Teriyaki Neutral Newbie July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Hi guys, I always see many advertisements in The New Paper classified ads.. Always have such ads... Need Cash??? $500 - $15000 cash - Sign new handphone line - No CPF Investment - No Property sale Are they for real?? Why so good.. Sign new handphone line can get so much money? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Sign Up handphone Line Bankrupt Faster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 (edited) They ask u sign the most expensive line, get a discounted phone and sell them the phone for cash . U can sign many lines (think 5?) and get many Repeat this another 2 times with the other 2 service providers. At the end, u get cash and monthly phoneline subscriptions. That was what I was told by one insider. Edited July 8, 2008 by Kenneve888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Sound like a trap! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Threeleggedman 3rd Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Does it mean you have to pay for the remaining contract of the phone line? I am also curious.. paying for so many lines is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie July 8, 2008 Author Share July 8, 2008 i see. wow, this is bad.. assuming the monthly subscription for 1 most expensive line is about $150, 15 lines will be $2250 that you have to pay to telco for useless phone lines? thanks very much for the info anyway... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie July 8, 2008 Author Share July 8, 2008 seriously, i really think this sounds illegal.. how come the authorities are doing nothing to prevent such an advertisement? seems to be a scam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Only goondus would take up tis offer,eyes on the upfront $$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 When people are desperate for $$$$$, they can do silly things. So what have to pay $2K a month? Get hold of 10+ phones, selling each at $500 brandnew, get the $$$ to tide over. After that, jump off HDB or MRT track lor. Heard of another one - the hirepurchase scheme. Work like the above: you get the item, you sell the item, but you continue with installments. You cannot pay, Courts or the like will come after you, but the buyer of your item disappear liao. Courts or the like then sue you lor...heard a lot of people, esp. those (one race... whom you see them in Courts by the dozens) employed this ploy before. Not sure of the latest situation though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 I am afraid, yes. Telco comes after you lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 yup , this one is prevalent till tis day . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ethene 1st Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Hi guys, I always see many advertisements in The New Paper classified ads.. Always have such ads... Need Cash??? $500 - $15000 cash - Sign new handphone line - No CPF Investment - No Property sale Are they for real?? Why so good.. Sign new handphone line can get so much money? I used to work in an orange telco and there will always be this group of people who operates in a team. What they do is, victims (for wad i see is always non chinese) approach them for $. Then they will bring them to the shop to sign the line and tell the victim to get the specific phone they want. They will stay behind the victim when they sign contact and manipulate the process. From there, there will pay them a certain amount of cash to the victim. This will leave the victim for a 2 year contract to pay for the monthly bill. Usually these victim will be blacklisted due to non payment and they will move on to the next telco. But they don't know that the blacklist database is shared by the 3 telcos. Now i think they know liao. Usually victims who do that are super desperate for money and doesn't really have brain to think. We know they are doing this but it's greyed in the books of law, that's why we never really do anything. They sign better we hit target. lol. When these ppl get the phone. they will pass to a "boss", usually is a handphone shop owner and they get like $50 commission for a set of phone depending on the model. So if one day they do 5 transaction, they earn $250. Else they can choose to sell the set themselves if they can get more than their commision. you can consider doing that also. good money. then u can be like them wandering around the telco shop every weekends for the whole day. lol. My telco was in bugis. haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 This newpaper ah..like very unscrupulous..always got such sleazy/illegal ads i feel. Not only for this "Need Cash?" ad. they also have "Need Sex?" kinda ad...so many massage parlour ads... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Read that some ah longs do this too. They will ask their "clients" to purchase a plasma or LCD TV on an installment plan and then buy it back from them at a low price. Ah long gets $$$ from reselling it and does not have to worry about planning pig head and graffiti missions. "Client" gets $$$ and has to settle installment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 Only goondus would take up tis offer,eyes on the upfront $$$ there are alot of gambling addicts unker and ah soh out there wanted to go casino yet no $$$ wud do all these, i got a friend who is a SIGN LINE agent... there is one time he signed more than 50 lines in just 1 day... that's explain why every sat/ sun so many people q up at telco to get new line or recontract... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 There's a similar thread here: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=2380219; Copy n paste my reply on that thread (which is also relevant here): This is how the "fast cash" thing works: 1) The "Ah Long" operates a separate trading business. He would take order from customers and offer cheaper prices then ask them to wait. 2) When "borrower" calls "Ah long" for loan, he will be asked to go Harvey Normans or similar to buy something that his customer ordered and pay by credit card 0% interest installment, eg. LCD TV at $2000. 3) "Borrower" then sells the LCD TV to "Ah long" at a loss, eg. $1500. The Ah long will pay the "borrower" cash. 4) "Borrower" now has $1500 cash in his hands (what they call "fast cash") and a credit card debt of $2000 he has to pay (borrower pays installments to bank instead of ah long...this way ah long saves on runners, black paint and pig head expenses! ). 5) "Ah long" will then sell the LCD TV at say $1900 to his customer and earn $400. Legal or not I don't know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear July 9, 2008 Share July 9, 2008 seriously, i really think this sounds illegal.. how come the authorities are doing nothing to prevent such an advertisement? seems to be a scam. Some need $$$ Urgent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear July 9, 2008 Share July 9, 2008 con pple one lah....Sign new hp line, who knws what they use the line for...Illegal transactions? Den you are doomed.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...