Apollo 1st Gear July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 dun think exo r heavy at all.. not much diff in wt. if really wt is concern, go for CF bucket seats, again tat cost $$. dun pump full tank petrol, just slightly abt 1/2 tank will do. pump more carry parasite load esp if it take > 1 wk to refill. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 u already wanna do it, so don't think so much, just go for it. i've done it, and i can say that it only releases a bit more power. u gotta step on it to get that power (not much in my case anyway). FC depends on how much power u want ur engine to output. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icetrap 2nd Gear July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Logically, it should help in fuel consumption. However, the more free-flowing exhuast and the sound, people will rev more, so in turn causing poorer fuel consumption. To be frank, if you are really so anal about fuel consumption you shouldn't be modding your car bro. Stock is the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Change aftermarket exhaust + drive normally = better FC (Tried & tested) Change exhaust + indulge in occasional hard acceleration = FC more or less the same, or increase slightly Change exhaust + whack most of the time = FC increase. Simple as that. Just make sure the exhaust piping throughout is not enlarged by too much or try to keep the diameter the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 how abt change 421 extractor and keep exo? surely with bigger diameter upstream the flow will b better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Not necessarily. Extractor will confirm give slightly better power, but a little pointless if there's a bottleneck somewhere down the line. In other words, if an extractor is designed to give extra 2% in HP, with the bottleneck, you're only getting around maybe 40% of the improvement. Which means an actual increase of maybe 0.8% in HP for the money. It's like a Pentium 4 CPU chip on the latest top of the line motherboard, but pairing it with DDR266 RAMs. There's a bottleneck in the memory bus that keeps the CPU from operating at it's peak potential. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 this is precisely what i have in mind.logically freeing up your exhaust system should help better in fuel consumption.but that in-turn gives you lesser low end power thus pple seems to rev even more resulting in more fuel consumption.i've used trust ti , fgk , blitz ,supersprint and currently hks hipower 409.i find that all of the above gives me more or less about the same fc .remember if you ever plan to go straight thru , best is go for tuning.it will give you back slightly better fc and more potential interms of performance. in my case, be it high fc or low fc , nothing beats the exciting and thrill of the nice exhaust nodes so i would suggest ,just go with the aftermarket exhaust . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 eh bro stock my foot! if stock is good you ES wont be like that liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Logically, it should help in fuel consumption. However, the more free-flowing exhuast and the sound, people will rev more, so in turn causing poorer fuel consumption. To be frank, if you are really so anal about fuel consumption you shouldn't be modding your car bro. Stock is the best. not true lah.. stock r tuned to rich fuel-air ratio. definitely must mod abit to change that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icetrap 2nd Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 We talking about stock car bro not high compression stock type R. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i using a third hand supersrprint muffler.... LTA pass one louder nicer ..... and more free flow. i tested with the same style driving. FC worsen by 50km. and if i pull. lucky worst. tats all i can say . but shoik tats all .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 you want to save petrol by changing exhaust? save the money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 no nid type R, use OBD and check, ur stock engine is definitely tuned rich F-A Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 aiya.. my kah only Pentium II, not Pentium Quad, so chinchye lah. if extractor can improve i seriously consider. becos exo also can get stolen. i think extractor a bit more difficult to remove. somemore if can get street legal one, why not. boom boom lane 8 got cert no issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidcks 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Author Share July 7, 2008 Thank you everyone for contributing, I guess the point is want to do, do dun think so much. hee. Dun even think about the FC, as it can be compensated by the sound. I believe many change for the sound as it can be additive. I exhaust I may get is a plug and play type. So remove current and install the second hand aftermarket type. Aiya, anyway at the end of this, maybe it is better to save the $$$ for something else. hee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Which type u want 4 into 1 or 4-2-1...sure got improvement,petrol oso upz,dont forget to operate your exos Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Extractor wu legal one meh? So far only heard of cat-back systems that are LTA approved, unless maybe it's those TRD or STi original extractor with simi TUV certification. Your money, you decide where & what to spend it on, as long as you're aware that you won't be getting the full 100% potential of the extractor. No point spend money & yet complain to yourself it was money wasted for nothing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 i dunno extractor wu legal one anot mah, if i know dun hv to ask u liaoz. ..annie way but i ask FK liaoz. must check chasis number. mebbe got fr thailand bigger diamter steel one not stainless just lut one in can rite? extractor still chirper then exo mah. no $$ to mod is lidat. do like indian temple, one brick at a time. last time the indian temple at TPY also took long long time to complete. so eventually i will get exo & tuned to AiPakSee Neo lor.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...