Stary Turbocharged June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 tot it was 20%+20%??? Bro...you just came back from Mars huh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Lim Boon Heng, ex labour chief already say it wont go up to that rate. This will deter investor from coming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 that's bull. Investor come or not does not depend on just their investment cost. It depends a lot on other factors. It is up to the authorities to improve on the other factors and not just a quick short cut by cutting CPF. Now with even HDB at sky rocket prices, I wonder how those little CPF can really help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phyllis Neutral Newbie June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 r u singaporean or SPR (which year of gaining SPR)?? cos it make a diff in contribution rate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 their calculator has some kind of fixed formula button with these message printed on it in bold words...: $$ goes up, wont come down $$ goes down, wont go up. Previous Becos Market is Bad they decrease CPF from Employer Now Market is Good No action at all Boss Everyday [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Talking Rubblish Throw him in the Chute [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 See below for the retirement currency for most Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Wait for So many Years CPF still No Increase to 20% from Employer Wat is the Garmen Doing [furious] I remember someone in previous election promised to restore the CPF contributions which were cut cos of recession but till now they seemd to have conviniently forgotten. . No way they will raise it now since they will say US sub-prime etc, but when you ask Botak he says no recession ley Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 What the HELL $$$ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Good days are over. Back in those days, it's easy to accumulate money in CPF, imagine, 50% of your salary (25/25), ceiling at 8000 per month (if I'm not mistaken), high interest (6%), no ceiling on bonus. Now, 34.5% (20/14.5), ceiling at 4500, low interest (2.5%) and max total of 17 months (inclusive of any additional bonus). On top of that, housing is so much more expensive compared to last time. Basically, I feel CPF has lost it's main purpose. Chances of accumulating up a sizeable fund for retiring is diminishing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 I am wondering how those young couples manage their new housing loan > 300k 20% + 14.5% is enuff ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 300K House 20% Downpayment = 60K Young Couple Need to work How Long than Can Hav $60K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Tough... Nowadays, max to OA is only about 1000. So even if both salary exceed 4.5K, max is 2K a month for the housing loan. Pok got good bonus lor... Then every year can offload, together with any additional money you can save up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 WTH man.... CPF rates go down, HDB price go up / plus annuity plan.... how to retire??? i wanna kill myself really Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Wait for So many Years CPF still No Increase to 20% from Employer Wat is the Garmen Doing [furious] I remember someone in previous election promised to restore the CPF contributions which were cut cos of recession but till now they seemd to have conviniently forgotten. . No way they will raise it now since they will say US sub-prime etc, but when you ask Botak he says no recession ley [laugh]they already say the raise will not materialize, cos that would make us less competitive....the world have changed so much since. Or at least that was what was said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 (edited) We DON'T get to retire.... the correct term now is expire Edited June 24, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lebet Neutral Newbie June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 our inflation hit high high this 2-months. raising our CPF back to normal, would mean inflation, cost-push inflation. our beloved gahment will never allow big-time employers to be squeezed in their pockets, and then they pack their bags go north where it's always cheaper to employ people. So whose fault is it? The employers, or the gahment? Well, the gahment tell you don't buy branded, rice is rice, bread is bread. so you think they will ever admit that cpf is not serving its purpose? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...