Ccssgm 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 FAMILIES living in HDB homes will receive utility rebates of up to $220 in the next six months, with those in smaller flats getting more. In all, about $134 million will be given out to more than 780,000 HDB households this fiscal year, said the Ministry of Finance yesterday. The rebates will be given in two stages: the first next month and the second tranche in January next year. People living in one- or two-room flats, for example, will get rebates totalling $220, while those living in a four-room flat will receive $190, the statement said. These Utilities-Save (U-Save) rebates were introduced last year, to be given out annually for five years. Altogether, $550 million will be disbursed. The rebates are part of a $4 billion package to offset the 2 percentage point hike in the goods and services tax, which kicked in last year. Singapore Power will inform families of what they will get in their July utility bill. The sum will be used to offset a family's bill directly. The ministry said that, for most families, next month's rebates were more than enough to cover this year's tariff increases when coupled with those given out in January this year. So GOOD ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 This is machiam like the GST credits... Pay you a bit and take more back from you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Author Share June 27, 2008 Give U some Sweet 1st What is going to Happen Wait and SEE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Don't have to wait and see... We all already know what's coming... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Altogether, $550 million will be disbursed. The rebates are part of a $4 billion package to offset the 2 percentage point hike in the goods and services tax, which kicked in last year. wonder how many billion income for them with 2% GST hike.. and i wont be surprised, some people will think this is an ang pow from MIW for the poor to counter recent inflation.... btw, they always say increase this not the way, reduce that not the way, "will help the poor to pull thru this inflation period, where is the action plan huh??"".... dont tell me this utility rebate is part of the plan hor..!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 they can say what they like... but you cannot express yourself openingly else got people come knocking on your door.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 its our money anyway... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 I don't get a single cent from them..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Ai ya, this is Singapore. got money take, just take. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 u sit business class mah... only the peasants in the cattle section quarify Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endorrachua Neutral Newbie June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 FAMILIES living in HDB homes will receive utility rebates of up to $220 in the next six months, with those in smaller flats getting more. In all, about $134 million will be given out to more than 780,000 HDB households this fiscal year, said the Ministry of Finance yesterday. The rebates will be given in two stages: the first next month and the second tranche in January next year. People living in one- or two-room flats, for example, will get rebates totalling $220, while those living in a four-room flat will receive $190, the statement said. These Utilities-Save (U-Save) rebates were introduced last year, to be given out annually for five years. Altogether, $550 million will be disbursed. The rebates are part of a $4 billion package to offset the 2 percentage point hike in the goods and services tax, which kicked in last year. Singapore Power will inform families of what they will get in their July utility bill. The sum will be used to offset a family's bill directly. The ministry said that, for most families, next month's rebates were more than enough to cover this year's tariff increases when coupled with those given out in January this year. So GOOD ? Got rebate meh?? Didn't they just annouced that increased 5% somewhere next month?? Haha. very good at playing "plus" and "minus" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Where got good news? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Got rebate meh?? Didn't they just annouced that increased 5% somewhere next month?? Haha. very good at playing "plus" and "minus" I am also wondering that too ... anyway I think those stay HDB 5-room or bigger will get worst ... bill rate increase + no rebate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 (edited) Usually S'pore gov package is more benefit for low income... If you are middle-low income and above... you wont feel any difference Those just above the low income mark is most jialat... Edited June 27, 2008 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Give U some Sweet 1st What is going to Happen Wait and SEE Wait and SEE (mati) ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 I am also subjected to Personal Income Tax Goods & Services Tax Utility Tax Property Tax Road Tax ERP Charges and alltheothertaxeswhicheverysingaporecitizenhavetopayfromcradletograve..... I have also dutifully served my National Service and also did my reservist duties, keeping myself fit so that I could do the 2.4km run every year etc etc etc.... Why should I not be given a subsidy just because I can afford better housing!!!!!! NABEI!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 This is machiam like the GST credits... Pay you a bit and take more back from you...rebate is always fixed amount, probably set at lower percentile, but raise in living expenses is variable. likelihood is that variable expenses is more than fixed amount rebate. so nett loss for many. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 U are wrong,.... HDB 5 room and executive flats do get some rebates too..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...