Ho Chi Minh City - Anything to recommend?

Green_carnation

Stayed at New World Saigon, http://www.newworldsaigon.com/, about 5mins walk from Ben Thanh market, there is also a night market which sells mainly cloths.

There is another market at china town, forgot its name.

Spent 1/2 a day traveling to the Mekong Delta, nothing fantastic, just loads of palm trees and dragon fruits. [:/]

stay in district 1 lah

go visit:

1) Ben Thanh Market - day n nite mkt

2) Grand post office to take pictures

3) Notre Dame church to take pictures

4) War Remnants Museum - must go. U will see the vietnam war from another perspective. BTW, they call it the American War

5) Day trip to Cu Chi tunnels - must go

6) Day trip to mekong delta - be amaze how the breadth of the river is longer than SIN from north to south!

7) Roof top bar of Caravelle Hotel - nice view of the city which doesnt seem to sleep

8) Hard Rock Cafe ho chi minh city - not sure if it's still around. Well technically, this place is not the real mccoy. It's a pirated one. But it seem so authentic and it's very popular with tourists.

There u go.... have fun. And enjoy beo-ing the vietnam girls in their ao-dai!!! So chio and slim!!! [inlove]

Gals there all sim sim one, pek pek kut kut. [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

I realised something on the second day, just cross the damn road and the bikes will automatically avoid you. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Dun bother changing to USD.

If u have USD in hand, bring it along. If not, bring SGD. Dun go thru 2 rounds of foreign exchange

Change your notes at the bank. Exchange rates is competitive for SGD at banks and money changer.

Ask for VND100,000 notes (Green). If u use the 500,000 notes, problem is when u get change, u may get real dirty small notes or fake notes.

Exchange rate: 1SGD= 12400VND. 1USD=16850VND.

At this moment, the official fixed rate for the VND/USD overvalues the VND so u get less if u change from SGD to USD.

forgot to mention.... go to Pho 2000 to eat the beef glass noodle. There is one near Ben Thanh Market. Bill Clinton last time got go there eat before [:)]

oh... 3 days only??? then u got to decide which one to choose leow...

1) Ben Thanh Market - day n nite mkt - at most 2 hours

2) Grand post office to take pictures - 15 mins

3) Notre Dame church to take pictures - 15 mins

4) War Remnants Museum - must go. U will see the vietnam war from another perspective. BTW, they call it the American War - 2-3 hours

5) Day trip to Cu Chi tunnels - must go - 1 full day (morning to evening)

6) Day trip to mekong delta - be amaze how the breadth of the river is longer than SIN from north to south! - 1 full day (morning to evening)

7) Roof top bar of Caravelle Hotel - nice view of the city which doesnt seem to sleep - i went almost every nite

8) Hard Rock Cafe ho chi minh city - not sure if it's still around. Well technically, this place is not the real mccoy. It's a pirated one. But it seem so authentic and it's very popular with tourists. - 1 hour plus

Except for the cu chi tunnels and mekong delta which requires 1/2 day of traveling each, the rest are all within the city. [nod]