Alwin1981 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 i totally disagree about turbo lag on low rpm. the turbo started to kick in on 2000rpm for CVT. the full torque of 180Nm for CVT come in at 2500rpm. where will slow for a start up? also like to ask u tat u drive CVR b4??? if no then i dun think u can make a comment without knowing about this ride. but i agree with u about Swift Sport as in track, this car really gd in corner but again, CVR and SSS is diff class. can't take a NA and TC to compare as in powerwise is not fair for stock to stock. cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Quote Bravo T-Jet? Mai waste time and $$ lahz.. Get the CvR. The only bad thing about it is the lack of space. That will be the reason for my next car change soon. any parts to let go do let me know. iam looking for open pod and rear exhaust protecter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Quote i seriously wonder who in mind is so silly to think like what you mentioned. yah bro, i agree with you completely, but really, there are some out there... :) some people call the cvr as baby evo,but since it is call a baby evo,how can it be compare to an "adult" evo? baby can run faster than adult? anyway,i would say all model of car make has got its own fair share of black sheep. but then there are some cvr that can really smoke an evo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Quote The stock recaro seats that come with it is very nice and comfy. My fiance is digging the red colored one... but i think she would be safer(for herself and other road users ke ke) to stay in her current ride. But i guess the real power band is high up in the rev range so you get a big lag in the lower RPMs hence less practical for our stop start traffic. I think they should have given it a faster spooling turbo so that the lag is not that apparent. But for that price range i think the other competitor for that class would be the swift sport. Omg that car in stock form handles like a go cart. shoik shoik. Bro do some hm work before commenting...very malu one if u get the facts wrong (Jus my own opinion). Turbo start to spool at 2k, come on song at 2.5k and max torque at 3.5k all the way to redline at 6.5k. The fact u got it right is the handling of SSS. Sweet handler but CVR a change to coilover plus some bars will help compensate tat. Another impt thing to mod is the driver...more practise will help too even if its a stock car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Quote so far CVR serve me well leh. FC is not bad, i can get 16.5km per litre. (All my friend still got shock about my FC.. LOL) power is gd compare to it's own class as it clock about 7.7sec from 0-100km/hr for an auto car. of cos the power can't compare Evo, Rex or bigger cc type of car rite. so overall i give CVR a I beg ur pardon bro...its the driver that is the FC champion among the whole CVR community not the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 I wanna try drop in with CAI first leh. Cos to me response is more impt than power. Unless i wanna go beyond 250HP. Get the EBC first lah bro. Tat will give u additional HP and Nm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Quote Simple: Insurance, Rd Tax & FC. Support: I dun really wanna drive an all out performance ride. Plus the fact that my track days r well behind me. Reinforced: The look...u either hate it or luv it. But i like the fact tat its not a regular sight on the rd. I'm considering getting the manual CVR too. But I'm holding back cos I can't get a parking lot in or around my work place. Which PI to recommend for the manual CVR? Hope u enjoy the short burst along a complicated stretch of road...just talk to more PI before signing if u really keen in getting the car. Afterall u and i shared the same experience of dealing with PI for the first time. But at least i m lucky to go through one without hassle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilomatrix 1st Gear July 6, 2008 Author Share July 6, 2008 Thanks pal. Seems like a fun car to drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Quote U din see my first posting date.....it was 6 on that day. oh realli...i saw it late...but so fast sold 3! that's impressive! I'm considering a 2nd hand in due time...prob some time later this year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 (edited) Quote Simple: Insurance, Rd Tax & FC. Support: I dun really wanna drive an all out performance ride. Plus the fact that my track days r well behind me. Reinforced: The look...u either hate it or luv it. But i like the fact tat its not a regular sight on the rd. that's the reason I'm considering: best FC, rd tax, power, acceleration, insurance, and $ ratio. Dont think can find anything with that good compromise. Bravo T-Jet and Golf GT cost too much more. Edited July 6, 2008 by Firstcall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 Quote The stock recaro seats that come with it is very nice and comfy. My fiance is digging the red colored one... but i think she would be safer(for herself and other road users ke ke) to stay in her current ride. But i guess the real power band is high up in the rev range so you get a big lag in the lower RPMs hence less practical for our stop start traffic. I think they should have given it a faster spooling turbo so that the lag is not that apparent. But