Jman888 Moderator July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i stop going to Orchard for more than 1 year (partly due to the damn ERP ), but i do eat out every week (cost at least $600 for per month) and watch movie with kids. I guess i am having good time with my family but cut spending on unnecessary purchases on luxury goods Well i stopped thinking of mod my car, thats a huge saving liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuze Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 The civil servants I know are spending like there's no tomorrow.. Which is good for the economy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 why leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sswh218 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Eat healthy and spend wisely. In this era, wealth and health are the 2 most important things in life. Without them, you will definitely be not happy. If you have them, you have very much a higher chance of being happy. If you need to take a loan to buy a car, then the car is not affordable to you because you cannot pay for it upfront and you are taking future money to pay for a car. It is the same as buying a LCD TV and paying monthly instalment for it (on hire purchase). I never believe in taking a loan (or paying monthly instalments) to buy a piece of furniture or washing machine or a LCD TV. I am debt-free; not that I am rich, but because I do not go for expensive cars or condo. I drive a fully-paid korean car and live in a fully-paid 5-room HDB house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i disagree with the Boston report recommendations as quoted in your article. In stagflation or inflation, your money/cash is decreasing at a faster rate than compared to commodities/properties/stocks etc in real money terms. By hoarding all of the money in the bank which give you a measly interest rate, you are in fact losing in terms of monetary value. Since we are not looking in the business sense of a speculator so i am not advocating changing whatever you have in money to bullion etc. i feel it's more prudent to cut down on spending as opposed to hoarding everything in the bank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daveneo Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Author Share July 7, 2008 thumbs up! debt reduction and debt free.. that's the key words... U starting a business now? Wanna share why you want to do it so that bros here can gain some pointers.... esp in this situation when everything is expensive, you are quite daring to start up a business... another thumbs up... Thank you. Dave Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daveneo Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Author Share July 7, 2008 come sep... family with 2 cars will defintely kill one car... Thank you Dave Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 I just need a car to transport me from home to work (an vice-versa). My lau pok kar has served this purpose well. No need to change a new car for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daveneo Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Author Share July 7, 2008 to be debt-free now in Sg, you must have strike toto or something.... for me, i am on the 30 years loan thingy from HDB... Guess it will take "some" time before I can say I am debt free.. sigh.... Personally, I feel health is more important than wealth... Thank you Dave Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i will be lucky if i can drive my car till end of it's life. as for spendg, will do it on a need to basis. time to change car liao.... your car so old liao, somemore depreciate so much/ yr... come come, next trip u back we go car shopping Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Yes, if it is within your means, definitely you can. But do some research first, I know some banks are already increasing their loan interest... just be careful.. Thank you. Dave I agree. Banks are also more careful in giving out loan. I guess, for me, I'll have to factor in the higher loans, etc and decide on the amount I will be borrowing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Yes, will buy a NEW car if really needs one. Current Ride is still good & running 12km to a Litre. Without a Car my quality of Life is So Die Die will replace & buy a 20km to a Litre Cute Small Car Hav been Living within my mean & very careful with $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 (edited) .....If you need to take a loan to buy a car, then the car is not affordable to you because you cannot pay for it upfront and you are taking future money to pay for a car.....I am debt-free; not that I am rich, but because I do not go for expensive cars or condo. I drive a fully-paid korean car and live in a fully-paid 5-room HDB house. I agree and don't agree on the part regarding taking loan to buy a car means that person can afford a car. Car is probably to many, the 2nd most expensive purchase, so taking a loan is reasonable. But of course, a lot depend on that person's disposable income, the loan amount & repayment period, interest rate, the nature of that person job, etc... Some just would like to keep some of the fund liquid for emergency and use their monthly disposable income to support that wants. Different people have a different ways to prioritize that funds. Take myself for example, my wife and I do our budget for house, cars and other expenses based on 1 person's income (the one with the lower income)....so that we'll have enough money for savings, investment, etc...and should 1 of us lose our job, our essential such as loan repayment will not be affected. If 2 of us should lose our job, we can dig into the other person's savings to pay the bills and loan for some times. Should we need even more, we can still use the money we invested (even if we have to make some loses, etc). To be 100% debt-free, especially for a young family who buy their own house, eat on their own, etc...will be almost impossible. The key is how to manage your finances.. Edited July 7, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daveneo Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Author Share July 7, 2008 I came across this article today and it has definitely open up my mind a lot. I never realise that our oil is tied to the US$. http://www.mondovista.com/money.html Do you know that there are 2 types of US Dollars Notes? I didn't know until I read this. This Dan Eden has a lot of fans with his write-ups. Check it out! I think you will love his write-ups. My friend has bought an AIA US$ policy previously and with the decrease so abruptly, she is hoping that the day she surrenders the policy, it will be US$1.8 against S$1. Thank you. Dave Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 actually your car may feel hurt if she knows you call her lau pok kar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 (edited) So Die Die will replace & buy a 20km to a Litre Cute Small Car Thumbs UpHav been Living within my mean & very careful with $$$. 20km/L? Kelisa might be the only car (now) to achieve this figure. Picanto probably can't reach that target. Edited July 7, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 new honda fit should be able to hit that too toyota Prius also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daveneo Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Author Share July 7, 2008 Toyota Prius too expensive lah.. Thank you Dave ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...