday, including several opposition party members, for taking part in a protest over rising prices in the city-state. Amongst those accused was Chee Soon Juan, leader of Singapore's most vocal opposition party, the Singapore Democratic Party, and several of its executive members.

Court documents showed they were charged for participating in a procession and an assembly, offences that carry a maximum fine of S$1,000 ($735).

"The Tak Boleh Tahan Protest was meant to speak out against the multitude of ill-timed price hikes initiated by the government," said a joint press statement by the group. Tak Boleh Tahan means "Cannot Take It" in Bahasa Malay.

Singapore's inflation is at a 26-year high, leaving increasing numbers of the city's poor turning to temples for free food.

Some economists believe the government's two percent tax hike on goods and services last July helped stoke inflationary pressures.

Protests in Singapore are rare and an assembly of five or more people requires a permit

from the police. Singapore says it needs tough laws on assembly for the maintenance of peace and stability.

The accused said they will go to trial but are currently without legal representation. In a press statement, the group's sole lawyer, Chia Ti Lik, said he was unable to represent them because he was also accused.

"We are now all the more convinced that the protest was needed and justified and simply

had to be done," the statement said. "We make an appeal for Singaporean lawyers to come

forward to represent us in these proceedings." ($1=1.360 S$)

(Reporting by Melanie Lee; Editing by Neil Chatterjee and Jerry Norton)

(([email protected]; +65 6403 5666; Reuters Messaging:

[email protected]))

Please double-click on the newslink:

[iD:nSINLIFE] for stories on Singapore Keywords: SINGAPORE PROTESTS/

the number of pple protesting is currently too small..that's why they can round them up and bring them to court..if the number of protestors swelled up to tens of thousands, I doubt they can do anything.. [thumbsup]

Have to agree with the article..if someone not from the govt made an inaccurate statement like tat under oath, definitely will get into trouble...newspapers will splash headlines all over the place abt the misbehaviour..someone though can just shoot anything off from his mouth but gets away with it and the press keep quiet..there is no justice on this small island.. [:/]

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/component/con...-up-under-oath-

the number of pple protesting is currently too small..that's why they can round them up and bring them to court..if the number of protestors swelled up to tens of thousands, I doubt they can do anything.. [thumbsup]

Then u go join lo [sly]

Sigh...protesting in sg...its impossible...

Got time to protest why not go earn more money...

now shiok...1000 goes to government...

[sly] We need a good lawyer to represent them..Knowing how supportive MCF is, I exhort someone here to throw in their support!

[laugh] Waste of time right? Take a look at the constitution...esp clause (2)...'subject to restrictions'...does it mean anything? of course...u can speak, assemble etc etc...but subject to conditions...

Freedom of speech, assembly and association

singaporeans all talk only, no action one.

complain this complain that, tsk tsk. [shakehead]

Edited by Kifakw

Even though i think he is crazy 9/10 times, i felt he had done something right this round.. Esp after certain MIWs talked about HUMAN RIGHTS.. This is the Rights we have.. thumbsdown.gif

the common denomination that any peasant can agree with MIW is $

the same denomination is also a bone of discontent when it comes to taxes, hidden taxes and inflation.

it's all a matter of tahan-ness.

even the so called well disciplined gurkhas can turn into hooligans engaged in scuffles tat polis will say is rioting if this happen to b done by peasants.

then again.. think.

burmese protest almost to hundreds.. at cityhall mrt, then in front of their embassy.

polis ball less to arrest them... why?

mebbe they r only good to deal with pple like CSJ.

does these pple deserve to get their pay fr ur tax? go figure..