for that price range i think the other competitor for that class would be the swift sport. Omg that car in stock form handles like a go cart. shoik shoik. Bro do some hm work before commenting...very malu one if u get the facts wrong (Jus my own opinion). Turbo start to spool at 2k, come on song at 2.5k and max torque at 3.5k all the way to redline at 6.5k. The fact u got it right is the handling of SSS. Sweet handler but CVR a change to coilover plus some bars will help compensate tat. Another impt thing to mod is the driver...more practise will help too even if its a stock car. I guess unless one is pushing in track or trying dangerous stunts on public road, that handling deficit wun realli matter.... just like i dun think colt R will outrun my current humble 2.0NA car from 120km/h and above, but what the hack, doesnt realli matter, how often am I gg to do that? what is more important is superb low torque drivability in normal driving and occasional sprint and overtaking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrmym Neutral Newbie July 6, 2008 Share July 6, 2008 (edited) Quote The stock recaro seats that come with it is very nice and comfy. My fiance is digging the red colored one... but i think she would be safer(for herself and other road users ke ke) to stay in her current ride. But i guess the real power band is high up in the rev range so you get a big lag in the lower RPMs hence less practical for our stop start traffic. I think they should have given it a faster spooling turbo so that the lag is not that apparent. But for that price range i think the other competitor for that class would be the swift sport. Omg that car in stock form handles like a go cart. shoik shoik. Bro do some hm work before commenting...very malu one if u get the facts wrong (Jus my own opinion). Turbo start to spool at 2k, come on song at 2.5k and max torque at 3.5k all the way to redline at 6.5k. The fact u got it right is the handling of SSS. Sweet handler but CVR a change to coilover plus some bars will help compensate tat. Another impt thing to mod is the driver...more practise will help too even if its a stock car. So if i misquoted or something is grossly wrong then i apologise. Doesnt help that it was typed soo late at night . So the JDM Colt ralliart V rand the EUR Colt ralliart is different i got it mixed up then. http://www.autoweb.com.au/cms/A_108017/tit...rt/article.html Haha nice to hear that the turbo spools at 2k. And the torque graph looks good. http://www.mitsubishi-motors.co.jp/version...ance/index.html Nontheless i do agree its a fun car to have. Looks good(puts on tin foil helmet) and handles above average.(stock setup). I would be keen to be a passenger in a modified CVR if any of you offer haha. Some useful links for prospective buyers. http://www.sportcompactcarweb.com/features...on_r/index.html Edited July 6, 2008 by Zyrmym Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 It's not a great car on the track to be honest.U gotta do some handling enhancement if one ever wanna enjoy on the track with Colt. But its worthwhile to do so. Many ppl forget about handling and stopping but i think its relatively impt. But the stock set up is suffice for rd use...many buyers of CVR already noe wat they r getting. Jus like buyer of other cars... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Ya tats the fun part of doing short sprint but i got sick of it and drive in a relax manner nowadays really cant be bothered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 The max i did was 190kmh plus before i encounter another slower moving car infront. (NOT IN SPORE) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alwin1981 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i did go track wif my CVR cvt. Result not bad but dun expect those gd timing against Evo. overall i can say CVR is tune more to Street setup than track. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched July 8, 2008 Share July 8, 2008 (edited) how fast/stable was it to reach that speed from say 120/140 onwards? but the torque curve and light weight looks favorable tho. i had a couple of encounters with high flinging tailgating cvr on the highway tho. my few prev japs 1.8l and 2.0l cars while can reach max speed, but for some reasons struggles/accel slower after 140km/h and not as stable. can never catch up with the merc E and S class on NS highway at all but somehow, conti 2.0 and even puny 1.4l NA drives particularly well at high speed. 2.0 can pace the big boys (eg. merc -below 200km/h) and the bad boys(eg. rex) easily while the 1.4 match or better some 1.8 japs at high speed. but who cares the once in a few blue moon occasions like these. Edited July 8, 2008 by Firstcall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched July 9, 2008 Share July 9, 2008 120/ 140 absolutely stable...i reach 160plus in 4th gear 6.5k. After upshift to 5th rpm dropped to 5k plus and still moving upwards. Still stable as far as i m concern but not sure if there is a slight sweeping bend and won't wanna go there. U r right...who cares and it is certainly not something i regularly do or aiming to do. Just becos this is a new car wanted to stretch its legs and see its potential. Still on mineral oil though. Next try is after 10k km but on NS Highway not on some JB road anymore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...