ICE Discussion For Newbies

May I know what is a comfortable budget for an entry level ICE newbie like me? What should I start off with first? Is it wise to upgrade stock to component speakers first? Or should we sp the car first to prep it for ICE?

Really hope our discussion here can benefit budding ICE enthusiast in MCF. [:)]

Cheers! [flowerface]

Hi there

Perhaps if you are not using OEM integrated HU, you can look to change your HU to brands like Pioneer , Clarion or Alpine. But then, you would have to listen to each type of HU to see which sound you like. After which, you may want to consider getting a decent pair of component speakers (like Rainbow, CDT or DA etc). This should be quite ok.

At a later stage, you may want to sound proof your front doors (2 layers)and add an amplifier to power your front component speakers. If you likemore bass (or boom boom), you can look at getting a subwoofer. Finally, if your poison is running so deep,you can later add a processor to improve ur SQ.

Of course, not to forget that you would need to tune ur setup. You could either ask the help of many gurus here on this aspect or look for an established installer to help you with your installation and/or tuning.

Happy Iceing

cheers

Subs don't boom unless you go for SPL and cross them at 80hz. At below 63hz, they don't boom, they rumble. [laugh]

Bro firstly what's your budget like?

With a budget, it'll be easier for us to recommend..

Definitely, priority will go to soundproofing a good HU, with good compenent speakers. This will help you to save some cash for future upgrades. But do take note, component set comes in 2 way and 3 way. For entry level i normally recommend a good 2 way set up, then upgrade to 3 way later, thus enabling you to learn and appreciate the differences in the 2 different system set up. IMHO put aside mid 2k+ for speakers, HU and soundproofing.

3way is posionous, and you really want a really good 3way set up, be prepare to spend 20k+++

Then if due to budget restrain, you can go for a budget 4 channel amp with a monoblock for 2 channel or 5 channel amp.

IMHO Get a sub if your budget permits, orelse keep on hold fist.. Definitely this depends on the music you listening to.

This is just my opinion, and definitely individual has individual views.

But one thing i will believe many do agree that soundproofing, hu and good speakers are very important for a set up ;)

Yo bro/sis...hehe...

Come for meetup leh...you're the first person i know using the 7200..i wanna see/hear/touch it :)

Wanna see the difference between my 7100 and the 7200...should be better ya?

No problem bro.

My car still at audio shop doing up.

Shld be next week, i'll collect my car..

We'll arrange for meet up then, but dun hope too much coz it's still raw.. Have to go back every other 2 days for fine tuning..

anyway the differences between 2 HU shld be the copper-plated chassis and no power amplification(7100 do not have it right?)

Central at AMK...

Go to ICE Meet Up thread for the location...

MU is weekly once or twice a week....

Edited by Blue2

If I plunge in $500 for a small start, is it too little? Is it enough to buy a pair of component speakers? [confused]

My ride has integrated HU. Not sure can install another HU or not. Seems quite complicated.

If I buy a pair of component speakers first, will my integrated HU be able to power my component speakers?

Is amp really needed for a start?

yes i believe for a component speaker.

DLS Reference series or hertz hi-energy is one of the few choices.

There's other brands too yea?

AMK ar..

kk will drop by next week if possible coz current new showroom at alexandra. CTE all the way up lor lol