Damienic 5th Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 One forumer actually shared his experience before abt this in a much older thread similar to this..he very garang..he said one day he bad mood and go for lunch in CBD and seeing those tissue paper gets him really pissed after thinking the lousy morning he went thru..so he bochap, remove the tissue paper and sit down to eat..after few mins, some gals came back and told him off..refusing to be cowed, he told them 'wat tissue paper?? got meh? even if got, so wat? you mean you are represented by tissue paper? or the tissue paper got your name on it?? He let fly and the ladies seeing he not to be trifled with, decide to move elsewhere.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 like i said... (somehow people like to do selective readings) it shows that you never work in CBD. Who is the one who suka suka set a practice???? Nail me the single person who set this in motion You can't. Why? Because a lot of people practice it. And when a motion is supported by many people who practice it, it is an unwritten law. That's how law comes about anyway. People from outside who don't live in that environment should refrain from making stupid comments because they've got no idea. BTW, it's only a handful of people compraining about the practice. Do you know how many thousands people practice it??? If you've got a better system, tell me about it. It is different from parking lot, don't confuse yourself and others. Actually, that's the problem...If someone do something wrong and everyone follows..then this wrong thing seem like the right thing to do.. In this tissue paper incident, the underlying mentality for doing that is kiasu..and then follow by since can't beat them I join them mentality(again kiasu). So everyone will try means to out do one another (eg. ppl using belt, shoe,etc) until we totally lose the garcefulness....I mean at the first place no need to do that...Eg during our school days, recess time only 20 minutes, we also nvr use tissue paper to chop place mah...all queue for food then find seat lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 The problem here is not got class no class. The real problem is : If you can suka suka set a pratice and think it is logic and reasonable and other got to adapt to it, then are u saying that you are "KING"?? Then tomorrow you can go hospital and put a tissue on one empty bed and claimed this bed was chopped by you till you think u don need to reserved it anymore. And pples got to accept it?? The next day you can put a pail at a empty parking lot and claim it was reserved for you or your friend and nobody can park at that particular lot in the public carpark. And pples got to accept it? i say this are inconsiderate and selfish!! The sillyporean are starting to behave like our govt, suka suka implement their own rules and use it rightfully. Sighz........ it is not something that someone suka suka come up with; it's been a practice that's going on for ages. not everything need to be impose top down, there can be rules of social courtesy that just form itself "bottom up" why must everything be sanctioned by govt? why must all social initiatives come from govt??? obviously, there must be a certain "reasonableness" in the rule before the masses will adopt and respect it. the two examples u give are not reasonable. the tissue paper system is. the stand on left of escalator rule is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 (edited) why is buying food first and then find seat later a better system than find seat first and buy food later? i would think better to find seat first. a school canteen is always built and canteen time is managed such that there wont be students standing around without seat. ok, let's say, there is only one hawker centre in your vincinity, 800 seats. there are 1000 lunchers eating between 12 - 1 pm. which is the better system, one that let u get seat first and buy food, or one that you buy food and then walk around with your food to look for a seat or wait for a seat to empty? if you can design a system, which would u put in place??? Edited July 1, 2008 by Chongster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 Agree ... find seat first more important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 Initially, I thought that was the problem when I started working in CBD. But I came to realise that what I termed "wrong" or in your case "kiasu" was in fact an evolution. In recess, there's always enough seats. In CBD, try Golden Shoe. It's a disaster! Queuing for food alone will take you 10 minutes if not more. Looking for a seat while holding a tray of HOT Yong Tau Hu is no joke. It makes more sense to look for a seat first than ordering food and then looking for a seat. Now this system of tissue reservation can't make your life any easier. Just imagine, again, 100 people, slowed by their holding trays of food and looking for a seat. These 100 people will create a Human JAM within the food center Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 Eg during our school days, recess time only 20 minutes, we also nvr use tissue paper to chop place mah...all queue for food then find seat lor... Hmm during my school days, we use textbook, file, or school bag to chope. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 looks like we share exactly the same thoughts and experience Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 ha ha ha... that one during my poly days... or buy drink first then use the drink to chope. talking about which... it's about time I go get my lunchie.... hungwee liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 ha ha... I'm a Golden Shoe Veteran Kena awarded purple heart for spilling hot soup onto my hand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 Bro! I had been having lunch alone for years. I know it is crowded in CBD during lunch time, and this don only happen iin CDB. Everywhere same in lunch hours at weekdays. I choosed to pack back or go at a later time to avoid the crowd. Why pple always think they are right? Even our govt also know that sillyporean are kknow as proud and arrogant in other countries. Yup, if everyone practice no seat reservation...then what's the problem.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 ....In this tissue paper incident, the underlying mentality for doing that is kiasu..and then follow by since can't beat them I join them mentality(again kiasu). So everyone will try means to out do one another (eg. ppl using belt, shoe,etc) until we totally lose the garcefulness ....I mean at the first place no need to do that...Eg during our school days, recess time only 20 minutes, we also nvr use tissue paper to chop place mah...all queue for food then find seat lor... I agree on the part of gracefulness. 2 wrongs don't make a right. If I'm alone, I would prefer to buy food 1st then get a seat. I think such system is better...cos while you are in the queue, others would have been eating and should be able to leave after you got your food. Wait while will not kill. If I don't feel like waiting, I'll buy fast food or bring my own lunch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 When women get angry!!! TRUST ME!! you won't want to experience that especially in a crowded place. Especially for bros who married, you know wat i mean. yes... I know EXACTLY what u mean... Ever see a man kenna from an aunty bcos he brush the tissue paper a side and took the seats. The aunty got stamina seh...scold and yell at that man until he finish his food...I tell you..If you want to play punk with char bor..prepare to be super thick skin...so thick their bullet cannot shoot thru' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 Bro! I had been having lunch alone for years. I know it is crowded in CBD during lunch time, and this don only happen iin CDB. Everywhere same in lunch hours at weekdays. I choosed to pack back or go at a later time to avoid the crowd. Why pple always think they are right? Even our govt also know that sillyporean are kknow as proud and arrogant in other countries. It's not a matter of always thinking they are right but this is a system that works given the contraint of the lunch period and limited seating in the CBD area. So until someone comes up with a better and more efficient system, people will just continue to adopt this practice. What has arrogance got to do with this? And by the way, not everyone has the luxury to choose what time to eat and I don't know about you but I definitely don't want to ta pow lunch every single day of my life given that there are so many to look at during lunch.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 wat about nick printed on it??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 And how does it feel when you can't find a seat after buying your food? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 Look at it on the efficience level. If they leave 1 guy to chop, it just translate to hogging the table for a longer time. Anyway, in both cases, the 1 who came late wouldn't have a seat...so what is the differences here?The diff is how you get the seat. Using tissue to reserve a table is not graceful. How would you like it if a family of 4 jumped out of a car in a very crowded car park and start to looking for an empty lot and reserve it so that the one who is driving their car can get the lot before anyone else (who might be waiting for a lot, but not near enough to the empty lot)? More efficient way to get a parking lot and clear the 'jam' (1 less car waiting for a lot)....but would that be a 'good' way to get a lot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 1, 2008 Share July 1, 2008 If all the stalls are forced to serve customers their order, then the stall onwers must hire a person to do the serving and this translates to higher operating cost. Guess who will bear this cost? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...