Viper0419 Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 Earlier this year, a motorcycle bank into my rear in the highway. it was just a minor accident, he fell and cut his elbows, my rear bumper dropped and the side of my car got scratched. his motorcycle has light scratches. the traffic police was involved but did not give any of us any summons, just a stern warning for negligence ( i still wonder why until today since he hit me from behind on a busy morning traffic highway and i was driving at the most 20km/h). i helped him pick up his bike, push it to the side of the road, give him tissues to clean his wound, call for ambulance and wait with him till the TP and ambulance arrive. my insurance agent asked me to claim damages on the person since he hit me from behind. my agent also warn me that if i don't do it, don't expect them to reciprocate. in the afternoon on the same day, i went to TP HQ to file a report as required. Guess what? the motorcyclist was there as well. So he is fine, no major injuries, just minor cuts on his elbows. seeing that he is injured, i decided not to claim any damages against the protest of my agent. but i always believe that a good deed will receive positive karma. guess what? today i received from my insurance company that the farker is claiming a huge amount of money from me. see, i should have do what most people would have done. either run him over or claim all my repairs on him. i've learned today never to be kind-hearted and always be shrewd when it comes to dealing with people on the road from today on. very disappointed in man-kind... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 (edited) and all along, you didn't ask him to write anything to acknowledge that everything is settled and there's not going to be claim between both parties? at times, it might not be the person but the workshop that file the claim Edited June 26, 2008 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viper0419 Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Author Share June 26, 2008 its a 3rd party claim. so he is saying he is badly injured and needs to claim a big sum of money for medical bills, etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inimatad 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 (edited) Think its quite hard for this bugger to claim from you esp if he kissed the back of your vehicle. Not likely that you reversed your car on the highway ma? Anyway, with the Gahmen taking note and making a stand in Apr on hyper-inflated accident claims in recent times, this bozo is actually asking for trouble. Edited June 26, 2008 by Inimatad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 so you are still contesting this case thru your insurance co? with the TP involved, I think you can still whack him back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 hit from behind, no horse run. u win. where accidents are involved, never be a nice guy. just claim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viper0419 Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Author Share June 26, 2008 yes, definitely will be contesting thru insurance co. either that or get NCD deducted by 30%.... no way man. the best thing is that the accident happened in Jan this year and he is claiming only now... sometimes i pity people who ride bike, scared they got no money to pay if i claim them for my damages - about $500. after all, they are usually blue-collared workers. looks like i have to change my views now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 (edited) welcome to the real world i am sure everyone here got it some form or another it is really sad if your version of the story is true Edited June 26, 2008 by Hishercar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 Gone were the days where vehicle owners are gentleman, when they say, no claim means no claim.... nowadays, they say no claim, don't take their words for it.... , especially when another vehicle hit you from behind...... just make a report first and although, u might not want to claim as the accident is minor and repair cost is less then $200/-. IT always good to make a repoirt just in case like what you have experience, a counter claim... same happen to me when hit by a taxi. His front bumper to my rear bumper. No visible damage seen but his taxi bill came is $6000/- against my insurance company...... fight all the way and make a TP report against the taxi. Note : before the insurance ruling, it is not necessary that one had to make a TP report within 24hrs after accident. You can make a report anytime if you can remember the date, time, veh number, make, model & colour and also be prepared to go to court. With the new insurance ruling, it is advicesable to lodge a report with the insurance company immediately so as not to be a victim of counter claim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inimatad 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 I think personal or civil claim from accident is still valid for 2 years after accident. My wife won claims from a Mercs cab one year after accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 That's why in life these days, we must always strive to do the "right" thing, i.e. in your case, make the police report and appropriate claim. Not do the "kind" thing... which lands you in a bit of trouble now. Sad, but true reflection of life these days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viper0419 Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Author Share June 26, 2008 lucky thing is that TP report done on that day. Since the TP decided that both got stern warning for negligence, i wonder why will he bother claiming if he hit me from behind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 Why stern warning for you if your car got hit from behind? Surely, they don't expect you to speed up if someone wants to bang your car's rear, right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 such claims r normal but as long as u hv take picture indicating his fault u sud b alrite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 (edited) Gone were the days where vehicle owners are gentleman, when they say, no claim means no claim.... nowadays, they say no claim, don't take their words for it.... , especially when another vehicle hit you from behind...... just make a report first and although, u might not want to claim as the accident is minor and repair cost is less then $200/-. IT always good to make a repoirt just in case like what you have experience, a counter claim... same happen to me when hit by a taxi. His front bumper to my rear bumper. No visible damage seen but his taxi bill came is $6000/- against my insurance company...... fight all the way and make a TP report against the taxi. Note : before the insurance ruling, it is not necessary that one had to make a TP report within 24hrs after accident. You can make a report anytime if you can remember the date, time, veh number, make, model & colour and also be prepared to go to court. With the new insurance ruling, it is advicesable to lodge a report with the insurance company immediately so as not to be a victim of counter claim. dun understand leh... why these farkers hit pple's behind still dare to claim big? if it's me, i will be very glad liao, if the one i hit does not claim from me... cos hit behind sure wrong one... (unless we r toking abt that farker who jammed brake in the 1st lane of expressway to insert his cashcard) Edited June 26, 2008 by Scion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viper0419 Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Author Share June 26, 2008 cos i heard that if you involve TP in an accident, even though if it is a minor one, someone will need to be booked. therefore if they don't have enough evidence to charge either one of dangerous driving, they give us a stern warning under rule 29 for careless driving. most people told me that they usually give fine and demerit points to both involved in accident if no verdict so i should be happy.... not sure if this is right... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sean_paul Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 Rahz dat s0n of a biatch!! No worry, there'z alwaz KARMA Itz may nt happen st8 awaz, butz betta b late then neber KARMA ROXZ!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King_of_abalone Clutched June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 i think if you go back to your agent to complain, he will just look at you and say 'i told you so'. Earlier this year, a motorcycle bank into my rear in the highway.it was just a minor accident, he fell and cut his elbows, my rear bumper dropped and the side of my car got scratched. his motorcycle has light scratches. the traffic police was involved but did not give any of us any summons, just a stern warning for negligence ( i still wonder why until today since he hit me from behind on a busy morning traffic highway and i was driving at the most 20km/h). i helped him pick up his bike, push it to the side of the road, give him tissues to clean his wound, call for ambulance and wait with him till the TP and ambulance arrive. my insurance agent asked me to claim damages on the person since he hit me from behind. my agent also warn me that if i don't do it, don't expect them to reciprocate. in the afternoon on the same day, i went to TP HQ to file a report as required. Guess what? the motorcyclist was there as well. So he is fine, no major injuries, just minor cuts on his elbows. seeing that he is injured, i decided not to claim any damages against the protest of my agent. but i always believe that a good deed will receive positive karma. guess what? today i received from my insurance company that the farker is claiming a huge amount of money from me. see, i should have do what most people would have done. either run him over or claim all my repairs on him. i've learned today never to be kind-hearted and always be shrewd when it comes to dealing with people on the road from today on. very disappointed in man-kind... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...